We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 W. 1st St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Glenwood Springs
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a blond lady, we assume she was a manager. She had a kind of rude sarcastic attitude, but we did not think much of it. When we got to our room, which was about 2 hours after our check in time, it was disgusting and had not yet been cleaned, there was trash scattered around, pillows on the floor, sheets torn off and laying on the desk. Also, we booked a king bed but there were two singles in this room. We figured it was probably a mistake so we went over to the elevator to go back down to the lobby. Well, the elevator started making this horrible noise and some maids ran over to us and frantically told us to hurry and get off. Creepy. We then took the stairs and went back to the lobby where the blond lady told us, that the maids were running behind and to just set our stuff up there and wait, rude. And that there was nothing she could do about the bed situation, she said all this without once getting on the computer or putting forth and sort of effort to fix the situation, and on top of that she was rude and very sarcastic and talked in a very uncaring monotone voice. I was so mad I started calling other hotels to see if we could find something else. We went back to the trashed out room and looked up our room confirmation email where it clearly said we booked a king. My fiance went back to the lobby and showed her the email, and she was like fine there is a king on the 3rd floor. It was absolutely ridiculous, and I will NEVER stay in a holiday inn again. Ever. Nor would I ever recommend this hotel for anyone. Customer service is very important at a hotel especially when you are on vacation and paying a good chunk of money. I am almost certain any other Inn or Hotel of Motel or anything in Glenwood would be better then the Holiday Inn express.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Lindsay W,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for any confusion about your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
62
43
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter and I went for a girls only trip for her 9th birthday. I told them ahead of time that we were arriving on her birthday and I guess I just thought that they might do something special in our room for her, but they didn't. :-(

We upgraded our room to have the king suite and it was on the first floor right beside the elevator. I was worried that it would be too noisy but the way the bed is situated around the corner, if you have the heat or A/C on you really can't hear the hallway or elevator noise, so that was a nice surprise!

We stayed 2 nights and the first morning we went to breakfast to find that both trash cans were completely overflowing as I watched the 2 ladies working the breakfast area sitting and chit chatting with one another. They never did empty the trash while we were there and just seemed bored and uninterested in their job. Breakfast was okay, nothing special. The eggs seemed like they must have been the powdered eggs and were not tasty at all. The sausage was just "okay". The coffee was good and the juice was good. Breakfast the next day was about the same except they weren't as busy so the trash wasn't completely overflowed.

The hotel is close to everything---very close to the Glenwood Hot Springs/Spa but not really walking distance as described on their website, as you have to drive through some busy intersections to get there. However, it takes less than 5 minutes to drive there. Right next door (and walking distance) is the Glenwood Springs Hotel where you can pay to ride the gondola up to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. It was SO fun!

The hotel had a hot tub and pool but the pool was covered and there is no sign of them opening it anytime soon. The hot tub was open and the water was hot but it looked disgusting---dirty and stained! They told us we could go next door to the Hampton Inn to use their indoor pool and hot tub but we never did. I can't understand why they seem in no hurry to fix their pool. The entire pool area was dirty and looked like it was completely closed, but then you find the hot tub open but it's right beside the covered pool and surrounded by leaves and dirt on the sidewalk around the pool.

Our room was spacious and everything was clean. There was a microwave, mini fridge and mini coffee maker in the room. The TV was a nice size but there is no DVD player so I was glad that we brought our portable one to watch movies.

For Holiday Inn Express, this place was average. The room was clean, the location was great, but it wasn't as nice as come HI Expresses we've stayed at before. The parking lot was a little old and dirty and when we would come and go we always got to see the employees taking smoke breaks just outside the side door to the hotel.

I gave this a "Very Good" rating based on the location and the room size, front desk friendliness, and cleanliness of the room. The other things mentioned made it a less than desirable place to stay.

Room Tip: The king suite was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear "lovelifeandtravel": Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate good reviews as well as concerns. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced wile staying with us. We would love to have you stay with us in the future, and give us a chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

There were 6 of in three different rooms and all of us were beyond pleased with our experience. Rooms were spacious, beds were extremely comfortable, service was professional and friendly, FREE IN ROOM WiFi was a bonus. There are plenty of restaurants on Grand less than a mile away. Building is well maintained. Outdoor Jacuzzi great for day on the slopes, next door Hampton Inn has indoor jacuzzi if wanted. Great location for skiing Aspen and other small resorts. For the price, it is an amazing deal.

Room Tip: No restaurant or room service - disregard rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear"MichelleB": First, we would like to thank you for your amazing review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure our guests have an amazing stay. We can't wait to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed over the 3-day weekend and had a great visit. It is a 3 star hotel, but I give it 5 star for excelling in this category. Rooms are clean, spacious, and well kept, and include a small refrigerator and a microwave. Free WiFi and free parking are bonuses. Also, there is an included hot breakfast (Holiday Inn Express Standard) with biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs. Front desk staff (especially Andrew) was very helpful, and they had fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The outdoor pool was not useable and was covered, there was a small outdoor hot tub which we did not try. You are able to use to very nice indoor pool and hot tub at the Hampton Inn just next door. The location is very convenient and is walking distance to the downtown. It is walking distance to the hot springs pool but we drove because we didn't want to walk outside in the cold after swimming. There is no restaurant, or room service, but there are some good, inexpensive restaurants close by. This is a great place, without a lot of frills, but clean, well-kept, excellent price (around $100/night), and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear"Femmedelmar": We would like to thank your for yor amazing comments. Your right Andrew is great. It is convinient to offer our guests the option to use the indoor hot tub at the Hampton. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and can't wait to have you stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel was easy to find as we drove into town, and with ample parking outside. The Hot Springs Hotel was kind of across the street with the hot springs and bassins close by.
Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express, but it kept us going most of the day.
The room was clean and well maintained. As a Priority Club member you get your usual welcome gift when checking in, but the hotel could probably improve somewhat on that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear "Kjellj": Thank you for your great review. We always appreciate comments and sugestions. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here and thought we booked a non-smoking room, however next to our non-smoking room was a smoking room. How does the management think that the smoke doesn't travel? It was a comfortable room, but the smoke smell was as issue. The cookie smell on the first floor was pleasent and the cookies were great, but then we went up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear "Troy M": We are so sorry about the smoke smell in your room. You are right, the smell does unfortunately travel. Thankfully for non-smokers, more and more hotels are leaning toward "smoke-free" facilities. We are glad you enjoyed the cookies, they are definitely a plus! Thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights recently and really enjoyed ourselves. When we first checked in we were given an interconnecting room which is always a problem for me as I am a very light sleeper so explained this to Brad at reception and he changed the room for us. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is the standard Holiday Inn Express offering and was all we needed to keep us going through the day. Location was great, we didn't use our car for the 3 days as we were able to walk everywhere, 5 minutes to the Hot Springs Hotel and the centre of town was just a couple of minutes further on. Pool and hot tub were great at the end of a busy day. Staff were brilliant and so friendly, especially Brad and we will definitely be returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear "melanie s": We appreciate the great comments about Brad and the rest of our Staff! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel here in Glenwood Springs. It's nice to know you were moved to a different room; we definitely want all of our guests to be comfortable. We hope you stay with us again when you return to Glenwood Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Address: 501 W. 1st St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.