We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 W. 1st St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great one night stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a quick stay here but we were very comfortable the whole time. We had fun swimming and relaxing in the hot tub in the mountain shadows. The breakfast was your typical HIE continental but it satisfies your morning hunger. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was also nice, easy to park, close to downtown but quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Denglerfamilyfour": Even though it was a quick stay, it's still always enjoyable in Glenwood Springs! We're glad you you chose to stay with us, and that you enjoyed the Hotel and the Hot Springs. Being located not far from downtown and the Hot Springs is always nice for all of our Guests. Thank you for your review and visiting us at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
79
59
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel was nice and the rooms were clean, however I can't say that about the hallways and the elevator, There was a pizza box in the hallway from the night we arrived (thurs) until Saturday night and the eleveators looked like they haven't been vaccumed in about a month. The hot tub was out our whole visit which not a big deal things happen and they allowed us to use the hot tub and pool at the hotel next door. The continental breakfast was good and the service was good just a little cleaning issues is the problem. I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear "DOLPHIN0308: Thank you so much for your review and input on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate guests letting us know their concerns and what we may need to improve on. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and especially happy to hear that you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Despite being a Priority Club member we got stuck with a room next to the elevator which is both noisy and smaller than the other rooms in the hotel since the elevator juts out into the room. The hgiway noise is also pretty bad. We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room at either end of the corrider bt not on the side facing the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear "westcoastguy": We would like to thank you for being a Priority Club member as well as staying with us at our Hotel. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room and your stay with us. We hope that you would choose to stay with us on your next visit to Glenwood Springs. Room requests are always considered and relocating you to a different room would always also be an option. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've stayed here many times, and the service is generally one of the best parts of my stay. I've always had a good experience here. Two tips, stay either on the top floor, or the suite on the first floor next to the elevator. If you get stuck below a room, you'll be hearing footstep and bangs all night. Also, some rooms are better than others in this hotel, as far as appearance and comfort, which is strange. We upgraded to the "vaulted ceiling" room and were very happy with the selection. Good size for small family. They do a good job with room service and of course the hotel offers a decent little free breakfast. They have a small pool outside, with a patio, so another win for the family. The hot tub was lukewarm at best. They also have a deal witht he hotel next door so ou can use their indoor pool. I think it costs extra, not sure. The location isn't he best here. Close tot he highway, and really not walkable to downtown. Technically you could do it, but it's a stretch. There is a good sandwich shop next door, (Chomps) and an awesome Mexican restaurant (Tequillas) right down the street. Also, if you're with your family, the tram for Adventure Park is a 5min walk. The hot springs pool is walkable, but an easy 2min drive away. Overall, I've enjoyed my stays here. Are there better options? Yes, but with the price this is a fine option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear "theinsurancetraveler": Thank you for staying with us once again! We always appreciate our return Guests as well as your comments on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to upgrade to the Suite as you did - great Suite, very roomy indeed. We are glad you enjoyed the great restaurants and activities while you were in Glenwood Springs also. We are all definitely looking forward to your next family visit with us here at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently booked 5 rooms for a family event in the area. Unfortunately, we were put on the third floor, which included 'smoking' rooms mixed right alongside the non-smoking rooms. When you reached the 3rd floor, the smell was enough to make us all wince. Imagine the nastiest smelling bar where people smoke from 7am-2pm and it's never cleaned ... and that's what it smelled like! It was honestly hard to comprehend how it could smell so bad. Other then that, the hotel was great. It seemed as if the other floors didn't have the same problem, so be sure to skip the 3rd floor. Many of the rooms were also understocked on towels, etc., so we had to ask the desk.

Room Tip: Don't book the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear "RubyEHeart": Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate good comments as well as critiques and suggestions. We apologize for the smoking smell as well as the shortage on the towels. We are also happy that you did mention that the Holiday Inn Express in Glenwood Springs is "great". Thank you again, and we hope you will stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed 1 night in a suite on the third floor. (it was the only room left with 2 queen beds). The room was very big (cathedral ceilings) clean, quiet, and very comfortable (including the beds) Cable tv included many stations and the wifi was excellent. The room included a nice size mini fridge and microwave. My husband enjoyed the warm cookies (I would have preferred regular chocolate cookie rather than white chocolate). The breakfast was standard motel breakfast foods. Due to the usual quality we bring our own which is why a good fridge is important to us. Our only complaint was the cigarette smell we had to walk through to get to our room. You would think by now all hotels would ban smoking (especially since many states have laws against it in public places) Due to my allergies it affected me a bit....don't understand why one would allow this to ruin their facility when it is just as easy for them to have a sitting place outside (cigarette smoke embeds itself into everything..). Otherwise, great location to a park and trail along the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear "IloinenCamper": Thank you for your review about our Hotel. We are really glad you enjoyed the Suite - the cathedral ceilings make that Suite special. You are correct, we still do accommodate those guests who smoke, still having three smoking rooms in the top corner of the building. It definitely is not ideal for nonsmokers, and we apologize for the discomfort it brought you. The world definitely does seem to be leaning to banning smoking indoors altogether. Please do let us know when you stay with us again so we may have you stay in a room away from the smoking floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My family spent the night here while visiting the area. The front desk personnel was very helpful in switching my 1 bed room to one with 2 beds in them. They even asked me how everything was as I came and went from the building a few times.

The room was clean and well cared for. Even though the window view was less than to be desired, the clean and well equipped facilities made up for it. To top it off, they had an excellent breakfast spread consisting of hot pancakes, eggs, sausage, biscuits, various juices and much more.

I would definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixglenwoodgm, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear "benducklow": Thank you so much for your recommendation of our Hotel on TripAdvisor! We always appreciate that as the very best compliment. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as your stay here in Glenwood Springs. It's nice that our Front Desk was able to accommodate you and move you to a larger room with an additional bed. Additionally, yes, the hot complimentary breakfast in the morning is an excellent way to start off the day. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#4 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Glenwood Springs
Courtyard by Marriott Glenwood S...
#11 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs

Address: 501 W. 1st St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Glenwood Springs (Aspen Area). Whether traveling on business or on pleasure, this Glenwood Springs Hotel is the perfect choice offering free Smart Hot Buffet Breakfast, free Complimentary Wireless High-Speed Internet and the best hotel value in the Glenwood Springs / Aspen area! Convenient location just four blocks from the famous Hot Springs Pool. Adjacent to the Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, Glenwood Springs newest area attraction open year around . Conveniently located near Ski Sunlight Resort or enjoy Aspen / Snowmass Ski Resort just 40 minutes from the hotel. Many restaurants and entertainment venues within a few blocks of the hotel. Ask about our packages! Group room rates also available by calling the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Glenwood Springs
Glenwood Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.