We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Burger!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grind

Grind
720 Grand Avenue, Upstairs!, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
970-230-9258
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Please check out our facebook profile for our daily specials and pictures: can't post links on here but it is under Grind Glenwood. Thanks!
Restaurant details
Description: Please check out our facebook profile for our daily specials and pictures: can't post links on here but it is under Grind Glenwood. Thanks!
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Burger!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stopped in for lunch after walking around town a bit, and what a great choice we made! We loved our burgers - they were SO good! The service was great - very friendly, nice. You've got to try this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    60
    47
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Loved the veggie burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was surprised there weren't any vegetarian restaurants in Glenwood Springs, but this restaurant was recommended as a burger place that offered two veggie burgers. I never had a falafel veggie burger, but it was well-grilled with a bit of crunch and so delicious. Service was fast and very pleasant. This is a very small hole-in-the-wall type of place in the historic downtown section of town, but it was very clean with easy parking. Mapquest directions were easy off the interstate, so pass up the chain restaurants and enjoy a great meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It's a tiny place, with just a handful of tables (two more outside in good weather). Most of the employees are heavily tattooed, but the woman who took our order and brought out our burgers was very welcoming, pleasant and attentive. I had a traditional beef burger with fries, and everything was great. Locally sourced beef, fresh veg toppings, home cut fries. My wife and our daughter had Southwest burgers with bison meat, also great. We all had iced herbal tea (just right). Meals are served in heavy wire baskets lined with parchment paper, and drinks are served in substantial glass tumblers. (If you decide to get takeout, they send you home without any plastic). Prices are not cheap, but portions are generous and everything is wholesome and cooked from scratch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced with great hamburgers, shakes and fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Grind was an excellent find in a town filled with touristy restaurants. The food was reasonably priced and there was hardly any wait time for the food. Our oldest son loves shakes and said they were sweet and delicious while the burgers were mouth watering. The fries, well the only disappointing thing about the fries, is that the teens inhaled them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good, albeit somewhat inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Grass-fed local beef, homemade sauces, and organic ingredients - hallelujah! Over the week I was in Glenwood Springs with my fiancee, we went to Grind three times, trying different menu items, with results ranging from truly exceptional to somewhat mediocre. Our first trip, I, being a lover of the Cuban sandwich, got the Cubano pork grind, which wasn't half bad. The chocolate shakes are not great. The fries were very good, and were actually good on every trip. The second trip, I had one of their beef grinds, the Richie which, while somewhat conventional (eg, provolone, caramelized onions), was sublimely executed. I also had the chili-cheese fries, which are not-to-miss. My fiancee's burger was the highlight of our three trips to the restaurant. It was the Trojan, a chicken grind with feta and red peppers and some sort of citrus sauce I regret not ascertaining. Unbelievably good! On our final trip, my fiancee had the mac and cheese, which is delicious, while I had a lamb grind (The Med, pretty good - not great) and a buffalo grind to-go (SXSW, very very good, and pretty darn spicy). The staff was friendly. and the decor was cool - exposed brick walls, wood floors, interesting found art pieces.

Very good! Certainly merits repeat visits! Don't miss The Richie, The Trojan, the chili-cheese fries, or the mac and cheese - skip the chocolate shakes, and The Med

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grind also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.