We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms with full kitchen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Wulfsohn Rd, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Large rooms with full kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed in Glewood Springs in January 2014. I was going to the Winter XGames and didn't want to afford to stay in Aspen so I made Glewood Springs my home base.

Hotel: The Residence Inn is a great affordable hotel. All the rooms have a full kitchen in them which is nice if you want to warm up popcorn for an in-room movie, keep water cold or not have to drive to the nearest starbucks for coffee every morning. The staff was great. I asked a ton of questions about the XGames as I had never been and they were all answered. They also offer a hot breakfast each morning for free. The hotel is relatively new and located on the south-side of the highway in a new shopping area. The point I'm trying to make is that there's a Chili's, Russo's Pizza (NOT TO BE MISSED), Safeway and a few other places in very close proximity. Also, if I remember, just outside of the indoor pool area, there was a fire pit and possibly a grill for patrons to use. This is not a historic hotel. For that I'd first recommend the Colorado Hotel or the Hotel Denver (not sure that Hotel Denver is historic, but the Colorado Hotel sure is).

Rooms: The rooms are good-sized. You walk into a little foyer which is a great place to store ski boots and the like. Just to the right is the kitchen which a little counter right near the front door. The kitchen is a full kitchen with dishes, dishwasher, full-sized fridge, oven, microwave, etc. Beyond that is the living room/dining area. Just outside of the kitchen is a small dining table with four chairs and the living room with a recliner and love seat (the love seat pulls out to a full bed). The King bed is off to the right beyond that in it's own separate space. The bathroom is near the bed.

vs. Aspen: I paid under a $100 a night to stay at the Residence Inn and it would have cost me just over $250 a night to stay in Aspen. Yes, I did have to drive between 20 and 25 minutes south to Aspen and back each day, but the traffic is not bad and it's an easy drive. I remember smiling each time I drove it because I saved about $600 staying i Glenwood. (P.S. If you do find yourself in Aspen proper, go to Jimmy's to eat. It's not cheap, but it is delicious. You gotta try the meatloaf. It is always packed in the evening, so unless you've got the time, go early.)

Hot Springs Pool: Don't miss this. I think their website says they are the largest in the world. It's a drive across the Hwy and maybe $18 or so to get in. There is a smaller pool that is hotter, but the bigger pool is a little cooler. The bigger pool also has a diving board. If you go in the winter, the steam that comes off the water is amazing...some nights you can't see three feet in front of you...but BEWARE...however cold you think you'll be when you get out of the pool to head into the main showers/bathroom multiply that by 3...it is freezing at night in the winter when you get out. Don't run becuase ice can form around the edges of the pools. There's also a good chance your slippers (and towel) will be frozen if they've gotten wet at all.

Glenwood Springs Brewery: I also happen to be a huge fan of microbeweries and there's a great one in Glenwood Springs. It's located in the Hotel Denver. This place has a great atmoshphere, the food and the beverages are great. Definately worth the stop (along with Russo's Pizza which I just discovered this January!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear BAHShooter,

All of us appreciate you taking the time for the outstanding review of our hotel. It means a lot to the team to have exceeded all your expectations. I feel like my response should be more lengthy then usual since your review was so detailed! All I can say is "Thank You". It is a pleasure to accommodate all our guests and especially those that we see back year after year.
See you in January for XGames 2015!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    67
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
114
69
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Glenwood Springs on June 11 & 12, 2014. The hotel is clean and well maintained, with a friendly and accommodating staff. There is a nice breakfast selection included in the rate and Monday through Thursday they have an evening reception with a buffet. The food was good and is a great value for families.

The only negative is that the sound insulation in both the walls and ceilings could be better. We were on the 3rd floor you could hear people stomping around above us. We called the front desk and they arranged to move us to another room without question. The new room was better (also on the 3rd floor), but you could still here walking from the 4th floor. Fortunately it did not continue when it was time to go to sleep. Our stay was pleasant and we would return but would ensure we could get a room on the 4th floor.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper I would recommend that you ask for a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Carole_Terry,

All of us at the Residence Inn were thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our front line and breakfast staff's were especially happy to know that they exceeded expectations. Hope to see you back here soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Residence by Marriott in Glenwood Springs Colorado is clean, the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable.
We would not consider staying at any other hotel for our next trip to Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Grant K,

Thank you from all of us for your great review of our hotel. It was a privilege to have you stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you back here at the Residence Inn soon.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here after the Hilton messed up our reservation. The Residence Inn was very accomodating to us. We stayed here this past weekend - very spacious/clean rooms! The staff was also very friendly. Decent gym and delicious/varied breakfast! Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jenny M,

Glad to hear we could turn a bad situation into a positive for our community. The housekeeping team was excited that you enjoyed the spacious and clean rooms. Enjoy the summer season and see you soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed for a weekend soccer tournament in late May. I'm sure the staff cringes at this event each year but they kept a stiff upper lip.
The property and room were very nice, clean and seemed almost brand new. Even with energetic kids running around, the hallway noise was at a minimum and the room was peaceful.

A few likes:
The colors of the building are unique and fit the red hillside behind the property.
The location near an outdoor mall type area is convenient for walking to food, Starbucks, etc.
The breakfast area is nice, modern and light filled. A little crowded with the soccer kids, but it would be very pleasant normally.

A few areas to improve:
- The room was stuffy and we had to keep the air on. It would be so nice to get some of the cool, dry air from outside into the room.
- The sofa bed is pretty low quality. It would be more comfortable to sleep on the floor.
- The Tesla superchargers are nice, but how about a normal electric outlet somewhere in the parking lot for other types of electric cars. Just a 120 is all that's needed for overnight charging. The hotel could really be known as a leading spot for electric vehicles with both types of charging.

Overall, this is a a top tier Residence Inn and another good example of Marriott quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear berricks,

Thanks for reviewing our hotel! It was great to hear that you enjoyed the Memorial Day Weekend soccer tournament. It is always busy for us but we appreciate everyone coming back year after year. Hope to see you back in Glenwood Springs soon.

Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I really loved this place, It was clean and comfy and because I bought it with a groupon it was economical. Kitchen and breakfast included. The pool and hot tub was small and OK but the smell of chlorine was overwhelming to me. The breakfast was great. lots to choose from! and beverages available all day!!! coffee , tea :)
downside is the drive to the hotsprings. I have always enjoyed the walking distance from the Hotel Colorado. Not far but too far to be close to Hot springs.
The staff was VERY friendly and helpful!!! I would stay here again if the price was right ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Debbie W,

Thank you for the review. The staff was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is now four years old. The staff is top notch. Jason, the GM, really jumps in, but all of his help is so nice. They say hi, and welcome back to us and treat us real good. There breakfast is good, and well stocked. It gets very busy. They have a great fire pit. They should add a second one as it gets so busy out there in the evenings. It would be well worthwhile for them to do that. There big problem is there parking, now compounded by the fact that they sold 8 spaces to Tesla. Not sure how or why the city allowed them to do that. If you get there too late, you have to park in the dark next door. It does not feel safe to park over there. They should pay to light the overflow parking area is it is constantly in use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear auroracham,

All of us appreciate your continued loyalty to the Residence Inn Glenwood Springs. We pride ourselves on serving our guests and it's great to hear we have always delivered. Our team is looking into a more suitable way to relieve some of the parking pressures. Stay tuned! Thanks again and see you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs

Address: 125 Wulfsohn Rd, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Glenwood Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Glenwood Springs Hotel Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.