We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kind of place you want to return to again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Kept Secret B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Best Kept Secret B & B
Save
You added Best Kept Secret B & B to your Saves list
915 Colorado Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Quiet Season Special
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The kind of place you want to return to again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Just returned home from our weekend at The Best Kept Secret B&B. We had a wonderful visit to Glenwood Springs thanks to our informative hostess Liza. She shared information on activities and dining that helped us plan our time there. We also enjoyed the very generous breakfasts she prepared each morning. It was a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Best Kept Secret B&B is a most charming, impeccably clean place to stay. It is very well located in downtown Glenwood Springs, close to the Amtrak station, restaurants, shops, and several local hiking trails. Our group of 4 women friends occupied the two cozy bedrooms of the B&B plus a comfortable roll-away bed set up in the living area at night. Each of the bedrooms has its own bathroom, but the "Study" room has no closet. Keeping things tidy in this room could be a bit of a challenge depending on length of stay. This is more than compensated for by the extremely hospitable proprietors, David and Liza. David is a wealth of knowledge about local history and lore, and Liza prepares incredibly delicious and healthy breakfasts. Best Kept Secret B&B is a real gem!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We stayed here for one night as we travelled from Grand Junction back to the east of the state, and our only regret is we didn't have more time to spend in Glenwood Springs. David's stories about the town were intriguing, and if we are ever in the area again we will definitely pay another visit - and he is definitely the person to ask for info on the town and the surrounding area! Our room was very clean and comfortable (and contained everything you could possibly need), and the breakfast was fantastic - what more could two weary travellers ask for?!
Many thanks,
Joanne & Kenny

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

This quaint and adoreable home is quiet, serene and the perfect place for R&R. Every detail, from fresh flowers daily in the bathroom (which were picked from their own lush garden) to fine chocolates in the room made our visit wonderful. After indulging in the vapor caves, mineral pools and massages, returning to our room for an afternoon nap was a welcome retreat. There are only two suites which added to the intimacy and peacefulness of this establishment. David, the innkeeper, is quite the historian, sharing history and answering any questions we had. The handmade soaps and lotions were an added surprise and personal touch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My wife and I had a 2 week vacation cut short with an nasty auto accident, so we decided at the last minute to take our final 2 days of the vacation and book a B&B. We found this charming B&B on the internet and called to see if there was still availablitiy with such short notice. They had one room remaining so we booked it. I was hoping for a spot not in town, but I am glad we chose this B&B. Starting with the initial phone call, and up to our departure on Sunday, the service level was superb. Michelle, David and Liza were all extremely helpful, caring and genuinely down to earth friendly. As I stated, my wife and I were revovering from a nasty auto accident and all we wanted was to relax and recover. We sat on the front porch each morning for coffee and each afternoon/evening before bed. Our room, "the Study", was perfect and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditiong was a pleasant surprise, which made napping in the daytime quite easy and comfortable. The breakfast we were served were home made, quality dishes that were delicious and wholesome. The hot tub was private and in a nice setting in the back garden area. The grounds themselves added a wonderfully nice touch and it was great to sit and watch all of the different types of birds come and go. In the end we could not have selected a nicer place for our visit. We love Glenwood and have made many trips there over the years. The Best Kept Secret B&B will forever make Glenwood even more special than it already is to us. Tom & Mary-Steamboat Springs

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The owners of the B&B provided excellent service. They were friendly and got to know us personally. My husband and I were able to ask them questions about many different things, such as where to eat, what activities to do, etc., and they had very helpful suggestions. The room was decorated in Victorian style to match the house, and it was very comfortable. We had plenty of privacy, while still being close to the dining room and living room. The location of the B&B is right off of the main street in Glenwood, so it was very convenient to walk to the different places we wanted to go. The B&B had all of the modern ameneties a traveler might want, while still providing the feeling of stepping into the past. The best part of our stay was getting to talk with and get to know the owners of the B&B, and letting them get to know us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

We had a wonderful visit! The house is beautiful, spotless, and quite peaceful. It is a short walk to the shops, restaurants, and hot springs. Also, they have bikes to loan, and it is just a few blocks to the bike trail that goes through Glenwood and the canyon. The breakfast was fresh, flavorful and filling. A perfect way to start the day. The hot tub out back was the perfect ending.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Kept Secret B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Kept Secret B & B

Address: 915 Colorado Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic B & B was built in 1914 and is located in the heart of downtown Glenwood Springs. You can walk to almost everything. We offer two beautiful first floor rooms, each with a private bath. The Boudoir has a queen bed and large full bathroom (shower/tub). The Study sleeps three adults: queen bed plus a single Murphy wall bed; the bath has a beautiful tile shower. Enjoy our sunny front porch and uncommonly pretty gardens. Relax in the intimate outdoor hot tub or watch television in the common area. Free Internet and bicycles are provided. Scrumptious, mostly organic breakfast includes ample portions of healthy choices. Our guests enjoy discounts at the Yampah Vapor Caves and the Hot Springs Athletic Club & Pool. Come join us for a stay in paradise! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Kept Secret B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.