We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Time in Glenwood Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Kept Secret B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenwood Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Best Kept Secret B & B
915 Colorado Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Lovely Time in Glenwood Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stay at the Best Kept Secret B and B! Cute rooms...if you travel with another couple, you will have the run of the downstairs. There are two rooms each with its own bath (which is a BIG plus if you've ever done b and b's...). Dave, the host, and his wife, Liza, are wonderful and knowledgeable hosts. Grab a bottle of wine and enjoy the beautiful evenings on the front porch! (Remember those?) If you are lucky, Gus the basement cat, will sit on your lap. Fantastic breakfasts...we will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thanks for recommending the Best Kept Secret B&B as the place to stay while enjoying the many attractions of Glenwood Springs. The fact that the B&B has just the two downstairs bedrooms, each with its own bathroom does provide privacy and gives that “home away from home” feel. Everyone loves spending time on the front porch. It is hard to say which is best, morning coffee, flowers, and sunshine or wine at dusk or in the evening! Return visits are even more fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
75
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We recently stayed here for two nights on our recent visit to Glenwood Springs. We were traveling with another couple and this B&B was a perfect spot to stay. It is within walking distance to town, restaurants, shops and many of the places of interest in the Glenwood Springs area. The owners David and Liza and wonderful people. David is extremely knowledgeable about anything you would like to know regarding attractions and things to do in the area. They really make you feel at home in their beautiful house. We stayed in the Study and our friends in the Bourdoir. We had the downstairs living area all to ourselves and still felt like we had a great deal of privacy. The breakfast each morning is outstanding with several choices and "specials" of the day as well. Our coffee was waiting for us each morning and David was always there with refills even if we were outdoors sitting on the lovely porch. Snacks are provided throughout the day: nuts, pretzels etc. Each room also has a small refridgerator for your personal use with bottled water provided. Each room has a private bathroom furnished with nice ammenities and lots of towels. Gus the cat and Jesse the dog are great hosts as well! I would not hesitate to stay here again if we are ever in the area and highly recommend it to anyone who wants to feel "well taken care of" while on vacation or passing through the area. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
My wife and I have traveled in Europe where B&B’s are “the place to stay” anywhere you visit. As B&B managers, we try to take care of our guests with the same “B&B pampering” we received while abroad. This Victorian home was selected because it was within walking distance of the local attractions, shops and restaurants. It was several years later that the decision was made to share the Glenwood Springs experience as the Best Kept Secret B&B. When traveling couples take both rooms, they get the whole downstairs and porch areas all to themselves, making it the perfect place to stay. Thanks for the sharing your positive comments so that others will know what to expect when they book here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The moment we saw the house and yard, we knew we had made the perfect choice for our stay in Glenwood Springs. And every room inside just added to the ambiance. We stayed in The Study - charming and cozy. The proprietors could not have been more helpful and gracious, going far beyond any expectations. And the breakfast menus were superb. As beautifully served as it was a delight to eat. Delicious. We had a wonderful time and are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Both rooms are delightfully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thanks for letting other travellers know about your stay with us. We often get questions like: "Can we arrive by train and still be able to see and do everything?" Your experience confirms you can! As you already know we enjoyed your visit very much. If we were able to pick our guests, you two would fall under "the perfect choice" category as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Excellent service and ammenities! They were a very warm and charming couple.
I wanted them to "adopt us" as family, so we could always go there!!
Very knowledgable about the area, and the fun stuff to do. A lot of locals admire this Bed and Breakfast and had great things to say about them.
I will definitely return again and again!!!

Room Tip: The boudoir for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thanks for using the word "nurturing" about the "feel" of the Best Kept Secret. Our guests are "extended family", consider yourself adopted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I traveled to Glenwood Springs for an early season fishing adeventure. We decided to stay at the Best Kept Secret on a whim and was amazed. The hospitallity was second to none. The rooms were clean and the food was great. The hosts had an extensive knowledge of the history making the stay just that more interesting. The fishing is great, but having a place to come back to like the bed and breakfast made the trip one that will be reapeated year in and year out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
We can't always guarantee great fishing in the "Gold Medal" waters of the Roaring Fork River (only four blocks away), but we will contiue to strive for a consistent quality experience at the Best Kept Secret B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, michigan, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

What an amazing weekend. This 'best kept secret' is just that. If you want intimate, considerate, great cooking, leisurely, and value, you can't beat this place.

Room Tip: Call them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Our guests have so many nearby attractions available; it is good to be reminded that just having leisure time to relax and soak in the intimate atmosphere of the B&B can also be a "Best Kept Secret" experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden Hills, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Our stay at Best Kept Secret was wonderful. The hospitality was awesome. We truly felt like guests in their cozy little home like an old family friend. The breakfasts were not only fresh, well prepared but artfully presented. David's knowlege of the area and recommendations on places to visit were a wonderful value added feature. I would highly recommend a stay at this B&B to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Best Kept Secret B & B, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Glad you got back to Minnesota safely and thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope you can stay with us again sometime. Liza & David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Kept Secret B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Kept Secret B & B

Address: 915 Colorado Avenue, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic B & B was built in 1914 and is located in the heart of downtown Glenwood Springs. You can walk to almost everything. We offer two beautiful first floor rooms, each with a private bath. The Boudoir has a queen bed and large full bathroom (shower/tub). The Study sleeps three adults: queen bed plus a single Murphy wall bed; the bath has a beautiful tile shower. Enjoy our sunny front porch and uncommonly pretty gardens. Relax in the intimate outdoor hot tub or watch television in the common area. Free Internet and bicycles are provided. Scrumptious, mostly organic breakfast includes ample portions of healthy choices. Our guests enjoy discounts at the Yampah Vapor Caves and the Hot Springs Athletic Club & Pool. Come join us for a stay in paradise! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Kept Secret B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Best Kept Secret B & B to your Saves list