We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love River's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Restaurant

River's Restaurant
2525 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4125
970-928-8813
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
River's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: Free Ride Glenwood bus or Taxi service
Gypsum, CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We Love River's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We once again stopped into River's for the "early bird" and we once again really enjoyed our late afternoon early dinner. I had the lemon chicken and my wife had the flank steak. Akim is a fine server who really made us feel at ease in the dining room.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Place in Glenwood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The town was packed during Spring Break week, so I was happy to be able to make a reservation at The Rivers for 6 of us. It was surprising that it wasn't busier at 7:30 p.m, and we wondered if it would be a nice dinner. We were very delighted by the meals and the service! Kim was our lovely server and she kept glasses full and was very engaging. The shrimp fettuccini dish elicited a request by my stepmother for the chef to come out to take a bow (and she is very picky!). The prime rib dinners were delicious, as well as the lamb osso bucco, and the buffalo meatloaf. The portobello mushroom appetizer was a big hit as well. The view outside the window is gorgeous and the sun deck would be fabulous in warmer weather.

This was truly a special evening!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburg, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Service, and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Located on the south end of Glenwood Springs, River's Restaurant is a nice place for dinner. The interior is comfortable and upscale, fresh linens and flowers on the tables and such. Not overly expensive and the quality of the food was very good. I had the prime rib. Menu includes such interesting selections as bacon-wrapped duck breast and bison meatloaf. Dinner service begins at 4:30 p.m. and they have daily specials. Full bar too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wedding Rehearsal Dinner at the Rivers Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

When visiting Glenwood Springs last summer, our family enjoyed a lovely brunch at the RIvers Restaurant. So when my son and his fiancé decided to be married in Glenwood Springs this January, I chose the Rivers Restaurant for the rehearsal dinner.

The setting was lovely, the meal delicious, and the wait staff friendly and professional. Anita, the manager, designed a menu to suit our personal taste and budget, and accommodating every request.. Everything was perfect! I could not have been more pleased. If you are in Glenwood Springs, I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Too expensive and not great food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The only great thing was the view. Food was overcooked and service just okay. Maybe just a bad day. Bar area looked fun but if have children with you don't need it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Restaurant also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 
Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to River's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.