We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner on the Deck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River's Restaurant

River's Restaurant
2525 Grand Ave, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601-4125
970-928-8813
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
River's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: Free Ride Glenwood bus or Taxi service
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dinner on the Deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had dinner on the deck. Great meal and service. Got just a little cold as the sun went down but we all went to the car and got coats to finish the evening. I would go here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elbert, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great deck, marginal food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The deck on the river is a wonderful place for cocktails, especially when the weather is warm. If it is after sundown, it can be cold. The food is just okay and the service mediocre. The steaks are not cooked to order and are of a quality that does not justify the price. The freshness of,the fish is questionable. One person in our party did not get his food because of en error between the kitchen and the server. I would have expected his meal to have been comped, but it was not.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“WOW, amazing flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

In Glenwood Springs for Mothers Day Weekend. This place was recommended by some locals as their favorite restaurant, so we tried it out. We got there at 6:00 and got to enjoy their early bird special: 3 course meal for $20. Everything was amazing, zippy corn chowder soup, the dinner rolls are sweet & savory, the steak was perfect, and the carrot cake ... I had to stop my mom from licking her plate :-). Needless to say, we are actually planning to go again tomorrow night for dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best patio environment in the valley but sub par service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We regularly go for brunch on Sundays because of the patio seating available overlooking the Colorado river. It's fun to see rafts and kayaks drifting down the river and the sound of the water is zen heaven. The food is satisfactory lacking any wow factor but does satiate one's hunger. The main complaint we had was the awful service we received multiple of times from our servers. They are mostly young teens or youth who are undergoing their first restaurant job from my assumption due to the careless and laissez-faire attitude. When asked about the menu, a generally vapid reply is offered with the words good and great. The charming water refilled girl gave us more service then our server could manage as she was too busy socializing with another table that seemed to be her friends. Getting coffee refilled was a chore requiring too much effort. Okay bistro type food, spectacular environment and awful service. It's too bad we couldn't have just served ourselves.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Bad steak in nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went here expecting a nice dinner. This is such a pretty restaurant. Gorgeous location and very pretty interior. Ample parking. No problem getting seated. The steak i had was laced with what seemed like rubber bands. I tried but could not swallow this awful steak so it ended up being spit back onto dinner plate. Medium was served more like medium rare. It was so disappointing. I will bring my clients to another local steakhouse next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River's Restaurant also viewed

Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to River's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.