We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Colorado family skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunlight Mountain Resort

Sunlight Mountain Resort
10901 County Road 117, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
1.800.445.7931
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sunlight features 67 named trails covering over 470 acres. In addition to miles of cruising intermediate terrain, Sunlight's East Ridge has one of the steeper runs in the state. Aptly named, The Heathen falls beneath your feet at a breathtaking 52 degrees. Sunlight is home to one of the longest trails in ski country, Ute, a beginner slope that winds more than 2 miles from summit to base. Sunlight also hosts some of the best tree skiing in Colorado with many aspen groves untracked days after snowfall. All trails converge at the base lodge, so friends and family can always keep track of each other
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Louisville, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Colorado family skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Don't want high prices and the glitz and glam of Aspen? Check out Sunlight!! Lots of easy runs for the whole family, and lift lines that are short to non-existent. It goes without saying that the view from the top of the mountain is incredible.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    50
    10
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Sunlight is a great place for beginners who don't want to spend a great deal of money to learn how to ski or board. I love the mountain because of its great military discounts, its easy & free parking, and little wait at their lift lines. It is not a mountain for destination skiers who want to stay longer than two days, but it is the perfect mountain for getting snow under your board and having an affordable outing with the family.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family Skiing at it's BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Affordable, easy access and the friendliest employees around. Their skiswimstay package is hard to beat anywhere. Looking for the anti-Aspen? Find it here at Sunlight!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Affordable skiing and friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I loved my experience with Sunlight. I'm a lifetime beginning skier, but I found a bunch of enjoyable runs and friendly staff to point out new places to explore. For about half the price (both rental and lift tickets) of the Aspen or Vail complexes, I had a fantastic experience.
Everyone from the shuttle drivers to the instructors were the best.
Can't wait till next year!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Ski Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I hadn't skied in years. This was a great way to get back into it. Employees were great and friendly. Nice long runs. We did ski lessons and the instructors were great! Very friendly and helpful. the lodge was nice but got crowed at lunch time and they didn't really seem that busy. I would definitely go back here again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunlight Mountain Resort also viewed

 

Been to Sunlight Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunlight Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.