We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cave tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park

Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park
51000 Two Rivers Plaza Rd, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
1-800-530-1635
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking, Kayaking, Skiing, Snowboarding, Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historic Glenwood Springs, Colorado, Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park offers a unique mountain-top adventure that's fun for the whole family. Featuring three guided tours of Glenwood Caverns & Historic Fairy Caves, voted "One of the Top 10 Places to Go Underground" by USA Today; Colorado’s longest alpine coaster; America's highest-elevation roller coaster; a giant swing; tram rides; a zip ride; a 4D theater; laser tag; climbing wall; restaurants; and breathtaking Rocky Mountain scenery. Great for groups, family reunions and birthday parties.
Denver
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice cave tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Went to the adventure park with a day pass. We were to have unlimited 4D movies, Laser tag, alpine coaster and a cave tour. The tour was interesting, the alpine coaster never opened, and the movies were ok. Laser tag was fun, but the gun was a little big for my daughter to use correctly.

When we arrived (opening time 10am) the staff was still vacuuming, stocking shelves etc. Did not seem prepared for a Saturday morning, which seems like it would be a fairly busy time. The staff were all friendly, and everyone of them acknowledged us and said hello.

I will try to come in the summer when all of the attractions are up and running, but it is iffy in the spring...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear GetawayGirlDenver,
Thanks for your feedback. It's definitely quieter around here in April. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the cave tour, and hope you'll come back for a visit in the summer when all of our attractions are open. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    196
    60
    22
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Off season is not the time to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited Glenwood Caverns in April and much of the attractions at the top in their Adventure Park were closed and not operating. The ride to the top in their gondolas had great views of Glenwood Springs and the surrounding country side. And the $5.00, off season charge for the hour long tour through their caverns was certainly worth the price, but be warned, there are over 250 steps that you go down on the tour that you have to climb back up at the end. And look out for the gift shop at the top of the tram, the prices are very expensive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear NorthglennBill,
Thank you for visiting the park. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the tram ride and cave tour. There are 127 steps (each way) on the King's Row Cave Tour; we provide stops along the way, but with the altitude it can still be a challenge for some folks. Our new tour, the Historic Fairy Caves Tour, opened May 11 and has just a dozen steps, so it provides an easier option for viewing the cave formations. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spotted the trams going up the hillside - so we walked over. We only did the tram to the top, no rides, but it was an awesome place to go. The view was amazing. We had lunch outside on the patio - and the food was very good. A fun, relaxing time. Not everything was open and running since it was off season, but still a very nice time. If you have kids, they will love it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Car0lB,

We are so glad you decided to try out the Iron Mountain Tramway and that you enjoyed your mountain-top lunch! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, and we hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun caves.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A treat to explore. During the summer a relief from the heat and during the winter a warm cave. The natural formations are lovely and the rides during the summer are fun for adults as well as preteens and teens

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Richard P,

Thank you for this fantastic review! The fact that the caves remain at 52 degrees year-round sure is nice, and we're glad you've experienced it during the summer and the winter! We hope you can visit the Adventure Park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fairy Caves under construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The gondola ride (only way to get there) is now $17, plus $5 for the fairy cave tour. Most of the "historic" section is no longer open to the public, as they are blasting tunnels to some of the less accessible rooms. They said the full tour (at a higher price) should be available in the summer of 2013. Also, they've got a lot of amusement park rides up there now, for an additional fee: canyon swing, bungee jump, zip line, roller coaster. But on Spring Break 2013, only the alpine slide was working. The caves are awesome, but there's some pretty intense exploitation going on around them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenwoodCaverns, Public Relations Manager at Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Patrick,
Thank you for visiting the park and taking the time to share your feedback. During the winter, our tram, cave, alpine coaster, 4D theater and laser tag are open. This winter, the upper section of the cave was closed for construction as we extended the tour. The new Historic Fairy Caves Tour opened May 11, as did our seasonal attractions. The tram ride costs $13 for adults and $8 for kids 3-12. The Tram/Cave tickets, which include the tram ride and both 50-minute walking cave tours, now cost $25 for adults, $20 for kids. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your cave tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park also viewed

 
Glenwood Springs, CO
Glenwood Springs, CO
 

Been to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.