We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, but mixed experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Tashkent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Historic, but mixed experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was exactly as billed. A beautiful, historic, elegant building with cheerful service. Very close to the hot springs. Garden cafe was a great place for a drink and the menu looked interesting. The lobby was a wonderful place to just hang out, with elegant old furniture and lots of comfortable places to sit. Our room was a bit small. Bedding was nice but mattresses were very, very soft. There is no air conditioning in the rooms though there are fans. The whole place is showing its age. A fun experience but be prepared.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    159
    66
    56
    27
See reviews for
156
175
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hotel Colorado is in a terrific location in Glenwood Springs, located right across from the hot springs pool and within walking distance of neighborhood eateries, etc...we have stayed in this hotel throughout the years growing up when we come to the hot springs and it is our favorite place.

The rooms are old and have no a/c but are so full of character that we love it. The super wide hallways with seemingly lower ceilings makes the place seem like you would see ghosts wandering around, which is why I think the place has so much charm in that kind of way! The last time we stayed in a family room which had 2 rooms sharing a middle bathroom...plenty of towels, hot water, nice and clean...plus, they allow dogs so what more could you ask for?

Free parking around the hotel, great restaurants inside and out on the porch, newer (at least from 20 yrs ago) coffee shop with fun stuff to buy to eat...and a terrific staff every time we have stayed there! We have only had the breakfast in the inside restaurant but it was very tasty....and the hotel is always offering different specials and packages, so definitely check those out...the lower level of the hotel has things like rafting companies and things like that...we didn't check it out the last time we were there so not really sure...

I highly recommend staying here at least once...maybe it doesn't have all the fancy things like a microwave and fridge and the heaters are those old radiator type units...we were only there in the evenings and were running around at the pool and other places during the day anyway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a mixed experience. The place was very clean, the room especially with comfortable beds and high quality linens and towels; and the staff were welcoming. But we were here in August and it was hot, and the grand old place has no AC! Sure you can open the windows but to noise and fumes from the kitchens. Then there is only one elevator in the whole hotel, so with luggage you can wait ages, a real 10 minutes! No doubt this was once a fine, luxury hotel but the owners obviously have done little to update it since 1930.

Room Tip: If you go in summer, try for a room at the side, to avoid kitchen fumes or the highway and water par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The charm of this hotel is its history, and we have stayed here before, so we knew exactly what to expect. As a result, loved it. No a/c, old rooms . . . no problem. The showers work great, the beds are comfortable, and there are box and ceiling fans in the rooms. The hotel is walking distance from EVERYthing -- we parked the car and never had to drive again until leaving, including for the bike trails. The front courtyard with Adirondack chairs and benches is delightful in afternoon (completely shaded) and evening for having a drink or just relaxing and enjoying the mountain town. Staff was warm and friendly, and room service breakfast was exactly what we ordered. Fun stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel, facing the courtyard, get plenty of shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

First off i have to say this is the place if your in town on two wheels. We were pleasantly surprised by the front desk staff that they have covered motorcycle parking on the side of the building. The room was clean and shortly after check in we received a phone call from guest services asking if we needed anything, very nice in my opinion. Bed was very comfortable and the only negatives are no A/C although tolerable with the window fan. The shower temp was extremely finicky to try and get a less than scalding temp. Water would start out cold for a very long time then get uncontrollably hot. TV is slightly small for the room size. Furniture sort of rickety but again going with the historic theme. Noise was a slight issue the second morning there with doors slamming. The courtyard area was really really nice as well as the bar with very friendly staff. We would stay here again, overall was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I paid $130 for a single night. I know staying at "historical hotels" is often a compromise against modern amenities. Hotel Colorado has a lot of history. However, unfortunately the room was worse than a budget motel. I don't need air conditioning on 4th floor if I know the building is historic, but I do need a ceiling fan that is installed correctly and doesn't bounce back and forth across the ceiling. Also, when opening the window I found no screen so I had to choose between an open window and bugs flying in from outside. The bathtub was in disrepair, and the showerhead was probably a $10 investment. No extras came along with the $130 ticket--no in-room coffeemaker, no free lobby coffee or continental breakfast, nothing.

I think the hotel draws people for its history, which is interesting. By all means drop by when you're in Glenwood Sprs. and learn a little about it. There isn't a tour or anything, just a packet of photocopied historical one-liners. Again, interesting history and it could really be leveraged better with some actual story-telling. Anyway, you don't need to stay there to get the history, and I recommend you don't. ESPECIALLY for $130 for a single king bed. You'd have a more comfortable stay for half the price at a motorlodge and not leave feeling like you were ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here one night in August 2014. I didn't realize there was no A/C and fortunately it was cool at night so not a big deal. But really? I don't think I've ever seen a hotel in the US with no A/C. I realize it's historic and all, but come on... Rooms are fairly sparse in my opinion. Bed was OK but sagged in the middle. LCD TV was perched on a wobbly old table which looked like they stole it from your grandma. Bathroom was OK but nothing special. There is one small parking lot for this huge place so I had to park way up the hill on a side street. Again...really? Build a parking ramp if there's no space.....There is a nice courtyard outside with a bar and restaurant which was nice to hang out in. Overall, the place needs mucho $$$ dumped into to upgrade it. It could be really cool as the building itself is pretty neat. The carpets in the hall looked like they needed a cleaning and some had significant wear on them. There were barely any outlets in the room so you had to unplug something to charge a phone. The location is good, across from the hot springs and the downtown area with lots of restaurants. But I don't think I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you face the courtyard, it could be noisy as your windows will be open due to no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.