We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine old place, emphasis on old!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine old place, emphasis on old!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a mixed experience. The place was very clean, the room especially with comfortable beds and high quality linens and towels; and the staff were welcoming. But we were here in August and it was hot, and the grand old place has no AC! Sure you can open the windows but to noise and fumes from the kitchens. Then there is only one elevator in the whole hotel, so with luggage you can wait ages, a real 10 minutes! No doubt this was once a fine, luxury hotel but the owners obviously have done little to update it since 1930.

Room Tip: If you go in summer, try for a room at the side, to avoid kitchen fumes or the highway and water par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    195
    92
    71
    36
See reviews for
193
227
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The charm of this hotel is its history, and we have stayed here before, so we knew exactly what to expect. As a result, loved it. No a/c, old rooms . . . no problem. The showers work great, the beds are comfortable, and there are box and ceiling fans in the rooms. The hotel is walking distance from EVERYthing -- we parked the car and never had to drive again until leaving, including for the bike trails. The front courtyard with Adirondack chairs and benches is delightful in afternoon (completely shaded) and evening for having a drink or just relaxing and enjoying the mountain town. Staff was warm and friendly, and room service breakfast was exactly what we ordered. Fun stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel, facing the courtyard, get plenty of shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First off i have to say this is the place if your in town on two wheels. We were pleasantly surprised by the front desk staff that they have covered motorcycle parking on the side of the building. The room was clean and shortly after check in we received a phone call from guest services asking if we needed anything, very nice in my opinion. Bed was very comfortable and the only negatives are no A/C although tolerable with the window fan. The shower temp was extremely finicky to try and get a less than scalding temp. Water would start out cold for a very long time then get uncontrollably hot. TV is slightly small for the room size. Furniture sort of rickety but again going with the historic theme. Noise was a slight issue the second morning there with doors slamming. The courtyard area was really really nice as well as the bar with very friendly staff. We would stay here again, overall was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I paid $130 for a single night. I know staying at "historical hotels" is often a compromise against modern amenities. Hotel Colorado has a lot of history. However, unfortunately the room was worse than a budget motel. I don't need air conditioning on 4th floor if I know the building is historic, but I do need a ceiling fan that is installed correctly and doesn't bounce back and forth across the ceiling. Also, when opening the window I found no screen so I had to choose between an open window and bugs flying in from outside. The bathtub was in disrepair, and the showerhead was probably a $10 investment. No extras came along with the $130 ticket--no in-room coffeemaker, no free lobby coffee or continental breakfast, nothing.

I think the hotel draws people for its history, which is interesting. By all means drop by when you're in Glenwood Sprs. and learn a little about it. There isn't a tour or anything, just a packet of photocopied historical one-liners. Again, interesting history and it could really be leveraged better with some actual story-telling. Anyway, you don't need to stay there to get the history, and I recommend you don't. ESPECIALLY for $130 for a single king bed. You'd have a more comfortable stay for half the price at a motorlodge and not leave feeling like you were ripped off.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here one night in August 2014. I didn't realize there was no A/C and fortunately it was cool at night so not a big deal. But really? I don't think I've ever seen a hotel in the US with no A/C. I realize it's historic and all, but come on... Rooms are fairly sparse in my opinion. Bed was OK but sagged in the middle. LCD TV was perched on a wobbly old table which looked like they stole it from your grandma. Bathroom was OK but nothing special. There is one small parking lot for this huge place so I had to park way up the hill on a side street. Again...really? Build a parking ramp if there's no space.....There is a nice courtyard outside with a bar and restaurant which was nice to hang out in. Overall, the place needs mucho $$$ dumped into to upgrade it. It could be really cool as the building itself is pretty neat. The carpets in the hall looked like they needed a cleaning and some had significant wear on them. There were barely any outlets in the room so you had to unplug something to charge a phone. The location is good, across from the hot springs and the downtown area with lots of restaurants. But I don't think I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you face the courtyard, it could be noisy as your windows will be open due to no A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Colorado for 3 nights. We really like the front court yard and the hotel lobby. In the mornings we would have coffee in the lobby, and in the evenings we would sit in the outdoor courtyard and enjoy the fire pits and cocktails while playing cards.

As many have stated - if it gets too hot the rooms are warm with no air conditioning. Ours wasn't too bad since it didn't get that hot and the ceiling fan worked well. The box fans in the room won't do anything because there is no electrical outlet near the window and no extension cord.

Our biggest problem was parking. When we returned from a day of sight seeing we found that someone had parked a U-haul lengthwise in the parking lot with a trailer behind it. They were taking up 9 spots in an already small parking lot. After driving around the hotel looking for a place to park, my wife went in to see about the U-haul taking up all the room. The manager told her to just keep driving around or to park across the street at KFC. They really didn't seem to care that 2 vehicles were taking up 30% of their parking lot.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room so you can get cross ventilation from windows on different walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I agree with many of the reviews posted here. There are some definite pros and cons:

PROS
Location. Excellent. Across the street from Glenwood Hot Springs, mini-golf, the town.
The Courtyard. This hotel has a wonderful outdoor courtyard where you can hang out with friends and family, read a book, have a drink at the outdoor bar, have dinner at the outdoor restaurant.
The gift shop. Very cute gift shop that also sells breakfast items: coffees, teas, muffins, breakfast sandwiches.
History. You walk in and immediately feel like you’ve walked right into the 1890s. Slightly spooky but also exciting and comforting in an odd way.
Excellent cleaning service. Great job cleaning rooms consistently. Plenty of towels and toilet paper.
Food. At hotel, very tasty. Also some nice restaurants nearby.
WIFI. Free and easy to access. Speedy.

CONS
Air Conditioning. There is none! Very hard to sleep. Fans help but not enough.
Bathrooms. Need bringing into the 21st century. There aren’t any cup holders or shelves for toiletries. Nowhere to put a toothbrush! Not enough towel hooks and what was provided didn’t work. Mirrors in bathrooms were too high for kids. In definite need of updating.
Bedding. Sheets were great but pillows overstuffed with foam. Beds all seem to be slightly different. Some nice; others not so much. We had a couple of suites, so we tested the beds.
Parking. Easy enough to find but no real parking lot for the size of the hotel.
No game room. Not a whole lot for kids to do in the hotel, which is big enough to host a room with a ping pong or foosball table, some card tables, some games (Chutes and Ladders, Chess, etc.), and could even host a library. Wouldn’t it be fun to have a nice reading room filled with books of all kinds for both kids and adults?

Tip: Go to Glenwood Caverns Adventure Park. Right around the corner from the hotel, fun rides with awesome views.

Overall, very nice for a couple of days, but no more.

Room Tip: Take a few hours to go whitewater rafting down the Colorado river. Level 3 is fairly safe, even for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#4 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwo...
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Spr...
#20 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.