We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Diamond Bar CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Great service and a terrific dinner on the patio. A wonderful, historic place. But please stay away if you demand the sameness of chain hotels. The lack of air conditioning here was a non issue for us...an open window and stout overhead fan kept us quite comfortable.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Historic hotel Colorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    195
    91
    71
    36
See reviews for
192
226
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I want to thank Paul, the Beverage Service Manager for our wonderful bottle of champagne in recognition of our wedding. We had an afternoon wedding then drove to Glenwood Springs. We didn't arrive until late. We sat outside and had a wonderful meal and then received a gift of champagne! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful day.

Room Tip: Because there is no air conditioning I would recommend a room facing north in the summertime. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

I am glad that you took up the drive to Glenwood Springs after your wedding. Our culinary staff takes great pride in what they do and I am happy you enjoyed the experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I went on a 2 day getaway to Glenwood Springs. On the morning of our trip to the Hot Springs pool we decided to stop by the Legends coffee shop, located in the Hotel Colorado, based on the recommendation of the hotel clerk we were staying at (not the Hotel Colorado). When we entered the shop there was one customer being helped. The barista and he were engaged in a conversation that went on for some time. We waited for about 10 minutes. In this time the barista never acknowledged or greeted us, she just continued her conversation, in her british sounding accent, with the current customer. A few more people came in at this point, giving us hope that this might prompt her to be more efficient in providing us service and some much needed coffee. Then the wife of the current customer comes in and walks to the front desk and gives her order of an "iced americana" to which the barista promptly begins preparing for her. Needless to say, we left in disgust and with no coffee.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you were not recognized immediately. I will address this issue with her so that it may not happen again. She is normally known for great customer service but fell obviously short of that on that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I realize this hotel is located in Colorado and it is a very old and historic hotel; however, when the outside temperatures are in the upper 90's and you have no A/C, it makes for a miserable night trying to sleep with only a box fan moving the hot air around! In addition, the hotel has a musty unclean smell and he housekeeping is subpar at best. During our stay, a water pipe broke resulting in no water for showering, etc. - it was fixed fairly quickly but not in time for us! There was no compensation offered! I would not stay here in the future unless major renovations occurred!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent two nights at the Hotel Colorado this past weekend. We were there with friends who had married earlier in the day. This historic property is clean and comfortable. The grounds are pretty and well-maintained and the location is great. The big plus at this hotel is the staff. To a person, they were helpful and friendly. The beverage manager, Paul, upon hearing about our friends' wedding, brought a complimentary bottle of champagne to our table--very thoughtful! We will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Yeah, this place is a historic landmark. Very cool, majestic, lots of famous people have stayed here. Great location. Beds are comfortable. Nice veranda and patio; big hallways with high ceilings.
Here are the down sides: Tiny, slow elevator. Nothing is included, and they nickle and dime you for everything. Don't expect complimentary coffee in the lobby. The rooms are cramped, particularly the bathrooms, with antiquated plumbing. No mini-fridge, no coffee pot, and no air conditioning. The latter isn't a big deal most of the year, but in July, it sure was. With the windows open, road, patio, and landscaping noise is an issue, particularly when they decide to use a gas-powered leaf blower in the early morning, providing both fumes and noise.
And parking is ABYSMAL....not nearly adequate for all the guests when the hotel is full. Their answer is, " find a spot in the neighborhood".
Cool place, but I felt I spent a lot of time climbing stairs and searching for a parking spot in the hilly, narrow streets surrounding the hotel. Just know what you're getting into.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The antique furniture is stained, threadbare, and decaying. The carpets are stained and dirty, the curtains ripped and old. The "popcorn" textured ceilings and exposed pipes give the rooms and corridors an outdated and derelict ambiance. The Hotel Colorado was not even close to what we anticipated from the website and brochures. It needs some major deep cleaning and restoration throughout the entire building. Furthermore, the building is not air-conditioned, and the temperature in Glenwood Springs reached 102 during our stay.
I would strongly advise against staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms at a different hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenwood Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Glenwood Springs
Hotel Glenwood Springs
#4 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Denver
Hotel Denver
#1 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#8 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwood Springs
Residence Inn by Marriott Glenwo...
#6 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
Hampton Inn Glenwood Springs
#3 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Springs
Holiday Inn Express Glenwood Spr...
#20 of 23 in Glenwood Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.