We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the history, not the stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
526 Pine St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Go for the history, not the stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel Colorado is a an iconic, historic hotel, opened in 1893. It is beautiful outside and the grounds are quite attractive. If our room was any indication, however, the Hotel Colorado is in serious need of refurbishing. Our room was large and clean, but lacked charm. The furniture was scuffed and worn. The socket plate behind the bed was off the wall. In the bathroom tiles were cracked and mismatched, the paint was chipped, the doorstop was broken, and there was no fan. Some of the things that one might expect in a modern hotel were missing, such as air conditioning, coffee in the room, hair dryers, a fridge, and continental breakfast. They do have a restaurant, and a nice bar. We found the front desk staff to be friendly and efficient. Stay at the Hotel Colorado for the history, not the hotel experience.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning, so ask for a room on the shady side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your feedback on your stay. I will get with engineering and address some of those issues in your room. We realize that no A/C can be an issue on some of the hotter summer nights. The hotel provides fan's in all the guest rooms which will normally cool off the room at night in the mountain climate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    148
    64
    52
    25
See reviews for
148
163
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a great time here about a couple of years ago. No AC, But worth the stay. Very old, Beautiful place with lots to do around it. Did I say Old and Historic, and lots of charm? Its worth saying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed the great history of the Hotel Colorado. We go to great efforts preserving the originality of the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked a room while traveling from Lake Powell for one night and were told parking was available for the boat we were towing. When we arrived we were told we would have to park two blocks away from the hotel as there was no boat or RV parking at the hotel. After checking in we found the hotel lobby to have furnishings of the times, but the rest of the hotel lacked anything in the halls. The room we found was lacking in a number of things to include a light in the closet to a toilet that over flowed. The room was small and lacked areas for the ladies in our group to dress do make up or set things out. The lack of AC with only a broken window fan made it uncomfortable for everyone. We found the eating areas and the food to be good. the staff although friendly were not concerned about a few of our issues. When we asked to make a complaint to the manager we were told the only way was to go to this web site. We will not stay at the hotel again instead electing to stay at the hot springs lodge that offers everything to include pool passes and free breakfast. We will try to contact the hotel by phone to voice our concerns. Our family has grown up in Colorado and as a child I came to the hot springs pool, but never stayed the hotel, signed very disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. As an 125 year old historic hotel we understand that the room configurations are not the same as they build them today and bathrooms and closets were not of the same size as they are today. I will speak with the staff also regarding trailer parking since that is not ample during the busy summer months and the location of the hotel in a downtown setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here the week before Memorial day and got an exceptional rate on a king size room on the third floor with a view of the mountains to the west. The hotel was very quiet during our stay and our room was large and very comfortable. The lobby and floor halls of the hotel are filled with antiques and old photos, including some of Teddy Roosevelt, who stayed there at one time. The bar and seating they have set up in the gardens is a great place to sit and relax and it's a very short walk to the Hot Springs pool and into the town of Glenwood Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the 3rd floor or above for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. One of our best assets is our outdoor restaurant and bar that we utilize during the summer months. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were super excited to stay in this old hotel, but almost booked a different hotel right after we checked in even if it meant losing the cost of this hotel. I will admit it is my fault that I didn't realize they didn't have a/c, but this is a huge deal breaker for me and made for very unpleasant sleeping conditions. Service was just ok, parking is HORRIBLE and we will not be going back to this hotel next time we are in Glenwood.

Room Tip: Get ready to not find parking and hike to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your stay was not enjoyable as you had planned. We are a historic hotel and we post on our web site that we have no A/C. We fully understand that it can be warm in the middle of the summer when the temperatures reach the nineties. Normally it cools down enough at night due to the mountain climate and we provide fan's in the room to speed up this process but I understand that there can be some challenging nights with this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I so want to love this hotel, but there are so many issues. The hotel is an historic landmark. The history is fascinating and there is great memorabilia and vintage furnishings, art and newspaper articles throughout the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and there is a charming courtyard where guests can get a cocktail and enjoy live music and mountain views. The location is also great, directly across from the Hot Springs Pool and a short walk into downtown. However, once you get past the lobby, the rest of the hotel needs some major attention. The hallways are poorly lit with cheap fixtures and the combination of the dim lighting and poor choice of paint colors make everything look dingy and a bit creepy. It doesn't help that all the water pipes remain exposed with broken fire extinguisher boxes, cable and phone wires and shut off valves in plain view every few feet. The rooms themselves are spacious, but suffer from the same dingy paint scheme, popcorn ceilings and dirty pipes as the hallways. The furniture in our room looked like it came from the local Goodwill store and was scratched and damaged. One of our beds was so sunken in in the middle, that we had to try to sleep right on the edge to avoid rolling into the center. The bathroom had updated fixtures, but not within the last 20 years and it was very small and dark for our family of three. There is no air conditioning in this hotel, but the ceiling fans in the rooms and the open windows do a decent job of keeping the rooms cool in the evening. The staff is very friendly and responded quickly to all our requests. This hotel could be spectacular with some investment in fixing the condition issues and turning this hotel into the historic showplace it should be. If you want to experience the history, come and have a drink in the lobby, but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor, they are cooler. Also, the river side has a nice view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the staff and the historic ambiance of the hotel. Since we are on the historic register we try to stay as close as possible to the original paint colors as possible. This is also the case in the rooms and hallways and therefor we do not want to put in dropped ceilings thus leaving a lot of exposed piping. I fully agree that this is not perfect with today's standards. We continuously try to update but as you can imagine that is not easy in a 125 year old building. I would like you to contact me so that I may check the bed in your room. All mattresses where replaced 2 years ago and should not be sagging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We love the Hotel Colorado. We stay here every time we come to Glenwood. It is full of vintage charm; maintained to look the way it did at the turn of the 20th Century. Even the rooms maintain their vintage charm, but with all the modern conveniences. It is a short walk over the bridge from the train station and the Glenwood Brewery. And just across the street from the pool

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon S, General Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are truly happy you enjoyed your stay once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.