We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love to stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Save Saved
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Colorado
526 Pine St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
western colorado
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“we love to stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is our first choice of places to stay in Glenwood. We love the history and the beautiful gardens, and the fact that dogs are welcome. The rooms are pretty, if old, but everything works and we like the historic nature of the place. It is clean and well run and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind works. It is patrons like yourself that keep the true spirit of the Hotel Colorado alive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    105
    49
    36
    18
See reviews for
101
112
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am from Denver and I love staying in historic hotels. This is MUCH, MUCH, MUCH better then the Stanley in Estes Park. For being a historic hotel it has as much modern amenities as it can possibly have. If you book 21 days in advanced the rooms are much less. I love this place and will definitely be going back and staying again. The ONLY down side is that they do NOT have air conditioning but they make up for that in hospitality, friendliness, and historical value!!

Room Tip: ask for a courtyard view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Jeremy G,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Thank you so much for sharing on Trip Advisor, and we look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute reservation while passing through. When checking ey upgraded me to the palor suite. Keep in mind that this part of the state it is not necessary to have air conditioning. The 100+ year old hotel has large windows and high ceilings to help accommodate any warm ambient temperatures. The only downside for our stay was that the pipes bang around 3AM. When I called to the front desk to report they informed me of the regularity of the pipe banging and that if I turn the knob to the left it should subside. Unbeknownst to us, turning the knob to the left turns the radiator on. When I called down to report the heat and "hissing" sound, due to the radiator being on, the lady at the front desk told me that some of the knobs have to be turned left and some to the right.

Other than that, as beautiful quaint establishment.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much for all the kind praises. We are sincerly happy that you had a great stay with us and look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a very hotel that has been slightly updated. Rooms are comfortable and clean. We usually stay at the chains were everything is the same. This one has character. But no air condioning - so be careful when booking in very hot weather.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Colorado and sharing your experience. We are truly thankful for your appreciation of all of our venerable hotel's historical beauty and charm. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an incredible hotel!!! We had never been to Glenwood Springs before and almost stayed at a "safe" chain hotel, but now that we've experienced Hotel Colorado, this is the ONLY place that I would choose when returning to the town. I will say preface the rest of the review saying that we went mid-week during the middle of May, so it was not crowded OR particularly hot---which was great. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, and it was fun to walk around and see the historic pictures, furniture, and general details that come with an old building. Our room was very luxurious (and it didn't even face the famed courtyard), and we did not have ANY problems with the hot water at all. It was great to have the windows open and catch the breeze, and we used the fan at night just to keep the air flowing. The hotel staff was very nice, and the courtyard definitely warrants a visit in the morning or evening to relax. Despite the wonderful time we had IN the actual hotel, one my favorite parts was its location! We could walk almost everywhere in 5 minutes, including the hot springs and the downtown across the pedestrian bridge which starts right outside of the hotel. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend the Hotel Colorado if you are looking to experience the "essence" of Glenwood Springs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We truly appreciate the fantastic review. This it exactly the guest experience that we strive to attain for all of our guests. We are absolutely thrilled that you truly enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to accommodating you during your next visit to Glenwood Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I read a lot of the negative reviews, so I didn't expect much. I was pleasantly surprised, and we really enjoyed our 3-night stay. The room was large and had everything we needed (Hint: 1st floor rooms are larger and cooler in summer.). No, it's not posh and modern; it's an old hotel, but everything worked. The bathroom was spacious enough and had a shelf to put toiletries on--which is one of my pet peeves. The water pressure in the shower was fine and there was plenty of hot water. We enjoyed sitting out in the pretty garden area. They have fire pits going in the morning and evenings, which was a nice addition. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant; the food was good and prices were comparable to the downtown breakfast eateries. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning. If you are traveling during summer months try to get a room on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive for each and every guest to share the same enthusiasm for the Grand Dame of the West. We sincerely appreciate your honest appraisal of our property. We look for forward to accommodating you the next time you are in the Glenwood Springs area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We paid a premium price for a room on the courtyard. What a disappointment when we entered the room. It had no ac, and the water pipes were hanging from the ceiling. The bathroom was in need of renovation. The flooring looked very old and not very clean. There were places in the bath tub that had been patched (not very well).
We were excited about having dinner on the outdoor terrace. This meal started with the server delivering two menu covers with no menus in them. When he realized his mistake, he returned with two menu covers with two different menus in them. We brought it to his attention: he said one of the menus was for a restaurant that no longer existed. Eventually, we ordered soup, salad and bread.The bread arrived hot, but the butter was frozen. By the time we could spread the butter, the bread was cold. We were served the salads intended for another table. They were removed from our table and placed in front of the clients at their table. The Jerusalem artichoke soup was interesting, but the "lover's salad" was drowned in dressing.
At the end of the meal, the server and his assistant each brought us a dinner check. Had we not been paying attention, we would have been charged twice.
Overall this hotel stay meant to be a romantic getaway for two was disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your accommodations or resturant experience. The service you received is not the the kind of service that is synonymous with the Hotel Colorado. We deeply apologize for the issues. If you would like to discuss this further please call me at the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs
Address: 526 Pine St., Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.