We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast on the road!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Colorado to your Saves list
Hotel Colorado
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“breakfast on the road!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

stopped in @ Hotel Colorado in Glenwood Springs on our way from Vail to Aspen for breakfast and what a fabulous surprise! Breakfast served in the dining room on bone china! Excellent eggs benedict....but we had a breakfast appetizer of a warm home made cinnamon roll that was huge and delish!!! Service was lovely, the hotel charming and very reasonably priced! Nice treat for just "dropping in"!
Plus lots of history in this old hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for stopping in for a bit to eat in Baron's I will be sure to pass this information over to our servers and our food and beverage manager for training purposes our servers try their best to ensure everyone is given prompt service with no exceptions. We are pleased you had an exceptional breakfast with us and look forward to having you back with us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    159
    66
    56
    27
See reviews for
156
175
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This Hotel Sucks! I can not even put it into words.
Kim, The Front Desk manager is one of the worst people i have ever run into.

The rooms are horrible..Smelly, Moldy and very loud.

I will never stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are deeply concerned to hear your stay was not exceptional this is unacceptable if you could, please give me a call at your earliest convenience so that we may discuss your stay further and how we can rectify it.
Donte Deadwiler
Director of Revenue
970.945.6511
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Wonderful old hotel has loads of charm and history. Worst part was no A/C and poor wifi connection. The hotel does provide ceiling fans and box fans in each room. With the window open and the fans going, it was still about 10 degrees hotter in our room than in the hall. Can't imagine staying here in the summer! Lovely breakfast in the dining room. The dining chairs need some TLC. Easy to walk to downtown and hot springs pool. Very relaxing to sit outside. Fun to explore and look at all the old photographs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We apologize about the poor wifi and will make sure it is in working order so this does not happen again. We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hotel Colorado is unique in its charm and atmosphere. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with soft music and a friendly staff. Kim Jordan and the front desk staff are just plain awesome. They made every attempt to meet my family's needs. We loved the history tour that was available to us to learn of the history and all of the intricacies of the hotel. Our suite was spacious, the bed very comfy, and the linens were top notch. Our room was most comfortable with a ceiling fan and windows open at times. (Sept 2012). The food in the restaurant was good; I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. It was delicious. The bar is fun, and service is great. We loved sitting in the area outside of the hotel...with the fountain and flower gardens and large wood chairs to relax in, read a book or celebrate happy hour. It was most peaceful there. Even though I don't have a dog, it was fun to see them around the property. It was easy access to everything. I definitely plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Suites are awesome and we loved being on the penthouse (5th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable our Maintainence Department works on the courtyard everyday to ensure guests have a beautiful garden to relax in and our Front Desk Agents and Restaurant Servers strive for customer service to make you feel at home as much as possible. We are glad you will be returning and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the 2nd year now we've spent our anniversary in Glenwood Springs and stayed at the Hotel Colorado and loved it! We brought the kids this year and they really loved the old hotel and rooms. We love the fact that we can walk across the street to the pool, across the bridge to many great restaurants and/or sit out on the front lawn and just enjoy the hotel. Thank you again for such a great piece of history.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and making us your family/anniversary stop. We enjoy making special occasions even more special and making new and exciting memories for our guests. We consider you all family and we are glad you brought the rest of yours to your home away from home to meet us and explore the Grand Old Dame.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

It's first and foremost a historic hotel. If you do not enjoy that kind of thing you are in the wrong place. That being said I do. It was beautiful. The grounds and public spaces are well kept up and gracious. The room was comfortable and clean. However I use a wheel chair and the handicapped room while usable needs improvement. The roll in shower worked well ,but a design flaw left most of the bathroom floor wet. The room had good comfortable bed it was clean and well appointed. The space was tight and difficult for a wheelchair. I can't see it working for a large chair or electric chair. All in all it was a very good experience. The staff is friendly and helpful although understaffed. I can't comment on the restaurant but the coffee shop was wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Handicap room is small and crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable, we love to have history lovers walk through our doors and appreciate The Grand Old Dame and all she has to offer. Your feedback is always vauled we will be looking into making our handicap room a little less crowded and correct the shower issue to reduce risk of slipping and or falling we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night in early September. After an 8 hour drive we arrived to check in at 3.30pm and were told " Sorry, check in is at 4pm". I did ask if an exception could be made due to our being tired after our long drive but, "Sorry, check in is at 4pm". This was not a good start to our experience. We had to wait in our car for 30 minutes until the appointed hour arrived and when 4pm duly arrived there was a line a mile long at the check in desk !!! When we finally managed to get ourselves checked in we found that the lift to our room was broken !!!! Apart from these little issues our stay was pleasant enough. We did not eat at the hotel during our stay, we chose to eat at a local steakhouse instead.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devereux1893, Director of Sales at Hotel Colorado, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I apologize for the lack of customer service you recieved your check-in could have been handled in a more friendly manner, our front desk has had additional training on this issue so it does arise again. There should never be an issue with check-in especially after such a long drive. Again we cannot apologize enough for our front desk miscommunication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado

Address: 526 Pine Street, Glenwood Springs, CO 81601
Location: United States > Colorado > Glenwood Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Glenwood Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Colorado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian-style resort was frequented by former President Teddy Roosevelt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colorado Glenwood Springs
Colorado Hotel Glenwood Springs
Colorado Resort Glenwood Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.