We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mykonos Camping

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mykonos Camping to your Saves list
Mykonos Camping
Paranga Beach, Paraga, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

THE WORST EVER! Rooms (or concrete tents) were terrible - unclean, smelly, and just horrible. Beds uncomfortable and disgusting. - they didn't even offer blankets (and the receptionists didn't seem to know what they were). In July it was 35+ degree weather, however during the night it was extremely cold!!! Since we didn't have any blankets as they weren't provided - it was the worst. The toilets were disgusting and smelt bad. Try to avoid showering. Horrible.

You get what you paid for , it was 8euros, so you should expect the worse.

It was a good location in terms of clubs and beaches (it is a party island after all) - 2-5 minute walk to the beach and they did have a decent pool area. Def. won't recommend this to anyone - I would suggest pay more for a more comfortable and relaxing stay in Mykonos. Our experience of Mykonos was definitely ruined by this TERRIBLE CAMPSITE!

I would give this zero stars if I could.

Room Tip: Don't go here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    17
    13
    40
See reviews for
2
19
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here not by choice with a Top Deck Timeless Trail hotel tour & would not have even thought of staying in a place like this. They are literally permanent tents on concrete slabs with 2 main shared toilet & showers.
The beds were thinner than foam mattresses, & tents extremely noisy with wind at night with no air flow.
There was no hot water in the showers and the restaurant served poor camping food. The worst experience was a friend finding faeces in the shower, which looked like animal faeces because they have a communal 'campsite dog', no idea where it was from but it was there!

The only great thing was the beachside bar & pool over looking Paraga beach, security boxes & location to the bars, beaches & partying as you can hear constant music all the time. Would not even think about recommending this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Tents along the edge, facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked to stay here after reading the reviews and were still a little disappointed.

While the pool bar and beach facilities were great, the accommodation was still very scary.  The bungalows were claustrophobic and more like a cell, unable to open the door to let air in securely was annoying as it was very hot.

The music is very loud until all hours of the morning, which is fine if you're out but not if you're hung over!

Food and mini market is on site but very basic.

You can walk to Paradise Beach through the cliffs and bushland, but doable.

Would not stay here again, ended up booking elsewhere after the first night to escape the filth!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Some how survived 9 days here but I think this was down to us having our own tent (squished into a crowded camping area). First day we arrived we were pointed in the direction of "the best camping spot"...i.e the windest area,right up the back with about 5 trees to provide shade for over 30 people...we tried setting up our tent up but with the wind being so strong and not actually being able to get a tent peg in the ground it was very frustrating!!we moved further into the campsite and ended up using rocks to hold our tent down.

During our stay we found the food extremely overpriced,staff were unhelp,limited english along with a very stuck up/arrogant attitude which at times made us very uncomfortable.The music was ridiculously loud with only a few hours of peace and quiet in the early hours (however we were still woken by the drunk people returning,most who had a serious lack of respect to those trying to sleep).It was horrible with us being able to hear THREE different places playing music which create a horrible mismatch of bass,vocals and techno which gave us head aches.Our water was also stolen from the communal fridge by this time I was ready to burst into tears!

We are a young couple in our early twenties and are in no way party shy but this was just ridiculous and stressful!Some nights we just had to get a bottle of wine down us to be able pass out and get some sleep. The views however were beautiful and there are some lovely people also making the best of a bad situation...sad as it could be sooooo much better.Good luck to anyone staying more than 2 days!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although we heard good reviews about this hostel, it was not as great as we thought. First off the staff was not really helpful with general information, which was a shame.
- The location is quite far from the center, however you can catch the bus to and from the city. The only downside of this is that the last bus from the centre back to the camp is at around 10 or 11... Not ideal if you want to party.
- The rooms are different, depending on what kind of room you reserved. We stayed at a mixed dorm, which was not very enjoyable. Beds were the most uncomfortable kind I have ever slept on... I do not even think you can call it a bed. It was simply a 2 inch thick foam laid onto wooden boards that moved a lot, onto a metal frame (Not exaggerating). In addition, you are so close to your neighbour that if you stretch out your arm sideways you can hit them in the face!
You can hear every single step people make from inside your room, as one of the walls is made out thin bamboo..Not ideal place for those who like peace and quiet
- Bathrooms are clean and showers are clean, which was nice
- If you are a big partier, I highly recommend this hostel..very close to party scenes
- WiFi is not free (MUST buy a drink at the bar to get the password, and at that it did not even work 2 times I used it)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

It's a real shame about this place because half of it is so nice and yet the other half is awful. There is no inbetween. When we first arrived we were so excited, it was beautiful. There was an infinity pool, and we were right on the beach. The food at the little bar was yummy too and not badly priced. The music was very loud down at the bar and very repititive also, lots of trance/dance which got incredibly annoying in the end because you had to shout over each other, this was happening even in the day time first thing in the morning! The showers were always cold but i guess you cant complain about everything.
Then we check out our bed for 3 nights... a small fabric tent with nothing but a hard metal frame with thin mattress, one pillow each and a sleeping bag which we had to open up and use as a duvet. Ok so this is basic but we thought we could deal with this, its only a bed after all, we wouldnt be spending much time in there apart from to sleep.
Then we realised the extent to the problem with having the fabric tents, they were getting broken into by being cut open with knives. A few of the people on our trip had theirs broken into and had money, cameras etc stolen! We went back to check on ours and thankfully ours was ok (we had previously invested in a safe) whereas the others had not. Which got us thinking.. why were the peoples tents who didnt have a safe the only tents that got broken into? Reception were the only people who knew what number tents had safes? But we thought nothing of it and carried on our holiday. Then the next day we notice 3 of the staff stood looking very suspicious outside the back of one tent. Then two of them broke in whilst the other kept watch! I filmed the whole thing on my phone and took it to my tour guide, but unfortunately the video quality was too poor to take it any further.
DO NOT TRUST THE STAFF AT THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Just make sure you grab a safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

When we first arrive to our tent cabin we found our beds to be coated in dirt. The beds are hard and there is no air con or heating in them. They supplied sleeping bags to half our group with sleeping bags but not the other half weren't. We were attacked by mosquitos that night. While we did come to party the first night we were exhausted from travel and chose to sleep. The music was incredibly loud and due to the tents we couldn't sleep. The food is incredibly overpriced for what it is. Though there is on thing we couldn't complain about - the view and the water. The pool area is great and it is a 2 minute walk to the beach. If you want to go to Mykonos town catch the bus, it's not worth the 45min walk. But it is only a 10 min walk if that to tropicana.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mykonos Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mykonos Camping

Address: Paranga Beach, Paraga, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Mykonos > Paraga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Paraga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Mykonos Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paranga Beach Camping Hotel Mykonos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mykonos Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.