We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch for two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Cooker

The Happy Cooker
412 Sixth Street, PO Box 1158, Georgetown, CO 80444
+1 303-569-3166
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Renovated victorian 1800's property with a large (seasonal) outdoor patio. Wine, beer, cocktails. Vegetarian and gluten free options available. Breakfast all day!
Lutterworth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lunch for two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Whilst making an unplanned visit to Georgetown, which is well worth a visit, we decided to stay and have some lunch before driving through the Guenella Pass, also worth the time and effort of doing. We stopped at the Happy Cooker which looked to be quite popular. We elected to sit inside due to it being a very hot day and the outside seating area being fully occupied. The surroundings were quite nice as was the food. The only drawback really was the noise level of the waitress. Though she was trying to be helpful she was extremely loud and throughout our meal all we could hear was her speaking to other customers!! We would eat here again but would wear ear plugs!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    39
    20
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Don't bother with this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our local relatives had heard good things about this place, so we stopped here for lunch after taking the Georgetown Railroad Loop. We sat outside and all tables were taken on a Friday afternoon. The service was non-existent and we were there forever before being approached and finally served. My main complaint was the attitude of the waitresses. They all had dour looks on their faces and were clearly not happy in their jobs. I have nothing good to say about us sitting there waiting and waiting for average food. Two of us had their bacon bean soup., One really liked it. I found it too salty to consume and I don't like seeing uncooked bacon in the soup. We had ordered a cinnamon bun to go and it again took forever for them to get it right so we could be on our way. I hate giving bad reviews, but why would I ever go there again?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Average at best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The cooker was ok, I would not go out of my way to return, however I would return.

I had Huevos Rancheros, I found it acceptable, if only my waitress had told me about the daily specials as she did the table next to me, I may have been happier.

I found nothing European about the Happy Cooker other than their attitude, which I don't see as a plus! Nothing awful, just a waitress who would rather have been somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, varied menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for an early dinner on the way back from Vail.
The restaurant closed at 4:00 and we came close to it. They were kind enough to stay open for four of us.
I had a berry salad which was good. My sister in law had tomato soup which "tasted like spaghetti sauce".
My husband had a hearty French dip and my brother in law had huevos ranchero which he enjoyed.
I would rate the waitstaff very friendly and helpful. The food was pretty good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fresh and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived in Georgetown just in time for lunch and found this cute outdoor bistro. The Bloody Mary's were delicious and made fresh. The salads and sandwiches we ordered were the same. There was more food than we could even eat. This restaurant appeared to attract many bike riders as well as locals.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Cooker also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Cooker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Cooker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.