We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Paris Museum

Hotel de Paris Museum
409 6th Street, Georgetown, CO 80444-0746
303-569-2311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in Georgetown
Type: Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hotel de Paris founder Louis Dupuy, a native of Alencon, France, is considered the father of domestic science (today, we call it home economics). Dupuy's Norman-style hotel and luxurious restaurant made culinary history throughout the Western United States of America.
Fort Lupton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I would recomend this to any one who enjoys history and tours. I have done tours all over the west and this one was the first were the items in the muesem were actual to the actual owner and not just to the period. it was 90% origianl to the origianl owner. Enjoyed it and would recomend it to any one who enjoys taking tours of american history and buildings.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tshwane, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“even our two kids were rapt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

we happened by this museum by chance and it was the highlight of the day. our tour guide was extremely engaged and had lots of stories up his sleeve. everything in "as was in those days" condition, down to pea tins in the kitchen to beds that fold into desks...really an interesting place. don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is probably the best thing to see in a small town rich with history. The place has been restored beautifully! I loved going back into time in this museum!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit if You’re in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel de Paris is one of the main attractions in Georgetown. It’s well worth a visit if you’re in town, but don’t drive to Georgetown just to see it. At its most basic, it’s a pretty typical building/museum of its kind – an old hotel with a history. The “self-guided tour” (which I think is a bit of an oxymoron) is very reasonably priced (especially with AAA or Senior discounts), and the majority of furnishings, architecture, and decorations are original to the hotel which is a plus. I found it interesting that the volunteer docents pronounced the founder’s name differently, and one of the spiels was definitely scripted, but at least the folks were available to answer questions. All in all, if you enjoy old buildings with a story behind them, you’ll probably enjoy this one. Otherwise, it’s just an old building with a story behind it…

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“History told by great Ambassadors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We came to Georgetown with a city sponsored recreation trip from Aurora, Colorado. Part of the trip was to attend the Christmas Fair taking place throughout town. Our trip included tickets to visit the Hotel de Paris and the Hamill House. What very interesting attractions they turned out to be. The Hotel is well preserved considering its age. It gives you a very accurate glimpse of what it must have been like to stay in such a well appointed hotel in the 19th Century. Best of all were the nice ladies that provided historical background and information in each room. They are excellent examples of Ambassadors for the City of Georgetown and any town would be lucky to have such dedicated and informative volunteers. They brought the place to life. Truly impressive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel de Paris Museum also viewed

 

Been to Hotel de Paris Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Paris Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.