We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican in the Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucha Colorado Cantina

Lucha Colorado Cantina
606 Sixth Street, Georgetown, CO
303-569-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $18
Cuisines: American, Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mexican in the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We decided to drive to Georgetown after seeing a few brochures at our hotel. What a beautiful drive there! Tucked away in the mountains is a historic gem! A little town with unique shops and cafes. We decided to get a light lunch and seen the Lucha Cantina sign and thought it'd be great to check it out for some chips & salsa! Pretty small restaurant with a top level overlooking the bottom (where we sat). The service is a little slow...no one is in a hurry for sure. But the food is great! It's still has the hardwood floors from top to bottom like an old saloon. The menu has American and Mexican choices. We ordered the Salsa Sampler (approx $5) for our appetizer. You get to choose 2 of 6 (I think) salsa choices served with homemade tortilla chips. We each just ordered a soft shell taco ($3.50) which you get to choose from shredded beef, ground turkey, pork, fish, or vegetarian (seems like there we some others...no ground beef tho). You then get to choose between like $10 toppings! Delicious!! This a neat little place to check out!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    7
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Good fun and good food--bonus entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We used to visit the Red Ram in Georgetown when passing through. It also figured prominently in John Denver's "A Christmas Gift" TV movie. Then as soon as we moved here, it was closed. We planned to go to Georgetown's festive Christmas tree lighting, and got an email that John Adams, a John Denver tribute singer, would perform at Lucha after the tree lighting with no covre charge, just buy a meal. We had thought that the newly opened Ram was just Mexican food, based on the name, so had not returned. We were very pleasantly surprised! The bison burgers were extremely large, creative, and perfectly done. The sweet potato fries are excellent. The tomato soup is wonderful, and their hot chocolate is perfect. Hannah was a great, attentive server. She even rustled up some ice cream for desert for us when none was on the menu. Definitely try them out--especially if there is entertainment; but we would have enjoyed the fairly priced meal immensely even without the entertainment!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rustic and Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our hotel staff recommended 2 places in downtown Georgetown and we chose this one -- mostly because it seemed to be popular with the locals. The food was great - very healthy. It was probably an old local saloon as the bar is original and just beautiful. Dark wood with tall mirrors. The atomosphere was cozy and we highly recommend a stop for lunch or dinner if you are traveling through I-70 east or west.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Girls Weekend Kickoff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

on our way to the mountains, we stopped in the historic, scenic town of Georgetown, and came across a hip cantina - Lucha! we had a group of 10, and we dined on a variety of homemade appetizers - the wings, the salsas, the quesadillas and the gazpacho were to die for. We had many other items that were healthy, homemade and went great with the many delicious brews on tap. I recommend this place highly and would go back in a sec!!! even ask for the haunted basement tour.... spooky!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“REDRUM Yumm Yumm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was the best place in town for a good time, good drinks, and good people!!!! Had a blast and would go back everyday if we lived in Georgetown!!! AWESOME!!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucha Colorado Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Lucha Colorado Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucha Colorado Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.