We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guanella Pass

Guanella Pass
Georgetown, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Georgetown
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Attraction details
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is a gorgeous drive with lots of places to pull over and look. Great views of Georgetown in the valley! The roads are very curvy but well worth the drive.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    19
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Insane ecosystems!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We came up from Georgetown and I could barely keep my eyes on the road(which is highly recommended). The high alpine meadows at the pass were bright green, in contrast with the blue skies, and grey mountain peeks. It was raining lightly and we caught a full rainbow running across the pass, so we could have asked for a better trip! I will be back soon and also taking my clients here. Definitely hit up Al's BBQ on the other end in Grant Yummmm!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very scenic area and easy drive up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a wonderful area and very scenic. Easy to get to as the road is paved all the way up from Georgetown. There are several hikes that originate from the top including Mt Bierstadt which is just over 14, 000 feet. Be very prepared if you wish to attempt to climb it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Several lookouts spots made great photo opportunities, We didn't get to complete the drive because of an appointment with the Georgetown Loop train. We would love to return to see the fall colors.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive in summer and autumn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Before the road over Guanella Pass was paved, I didn't go up there much in winter, but when I did, I had a 4x4. I like the pass best in the autumn, when the aspen leaves are bright yellow and shimmering in the breezy sunlight. There are lots of pull-offs to stop and take pictures. If you really want to get adventurous, detour onto a rocky dirt road off the main road just above Georgetown. It takes you to Waldorf, a mining ghost town. The views from the site are fantastic.

Guanella Pass campground used to be great, and had nice hosts, but I haven't camped there in several years. However, above the campground is a wooded area that leads you along a creek and past a small waterfall. At the end of this short hike is an old rock fall area that you can see Mt. Bierstadt from.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guanella Pass also viewed

 

Been to Guanella Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guanella Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.