We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip to top from Georgetown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guanella Pass

Guanella Pass
Georgetown, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Georgetown
Type: Scenic Drives, Landmarks
Attraction details
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip to top from Georgetown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The road is open, paved and very lightly traveled from Georgetown to the summit and is a great trip until you hit the unpaved road into Grant. Absolutely the worst dirt road with washboard bumps and large holes in the road. It is amazing that this part of the road should be the easiest to maintain but every time we have been over this road, this is the absolute worst. You would think that Colorado or the County would want to showcase this drive. The top portion is beautiful and awe inspiring, the road to Grant is bone jarring.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    19
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hiked Mt. Bierstadt on Sep 2 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our first fourteener and we were very excited. We were a group of 4 50 year olds! We were quite well prepared we felt. And We did it! We were really happy thet we made it to the peak! It turned out be much tougher than we thought because of the altitude. We have hiked several peaks with similar elevation gain but at lower altitides. Altitude hiking is a totally different beast!! Having said that we were very proud that we did complete the hike!! We saw several hikers much younger to us turn back.
Advice to prospective hikers - Must acclimatize at least 2-3 days before doing the hike. We just acclinnatized 1 day and that was not enough. The other thing is to try and sleep at higher elevations. We slept in Georgetown but i feel it may have been better if we had slept even higher.

All in all an awesome experience! Gorgeous views all along and very safe hike.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Absolutely loved it! The drive & views are so wonderful. Therapeutic. When the road stops, start hiking! Some of the very best!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Short Trip - Scenic Byway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

George Town view from summit is grand. The driving is moderate and scenic. Wish it would have more stopping points but still the pass is worth to visit. Hiking trails are available, and it is a bot cold out there - so bring jacket etc. Nice place!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Fishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had fun while we were here, not much biting but plenty of fish in the area! Fishing after all the ice and snow melt in the spring is best, but still a very good spot. Don't go if you aren't ready to climb and hike a little.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guanella Pass also viewed

 

Been to Guanella Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guanella Pass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.