We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Totally Relaxing"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marinos Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vathi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marinos Studios
Save
You added Marinos Studios to your Saves list
Vathi GR-84003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth,Western Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Totally Relaxing"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

What a gem this place is.Firstly our host Marinos and his wife go out of their way to help you in any way they can which really makes you feel at home.Our room was basic but clean and airy and having a balcony overlooking the bay and the mountains where we enjoyed many an afternoon wine, was fantastic and just the way to unwind.Marinos has his own cafe and you actually sit only a couple of metres from the water ... fabulous. His menu is what I would call basic but delicious,indeed although we went to other parts of Vathi in search of food we kept coming back to "our" cafe for our meals.Vathi is a really isolated part of the island,totally laid back with all the accomodation basically on the sandy beachfront.If you want nightlife then you are in the wrong place but if you have hypertension this place will bring down your BP ..... no medication needed !!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

we stayed here for five days and had a lovely time. The rooms were studio apartments with big balconies overlooking the ocean and we had breakfast there everyday. The apartments and right on the beach, five steps from the front door. The owner has a restaurant there with great food which he cooks himself. The highlight was the host himself who was so helpful and went out of his way for us.
highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed here at the end of August and the start of september 2009. The owner, Marino, is really friendly and helpful. His wife does not speak english but she is still nice and helpful as far as she can. The location is great and the view is beautiful. It is located right on the beach but most places in Vathy are right on the beach. We stayed in room 2 and the view from the balcony was beautiful. It was great to have breakfast on the balcony and have a few drinks on it later.

The room is very basic but it is comfortable. As we stayed at the end of August and the start of september we were charged to different rates. The first two days were €90 and the third and fourth night were €59. I think €90 is expensive for the room as it is extreemly basic.

Vathy is a very small town and there is not too much to do other than sit on the beach and eat. The food is also basic enough, but it is good. There is food served at Marinos and the traditional food is excellent and well priced. It is a place for relaxing and thats what I liked most about it. If your looking for a nice place to stay on a relaxing holiday I would recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Marinos studios are right on the beach (like most of the tavernas and rooms at Vathy), have big verandas/balconies and lovely views. We stayed here in April and had the place and the beach to ourselves. The owner was very friendly and went out of his way to help us. We didn't try his food, but he made a point of letting us know that the tables and chairs on the beach are for all his guests and that we didn't have to buy food and drinks to use them. It's great to be able to have your breakfast with your toes in the sand. I'd definately come again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We spent few days at the beginning of September in Vathy. Marinos studios is a charming little property, with 7 units, designed functionally. The place is new, clean, and the owner Marinos, is friendly and helpful. He also has a small restaurant, and he cooks there traditional Sifnos food.

  • Liked — Clean, close to beach, unspoiled, not many tourists in September
  • Disliked — too firm mattress
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

We stayed at Marinos Studios in June 2007 and loved it. There are 4 studio apartments (with small kitchenette and appliances) in each. The place is brand new and very clean and right on the beach. It has private balconies where you can sit and gaze at the sea, watch their local ducks (they have 2) move from the water to the shade all day long and totally relax. This spot is a piece of heaven at a very affordable price. Marino the owner brought us fresh eggs from his chickens and courgettes from his garden every morning for breakfast. Vathy is an ideal spot to totally unwind and relax with no crowds in a beautiful fishing village in a secluded bay. There are enough restaurants within the bay to keep you entertained and if you like dining with your table and feet in the sand, moon reflecting off the water...then this is your place. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marinos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marinos Studios

Address: Vathi GR-84003, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Sifnos > Vathi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Vathi
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marinos Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.