We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vaca spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   43200 Hwy 141, Gateway, CO 81522   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd night
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gateway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely vaca spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The resort is located in a beautiful spot with breathtaking views all around. We enjoyed our time here. Only a few complaints. You are stuck with the food on the resort. Just two restaurants, and if you are a vegetarian, the pickings are slim. A much better effort should be made for meatless items. The chef at the fine dining establishment did a beautiful job creating something for us, but we couldn't eat there every meal - not for the price or the richness of the food. Also, the employees were all very nice and friendly, but not extremely helpful. The room was nice, very spacious. The decor is slightly odd, but nice. There was a very large stain right in the middle of the carpet. I think this place is not as nice as it should be for the price.

We were going to rent bikes one day but decided it was a bit too pricy. Everything is fairly expensive, and you are captive. There are some good trails around the property for hiking/biking.

I think this would be the perfect place for a retreat or conference. Everyone is stuck there, so there's good opportunity for networking and socializing. And it's a lovely place to feel like you're away from it all. Perhaps it just needs to be in business a little longer to work out some kinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not handicap accessible if you don't require it. THat's the room we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We appreciate hearing from our guests, and we share all comments with our staff. Gateway Canyons has just updated the restaurant menus and we are continually reviewing what our guests are requesting. I am also pleased to let you know that all of the carpeting at the Kiva Lodge is being replaced during our winter season. You mention hiking/biking around the property and we are very grateful to the BLM and to the Volunteers of Colorado, who come every year and help build new trails. I personally love to hike all of them. I do hope you will return and spend more time with us exploring this very stunning area of Colorado.

Warm regards,
Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    23
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
84
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, Ny
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here after a 100 mile Telluride to Gateway bike race ( I followed in a car). It is a great place for all ages with a pool, horses, and many outdoor adventures available. The rooms are very comfortable and attractive. The Spa is quite good, there are several restaurants available for different meals..food is good. The plantings around the resort are notable..not sure the water required year round is environmentally the best idea but the flowers, cactii, lavender etc are fascinating. Each plant tiny or large has it's own little watering head.

The resort is close to the Utah boarder. Surroundingrock formations are magnificent and the desert night sky is spectacular

Room Tip: Perhaps away from the pool area or close to it depending....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Gateway Canyons. We are always happy to see our biking friends arrive after a long day of riding or racing. It is so beautiful here in the fall and a perfect time for your event. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you back again.

Respectfully,

Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eunice
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband saw Gateway Canyon Resort on Wheel of Fortune on a Monday evening. By Wednesday we had booked the trip for September 10 to spend 4 nights. When we got into Gateway we were surprised by the abandoned homes, but then made the left curve and was blown away! The resort is absolutely beautiful. We went ATV riding, horseback riding,mountain bike riding and had a massage. Visited the auto museum and enjoyed that very much. The food was great and the service was excellent. We had a room with the hot tub and outdoor fireplace with a magnificant view. The bathroom had a huge shower and bathtub with plenty of "elbow" room. Mandy at the Adventure Center was awesome. The only thing bad is that you have no choice but to eat at the resort unless you want to make the 1 hour drive to Grand Junction. But the food is very good. The resort is very secluded and allows someone to be active or to simply relax. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your stellar review. It is nice to see that you were able to enjoy many of the activities and adventures we offer. I invite you back for a scenic helicopter tour and maybe partake in some of our "Experts in Residence" seminars and field trips. Thanks for watching "Wheel of Fortune" and giving this beautiful hidden treasure a visit!

Warm regards,
Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thia is our 5th time to go to Gateway Cayons. Each time there is something new and even better to help usbrelax, rejuvenate and enjoy the quiet surroundings. Gateway Canyons is rarely crowded, partially because there is plenty of room for everyone. Great pool/hot tub area, plenty of walking/hiking paths. Somethinf for everone to enjoy. New cars in the amazing musuem as well. Gateway Canyons also has different dining options to meet your culinary preferences, Staff is friendly and helpfu. Such a wonderful laid back atmosphere, we will certainly induldge again!

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room yet! Well built place so you don't hear noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. You are correct in reference to Gateway Canyons being new and better each time you return. Just wait until next year and see what we have planned. You mention we are rarely crowded and you hit the nail on the head. There is plenty of room for everyone, yet we are intimate and special. We appreciate your positive comments for our amenities, staff & culinary adventures and we look forward to your 6th stay with us!

Warm regards,
Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed Labor Day weekend on a Travelzoo voucher. I had never heard of the place when I got the Travelzoo email but when I looked it up I knew we would have a great time and quickly bought the voucher. Everything about the place is top notch. Quite frankly, the pictures on the website don't even do it justice, and they are pretty amazing. We stayed in the Kiva Lodge in a king room with an adjoining double queen for our boys. Very spacious rooms and ours had a fantastic view of the Palisades Mesa -- stunning! Our king room also had a private hot tub. We took in the Blues Fest at the amphitheater and the fireworks show. We visited the Adventure Center for advice on a bike ride and they suggested taking a fairly flat dirt/gravel road 7 miles to Utah! It worked out great for our 6 year old and with pulling a burley with our 2 year old in it. I had a hot stone massage at the spa and when I was done with the treatment, Danny was waiting to drive me back to my room in the golf cart! I hadn't even asked. The food at the restaurants was great and they have a good kids menu (pasta, chicken fingers, burgers, hummus). The place is high end so expect to pay a bit of a premium for food and drinks. You are also a captive audience because there are not other food services in Gateway. However, the resort makes it so that you don't want to leave. The staff are very attentive and the grounds are impeccable. We also took our boys to the Stables to "paint the horse" and Sarah was very good with our boys. Chip, the horse, was very gentle. The grounds at the stables are fantastic as well. We were so busy that we didn't even get to the auto museum! Maybe next time. I would definitely return to Gateway Canyons Resort. It really is a good mix of adventure and relaxation in a beautiful setting. Can't wait to see if they move forward with plans for a golf course and private homes!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The Travelzoo promotion was quite the deal and I am so happy you were able to get a voucher. Although our online pictures are beautiful, we are much more beautiful in person. I am also happy you were able to join us during our very special BBQ Blues event. Your kind comments regarding the Adventure Center, Danny, restaurants, Auto Museum, The Stables and the Staff are greatly appreciated and have been shared with everyone. Although it looks like you took advantage of many of our offers, I invite you back for even more! Maybe a scenic air tour or a try at the new Driven Experiences. We would love to add more wonderful memories for you!

Warm regards,
Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is the first time I’ve stayed here but will not be the last. For everyone familiar with the Camelback Inn, think Camelback Inn placed in a truly Western setting. The drive from Grand Junction is stunning. Take your time on the drive and stop for lots of pictures. We stayed in a large one bedroom with a private hot tub outside. It’s the kind of room that makes you feel so comfortable that you might not want to explore the rest of the resort. That would be a mistake. The grounds are very well kept and staff is extremely pleasant. The scenery is stunning…from any vantage point. My wife and I are not car buffs by any stretch but we both enjoyed the car museum. It displays some of the best automobiles produced in the U.S. from the early 1900’s. We paid extra for the room we wanted but I would have a hard time believing that any room would be a disappointment. There was a special musical event the weekend we went which drew a very diverse crowd; young, old, couples, and families. Somehow this resort seemed to excel at making everyone feel like the resort was designed to cater just to them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I must admit, I quickly went online to see what the Camelback Inn was all about and extremely pleased with what I saw. So, THANK YOU for this very complimentary comparison. I'm glad you decided to leave your room to explore the rest of the Resort as well as the Auto Museum. You definitely don't have to be a car buff to enjoy it! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Well, we're back home but still missing Gateway Canyons. The location is beautiful. The resort itself is lovely (right down to the hummingbirds). Our room was perfect. The service at reception, both restaurants, the cafe, and the Adventure Center was impeccable, helpful, and friendly. The food was delicious. We ran, climbed, hiked, biked, fished, swam, soaked (in our hot tub!), stargazed, and relaxed. It was wonderful. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatewaycanyons, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are elated you left Gateway Canyons with some wonderful memories. The Resort is located in stunning natural surroundings that also include hummingbirds (my favorite). Thank you for expressing your appreciation for our amenities and especially our associates. They are very passionate about taking care of our guests. It is nice to see you took advantage of adventures and our stargazing opportunities. The night skies in Gateway are amazing! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Warm regards,
Tammy Anderson,
Director of Resort Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa

Address: 43200 Hwy 141, Gateway, CO 81522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Gateway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gateway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Canyons Hotel Gateway
Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.