We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1129 N Summit Blvd., PO Box 4310, Frisco, CO 80443   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Frisco
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, service and willingness of the people to help, every request we had was fullfilled immediately.

The hotel location is perfect, gas station, convenience stores bike and ski places across the street.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Holiday Inn Summit County! We truly appreciated your comments and are happy to know we gave you a 100% satisfactory stay. Hopefully, you can visit us again in the winter for some great powder skiing and rentals from Team Managers across the parking lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    89
    76
    41
    25
See reviews for
97
86
23
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We weren't expecting anything special because it's a Holiday Inn but were pleasantly surprised. The room was large and clean with flat screen and HD. Firm comfy newer mattress and nicely decorated. We needed this one after a long day of driving across all those mountain roads.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We really enjoyed reading your comments. A nice bed and many HD channels are always needed after a long day of driving winding Rocky Mountain roads. We are very glad we could accommodate you with these amenities. We hope you can come back in the future and enjoy the many outdoor adventures Summit County has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We came from telluride beautiful place horrible resort.we stayed at mountain lodge 4 star resort room was very small and the bed felt Like a pile of rocks had to pay $20 a night for parking then we arrived in frisco we were going to stay in breckenridge but decided we like it in frisco better smaller town read reviews from past guest surprised by there complaints loved the room and wonderful shower everything was clean and tidy ate at the sports news grill fantastic food friendly staff no complaints from us bed was soft pillows were terrific enjoyed are stay I would definitely return can't say the same for mountain lodge in telluridge payed triple the amount and was very disappointed great job hoilday inn and staff

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Summit County! We are so happy to know you had a wonderful time. We also invite you to review the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in Frisco this weekend and had a great stay at the Holiday Inn. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly. Our only complaint is that our room was supposed to have 'mountain or lake views' and when we pulled back the curtains the majority of our view included dumpsters and work trucks. We could see a glimpse of the lake in the distance, but it wasn't what we expected. Overall it was a pleasant stay and we would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for commenting about your recent stay at our property. We are so happy to know you were comfortable during our stay (some say our beds are like sleeping on clouds) and you thought the hotel was in a good location. We hope you were able to visit the Town of Frisco and neighboring towns with great shopping and hiking trails right out the back door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was prepared to like this hotel. When I walked in I was greeted with a clean, recently remodeled lobby and what appeared to be a more casual desk staff then I'm generally used to seeing at Holiday Inn/ IHG hotels. It had the appearance of a privately owned hotel that just operated under the Holiday Inn name.

Anyhow, I was ready to like it. I checked in but they didn't have a room assigned to me since I just made the reservation an hour prior to my arrival. This seemed to have the older desk clerk confused & befuddled. Apparently they pre-assign rooms and hadn't had a chance to assign me one yet. He shuffled through some papers, found me a room and I was off.

My booking was for a mountain view room with a king bed. When I first entered the room I noticed the two full beds. Strike one. Then I figured I'd look outside the window. What's outside? Well, a hallway. No, not even a hallway... A utility room with un-used seats stacked up along a wall, some pipes, etc. Yes, the view outside my window was of a wall 4 feet away, 3 stories up, an area guests wouldn't have access to and that was clearly being used for storage. Apparently this hotel was remodeled a couple years back and management assumed it wouldn't be a big deal to cover up the windows on a few of the rooms. Seriously. In my life I've never seen a hotel hand out a room like this, let alone a Holiday Inn. Who approved this? Who said "Hey, let's cover up a few of the rooms so that they're looking at an interior wall of a utility room because, you know... that's a good idea. People will love it!". Seriously, whoever approved that idea, can them right now. They should be out of a job. They essentially made those rooms useless.

I'm a reasonable guy though. Once I got beyond the initial shock of a hotel actually trying to charge someone to stay in this room I went down to the desk clerk, this time getting the younger guy. I explained to him that I was a platinum IHG hotels member and that while I certainly understand that I'm usually not going to get the free room upgrade it entitles me to, that I still expect to be put in the room I booked. To his credit he was VERY apologetic, insisting that they only stuck people in those rooms when the hotel was near capacity. He was very helpful.

While he was re-assigning me another room the older gentleman who checked me in the first time asked what the issue was. At first he asked if the room was dirty. I said no. Then he asked if there was a problem. I very nicely said that I booked a king, mountain view and received a double full bed, hallway view. His response was "You can't really see the view at night anyhow". I paused a second and laughed, then realized he wasn't entirely kidding, in fact, he wasn't kidding at all. I said "you're not serious, are you?" and he never responded, just continued to look befuddled and confused that I would expect what I paid for. He wasn't even helping me at this point and still managed to act as if I was an inconvenience.

So I get my new room assignment and go check that out. "Mountain view" is a pretty loose term at this hotel. I was placed on the second floor overlooking a parking lot. In between the other hotels I could see mountains. This isn't a mountain view though. It's a parking lot view.

Enough about my specific situation though, let's say you book a room and get exactly what you booked. What about the rest of the hotel? Well, it's good and it's bad.

Recently remodeled - The common areas are modern and clean. The rooms are clean and relatively modern.

Small rooms - There's really nothing the hotel can do about this. It was built in a time where hotel rooms where a lot smaller. That's not necessarily bad unless you're traveling with a youngster and need to fit a pack and play.

Lobby layout - The first floor of the building is needlessly confusing. There are ramps everywhere and no direct access to the elevators. You need to either take a ramp down to the 1st floor (despite entering the hotel on the 1st floor?) or take a ramp up to the second floor.

Elevators - You need a degree in elevator-ology to understand these. I happen to have one and still they managed to confuse me. So there's two elevators but three call buttons. You've got your traditional up and down buttons and then you have a button that says "6". Ok, that's peculiar. No idea what that does, don't press it. So you press the up button and the elevator comes. You go from floor 2 to floor 3 only the elevator says you're on floor 5. Oh and that "6" call button? Apparently you don't press the up call button if you want to go to the 6th floor; you press the 6. I didn't press it but I imagine that in keeping with the theme the elevator would probably tell you you're in the basement when you arrived on the 6th floor.

Cleanliness - The rooms are for the most part clean but do have a must to them. Both rooms I got had this smell. It's not a deal breaker but it's there.

Overall, this is a decent hotel that falls short in the details, is false advertising their mountain views and lacks in the service department (at least with respect to the middle aged desk clerk with the accent). There's the potential for this hotel to be very good but it would really require some intervention from Holiday Inn. In it's current state it isn't being run to the standards of the brand. It's being run like someone's personal hotel who's using the Holiday Inn name to pull customers and nothing else.

I suppose during peak season when skiers are tripping over eachother for a place to stay this doesn't matter. During the middle of the summer for a frequent traveler that expects some consistency from the brand, it does.

Bottom line: in the off season when there's not as much demand, avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy to hear you noticed our recent remodel and it fit well with what you were hoping for. Thank you for your feedback regarding the room type descriptions online. We will work to improve our descriptions so they match more appropriately with what we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I get it. Sometimes the room attendants miss a few things, they check it done, and they move on... We checked into our room and found the bathroom had been skipped. We called down to the front desk and the man there said someone would br up in seven minutes. We left and came back 1 hour later, still not clean. I called again, and the front desk assured me someone was currently on their way! 15 minutes later (we were waiting for bathroom to be cleaned so we could get ready to go out for the evening) still no one arriving to clean so I called again. This time they did not pick up my call. 20 minutes later, two people showed up, did a cursory wipe down, left a few towels and replaced the used soap, and left. I called to switch rooms and they said they were booked... no switching. This hotel is bad, the service is worse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We have covered your concerns with our housekeeping staff as well as our front desk team who was working that night. It is very important for us to provide 100% customer service and to help all guests have a great 10, excellent, I loved it stay. We take all feedback seriously so we can improve every day. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The staff was helpful and friendly. I made last minute change to my reservations and I had to wait for a room, but they gave me some free drinks at the bar while I waited. Some very obnoxious folks at the bar, but I don't know that that is the norm. Nice décor, clean room, and a comfy bed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kd0089, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5/5 review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and are very happy you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County

Address: 1129 N Summit Blvd., PO Box 4310, Frisco, CO 80443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Summit County is the ideal location, placed amidst the Rocky Mountains and bordering Lake Dillon and conveniently accessible from I-70 and only 80 miles west of Denver (DEN). Holiday Inn Summit County recreational amenities include an indoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi spa, as well as professional wired internet business center and game room for the fun-side of you. The hotel also features a restaurant and a bar/lounge called the Sporting News Grill, complete with 16 flat screen HDTV's and 14 beers on draft. In addition to brand new beds and coffee/tea makers, guestrooms feature granite counter tops, flat screen HDTV's and office desks . Whether traveling for business or leisure, the Hotel Summit County offers you a home away from home in Frisco. It is our goal to match your loyalty with excellent service from our end. Make your reservations with us today and experience our own special brand of Rocky Mountain hospitality when you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Summit County
Holiday Inn Frisco
Summit Frisco
Frisco Summit
Frisco Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel Summit County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.