We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butterhorn owner dies, but current Manager continues great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe

Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe
408 Main Street, Frisco, CO 80443
(970)668-3997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Frisco
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: The Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe has been in business for about 40 years. It is the local's and tourist's favorite spot for breakfast and lunch. Every recipe is handcrafted from scratch in our kitchen and we bake everything fresh daily in our bakery. We also offer cappuccino, vanilla skinny lattes, homemade bloody marys and bubbly mimosas! We have been VOTED #1 by Trip advisor, Yelp and Urbanspoon for 4 years in a row, due to our friendly service, efficient kitchen, reasonable prices and most importantly, great food! We offer both full table service and quick counter service for those in a hurry. Our goal is to bring you the best breakfast and lunch experience around. Come check us out today, you won't be disappointed!
Hastings, NE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Butterhorn owner dies, but current Manager continues great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have been eating breakfast at The Butterhorn for many years. When the owner (Cindy) died suddenly last December, we were afraid the restaurant would change but it has not. Current managers (Sally and her husband) are continuing the great breakfast food, service, and the great fresh-baked breads. It is also a fantastic place for lunch, but we enjoy the breakfasts best.
Try to get there between 7:35 and 7:50 for best seating - - they are well-known and get busy starting about 8:00am until about 2:00pm.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    95
    19
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“A special breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

On our drive from Breckenridge to Denver, my wife and I stopped in Frisco for a late breakfast. Seeing throngs of summer visitors, we knew the popular Butterhorn would be crowded. We lucked out and got a table without waiting. Customers and staff were in high spirits, which is a good sign. A waitress soon took our drink orders and then gave us enough time to read the menu. My wife had terrific Eggs Butterhorn, with the eggs poached exactly as requested. I chose the multigrain French toast with strawberries, blueberries, bananas and maple syrup. Its spectacular appearance was equaled only by its great taste. Good service, good food and a lighthearted atmosphere made our breakfasts truly special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Been going here for several years. Went there several times this year. The food is always fantastic! Sally should be cloned!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast or Lunch But Not Afternoon Snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was starting to rain so we asked a local shop keeper where a good place to eat was. She said the Butterhorn, but warned us we might have to wait to get in. Fortunately we were seated. In our party of 4, two had a breakfast menu item and two had lunch menu items. All were quite nice, large portions , good predation and reasonably priced. The bakery items looked great and we planned to return for cookies after shopping. Unfortunately the restaurant both closed at 2:30. Beware, buy your baked goods early.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi,mi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find in Frisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Made a brunch stop here on the last day of our vacation. The fresh baked goods are the foundation for some scrumptious breakfasts & sandwiches. Each of our party of 5 loved the dishes we ordered. The servings are generous and served with a smile. It wasn't the quickest meal, but good things, freshly prepared take time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterhorn Bakery & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.