We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the condo, perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bighorn Rentals - Frisco

Save Saved
You added Bighorn Rentals - Frisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bighorn Rentals - Frisco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 First Ave, Frisco, CO 80443   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Frisco
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Loved the condo, perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I spent a ski season out in the Dillon/Frisco area 15 years ago and always wanted to check it out in the summer. I found Bighorn on line and initially choose it for the location. Frisco offers easy access to either Keystone/A-Basin, Breck, Cooper or Vail. The town is nice and has some nice family restaurants. I found the staff at Bighorn to be very friendly and helpful when I was planning my daily activities. On their suggestion I took my family on the bike path and the peaks trail from Breckenridge to Frisco. It was a fun adventure. I also liked the selection of different units that Bighorn provided me to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Big Horn Rentals has been handling the rental of our condo unit at Cedar Lodge. They are a wonderful company to deal with. Everything is always clean and well maintained. We have family and friends who use our unit during the year and they have always had wonderful comments about John and other staff members. We have found John to be very honest and trust worthy. Our unit is 309 at Cedar Lodge and if you are looking for a large studio unit check this one out. We are right off of Main Stree and have a view of Mount Royal from our balcony.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We have found the owner of Bighorn Rentals, John, to be unethical, uncooperative, disrespectful, and dishonest. Their office contracts did not parallel the HOA building regulations. An issue was made by a property owner of an adjacent condo in the same building regarding our boat being parked in one of our two underground assigned parking spaces, John (along with the building manager) demanded, tagged and threatened to tow our boat if we did not move it. Our rental contract did not preclude us having the boat there. We had a boat the prior season, without issue, parked in the same space. We incurred inconvenience and additional storage expense as a result. Moreover he refused to give us the full 31 days for our monthly rental which he charged us in full 30 days in advance; we got only 29 days and he would neither issue an appropriate credit for the two days nor make any accommodation. In addition he charged our credit card $100 before contacting us regarding a possible pet violation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
There is a lot going on in this complaint so let me respond to the issues one at a time:

1. Many homeowners associations in our area have rules as to conduct in common areas, quiet hours, parking of specialty items and many other things. These homeowner associatons are separate entities from Bighorn Rentals and any other vacation rental booking agency. As such, we have no control over what they decide is acceptable to park in the garage or not. We did not tell this guest that they could not park their boat in the parking garage, we simply notified the guest that the homeowners association would tow their boat if it was not moved. We did contact several individuals that represent the homeowners association and try to reason with them in an attempt for the guests to keep the boat there. When that failed, we contacted the town and found several places that it was okay for the guests to keep their boat but those places were unacceptable to the guest. We then offered the guest to park their boat in a private garage of another condo that we manage about a block away. That too was unacceptable to the guest.
2. For any guest looking to bring a boat or any other kind of trailer, please contact us before you come and let us know what you plan to bring so that we can confirm it's okay with the homeowner association in advance. This goes for anyone staying with Bighorn or any other vacation rental booking agency. It is not reasonable for us to list in our paperwork every acceptable action and every unacceptable action of every property in every homeowners association that we manage, so if you have any requests that are out of the ordinary, please let us know about it in advance and we will make sure it works for everyone involved.
3. We booked this guests dates months in advance and we booked the dates that she asked for. We then sent her a confirmation letter detailing the dates and rates involved. There was no mention of different dates until the guest was 3/4 through her stay.
4. This guest knew very well that the property did not allow pets and she brought one any way. For any guest that brings an unauthorized pet, extra charges will apply. We use those extra charges to "deep clean" the unit to make sure all traces of the pet are gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, OK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Five days after leaving this unit, with **no prior notification,** Bighorn attempted to bill our credit card. We would not have even known had it not been for the fact that Bighorn sent an e-mail to us stating there was damage to the unit, our credit card had declined it, and how did we want to pay. They included 2 blurry photographs of a glass shower door, both of which were dated in 2003. (That's nearly 6 years prior to the current date.)

Because of this, we have had to file a fraud complaint with the attorney general/Better Business Bureau, cancel our debit card, put a fraud alert on our credit, and also utilize the services for an attorney because we are now being harassed.

If you stay in this unit, make sure you document everything there. Otherwise, you could be looking at an unwarranted and unverifiable charge when you return home.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
At Bighorn Rentals we really do try and be fair with every guest that stays with us. When we entered the condo 15 minutes after this guest checked out and found a broken glass shower door, it seemed logical to us that the guests broke it during their stay. We contacted them only one time via email in an effort to collect payment and when evidence came to light that they may not have broken it, we immediately notified them that we would not pursue the matter anymore and appologized for any hassle that we caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I booked a three bedroom condo with Bighorn Rentals through Hotels.com and ended up with 3 three bedroom condos, error on Hotels.com part. Bighorn Rentals refused to refund the two other condos which was over $1000. Greedy people!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
We fully agree that this guest should have been refunded for the error on the part of hotels.com. As hotels.com made that error, hotels.com should have refunded the guest. We really try to be fair with every guest that stays with us and in this case we contacted several different departments within hotels.com to try and get that refund for the guest but hotels.com refused to do so.

Please reserve directly with us as we cannot control the actions of corporate giants like hotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pheonix, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We booked our spring break condo rental last March and were very pleased with the condo Bighorn put us in at Keystone Resort. The condo was exactly as it was described in their web-site and the price was great (we even got a night free on our 5 night stay). We are planning to use Bighorn again next spring when we book our planned stay in Frisco to ski Copper Mountain ski resort.

  • Liked — Location & Price
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

My husband and I from Nebraska booked a room for four nights with Bighorn rentals and when we checked into our room it was dirty, cold, and yucky. When we called someone to turn on the heat they said the room next door had the thermostat and we could not control it! The door had a very flimsy lock on the knob and wouldn't latch right. We slept above the covers that night and the next morning went to the front desk to complain about our room. They said there was nothing they could do and made us pay for the whole four nights we booked, even though we moved to another place to stay. It was a joke. We are not picky people by any means, but this place was gross. Please, if you want a nice vacation, do not book here! Feel free to add me as a friend if you need more information about our Scary, cold, yucky stay at "Bighorn Rentals"

  • Liked — It was a decent location
  • Disliked — Everything but the location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBighorn, General Manager at Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Please ask to speak with the General Manager if you are unhappy with your accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bighorn Rentals - Frisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bighorn Rentals - Frisco

Address: 110 First Ave, Frisco, CO 80443
Location: United States > Colorado > Frisco
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Frisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bighorn Rentals - Frisco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Bighorn Rentals - Frisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bighorn Rentals - Frisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.