We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN University Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN University Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN University Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   914 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #10 of 29 hotels in Fort Collins
Baton Rouge, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here for an extended period of time this summer. It was clean and comfortable. They offered a hot breakfast, which was nice. The staff were polite and helpful. One great perk they offered was the use of bikes and helmets, in case you did not have a car there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    60
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
57
31
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we were pleasantly surprised; Noise level was NONE!!! it was so quite, who would have thought; we were on the ground floor of which I never stay.but it was perfect the room was very clean and roomy, no complaints on the room, Breakfast was wonderful each morning; Location was perfect, would definatley stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed in the annex part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We picked this hotel for 2 reasons. One-location to town, and two-the bike library was on site.
For those unfamiliar with FOCO, the bike library provides free bikes all over town. The hotel gave us their website, we signed out 2 bikes, got the keys and rode everywhere for 3 days.
The hotel location is excellent! Right on College Ave. it took us 10 minutes to ride to the city center. We were also very close to Colorado State University's campus which is spread out in every direction from the hotel. Check in was quick and pleasant. We were directed to our second floor room in a building clear across the parking lot. Because we had no car, I asked for a luggage trolley or help up to our room. Unfortunately, they had no cart and no-one to help us. This was tough dragging our stuff across the parking lot, up a flight of stairs, down a couple more stairs before we got to our room. Note to owner: invest in a luggage trolley, please! Corridor hallways looked worn, dark and dirty. Could use an update!
Once in our room, we found the furnishings pleasant, clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the mini fridge was a nice addition. No complaints with the shower and water pressure.
Breakfast was good!. Nice to have scrambled eggs and blueberry waffles. Front desk staff went out of their way to show us bike routes and places to eat. We liked Austin's for dinner. Also, make reservations to visit a brew pub. Besides fantastic bike routes, FOCO has craft beers and breweries. My husband loved New Belgium's tour.
Forgot to mention the nice indoor pool and hot tub. Great after riding all day.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The rooms are nothing special but the location is awesome. Our son is a CSU student and this hotel is so convenient! It is a nice walk into town and all the restaurants. The pool and hot tub are in a huge sunny area and the staff is really nice. If you are looking for luxury this is not the place but if you want a clean bed and a good hot breakfast this is the place to go. The only bummer is during CSU events, move in, parents weekend etc...they really jack the price up.

Room Tip: The back building is way better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed only one night, but would have been happy to stay longer. Our room was updated and very nice. We stayed in a suite for a very reasonable price. The location was great; only a short walk to the downtown area. Courteous staff, good service. Nice pool area.

Room Tip: We liked our suite and it was in the back building, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It used to be that you could rely on Best Western to have high quality facilities - but no more. For a motel next to a major college campus they could have done much better. I will start with the positive: they offer free bottled water, and the rooms have a large fridge with a microwave. The pillows are nice and they offer lots of them; with great towels, a full-length mirror and small safe for valuables. The desk and chair are nice. The location is great - just across the road from Colorado State University (CSU). Now the BAD: our room was supposed to be non-smoking, but as with many low-quality motels the rule is not inforced and instead they spray chemicals to try and cover it up. Don't they know it does not work? The TV is small and antiquated with a limited channel selection. The motel and the rooms feel old and in need of a major upgrade. The parking is crowded with limited manueverability. The front desk was understaffed on a busy CSU week. The carpet in the room was dirty. The room had limited electrical outlets, most behind the headboard. The window sill in the bathroom was dirty. The rooms were noisy at all hours of the night; we had to run the room air conditioner all night to try and downed out the noise. Bottom line: greatly overpiced!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWUIHotelManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN University Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm sorry you had an unpleasant stay, people who smoke in hotel rooms are so inconsiderate! In the summer we're not always able to allow our ozone machine a full 24 hours to remove the smell. We try to discourage people from smoking by tacking on an extra $200 per night if someone does smoke in the room. This allows us to put extra time and cleaning into the room and also make some refund adjustments if needed in cases where we can't get the room perfect again before the next guest comes. Please give me a call and we'll work out a credit for you. Thank you for our kind points, and I appreciate you letting us know where we can improve, we are listening. In fact 37" flat screens will be in the rooms before December and we've almost completed adding in extra outlets on the nightstands for easy access for cells phone next to the beds. Another great thing about December, it's quiet and the rates are nice and low!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The service at this Best Western exceeded our expectations. Rachael was very attentive! The room was dated, with an older A/C unit, which was critical for each night of our stay as temps were over 90 every day. We only used the breakfast service one morning, and it seemed minimal. One positive was the discount offered to CSU parents- 15% a night added up and saved us over $100 during our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of hotel better than those in back. Back bldg. has two floors with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN University Inn

Address: 914 S College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Fort Collins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Collins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN University Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cozy Best Western located in old town Fort Collins across the street from CSU's main campus. We offer free bicycle rentals for our guests through Fort Collins' bike library, please inquire at the front desk after check in. Walking distance from many restaurants, shops, nightlife & the university campus. Biking distance to Fort Collin's famous breweries, nature trails and much more. We are pet friendly in half of our rooms (additional nightly fee), and our property features a beautiful year round pool house with hot tub and fitness center. We can offer group discounts and meeting space for up to 100 people, please inquire directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western University Hotel Fort Collins
Best Western Fort Collins
Fort Collins Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.