We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Gnocci” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jax Fish House and Oyster bar

Jax Fish House and Oyster bar
123 N College Ave, Fort Collins, CO 80524-4427
+1 970-682-2275
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jax Fish House and Oyster bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 422 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mountain
Description: Voted 'Best Restaurant' at the 2011 Taste of Fort Collins, Jax Fish House is one of Old Town's most popular destinations for unforgettable food and drink. Behind the helm, Exec Chef Sheila Lucero and Chef de Cuisine Ricky Myers have created an innovative menu filled with the best, locally sourced, sustainably harvested ingredients we can find. The menu is matched by a colorful, vibrant space. Exposed brick and modern flowlighting create a comfortable yet upscale mood. The famous Jax Raw Bar greets you as you enter and features a variety of fresh oysters, clams, and chilled crabs, all flown in daily. A lively crowd chatters away at the bar while slurping oysters over sips of fruit-infused martinis. Come for happy hour, dinner, or drinks before a show, and enjoy the buzzing atmosphere, eclectic local art, and knowledgeable-friendly staff Jax exemplifies. Add in the Best Seafood in Fort Collins, and you'll be hooked!
Wyoming
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fab Gnocci”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stopped to have dinner at Jax on a whim. We were hoping to hit the dollar oysters, but got there too late (ends at 6 p.m.) after that time, the are just too pricey - some are over $3.00 each. We ordered the caesar salad and a lovely glass of "old vine" white wine from Spain - a wonderful pairing. I ordered the grilled prawns and my friend order the "grouper" which was substituted with another fish that evening. Both dishes were superb and the gnocci with the "grouper" was outstanding! The place is loud and the tables are very close together, but they are limited on space. We had a little flub with our service and one of the managers came to our table to appologize - that rarely happens! We will go back - but before 6 p.m.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    9
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“It's been a while since our last review----> Still great + + +”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

~~~
Ok, we have reviewed Jax before, we like the place. The bar, the food and the staff all make this an awesome place to eat.

I've noticed some posters here commented about the lively atmosphere of Jax, it's true! The place is fun and most of us are having fun while we eat and drink here. I will say if you're over say 75 years old, this may not be your cup of tea, it's not quiet.... all others, this place is very good. We dropped about $140 bucks here Nov 20th on a table of 4, and we dined well.
We asked for and received our favorite server Sean, although we had to ask for his table and wait a bit, well worth waiting a short few minutes.

If you go. They make a Lobster Club sandwich to die for here, if it's not on the menu, ask, or beg for it, it's very fairly priced. You may have to ask for it special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not your normal fish house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I wanted to try out Jax as we had heard good recommendations. The restaurant was loud and very small. The menu is very limited. I ordered the Salmon- It came with an over easy egg and squash that looked like baby food. Very strange.. unusual taste. My husband ordered the pork belly... lets just say he was not well for about 24 hours. The price is expensive for the atmosphere and food. Will not be back. If you like unusual food this might work for you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food and drinks are excellent, small setting though”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have gone to Jax several times and always enjoy their food. Oysters, appetizers, entrees, its all good. The space is not very large so it can be a long wait if you dont have a reservation. It is also a fun place to get a drink and an appetizer, always a good crowd in there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We took the kids and they loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We weren't sure if the kids (ages 3, 8, and 11) would appreciate an oyster bar, but it was my husband's birthday, and we had eaten here once before on date night, so we thought we'd try it out. We arrived at around 230 in the afternoon, well before any dinner rush, and found the place pleasantly open. We sat at a booth to keep the toddler somewhat contained and were immediately reminded that they have crayons on the table, AND a sheet of paper covering the entire table! This proved to be entertaining for the kids, especially our wiggly toddler. We ordered off of the bar and happy hour menu, as the dinner menu was not available yet. We had oysters (the kids tried them for the first time), crab cakes, gumbo, curry egg rolls (delicious), shrimp, and an excellent cesear salad. Dessert was to die for! WE tried 3 selections: milk chocolate cheese cake with pistachio crust, a fruit tart, and an especially wonderful key lime pie. Service was excellent. An all around awesome experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jax Fish House and Oyster bar also viewed

Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Jax Fish House and Oyster bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jax Fish House and Oyster bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.