We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't finish the meal -- chili powder overload, dry chicken” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Real

Hacienda Real
421 Centro Way, Fort Collins, CO 80524-9283
970-221-2535
Improve this listing
Ranked #108 of 421 Restaurants in Fort Collins
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't finish the meal -- chili powder overload, dry chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This restaurant won't get my business again.

My meal tasted like the beef in it had been soaked for a day in oily chili powder (until it turned a light shade of orange). The chicken in my husband's meal was so dry he could barely choked it down. Another dish at the table contained too much oil. I've had better Mexican food out of a can.

I'll grant the place is wonderfully and festively decorated, but the food and service doesn't match the decor. I asked for a refill of my water glass and waited 10 minutes for it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fort collins co
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“There is a new Yummy in Fort Collins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

When you use to exit I25 onto Hwy 14 it had very limited choices. Now there is a jewel at this exit. The appearance is supper inviting. Inside is even more spectacular with tile work and a fountain. Okay the important stuff, the food. First they bring out WARM chips and salsa with WARM bean dip. The salsa is okay, but they get extra points for the bean dip. I ordered the Arroz con Pollo. It was EXCELLENT, and very colorful with the green and red peppers.

J-Sun endorsed

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice dining option to I-25/Mulberry exit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Burger King was the former occupant of this space but you wouldn't readily recognize that fact as the makeover in to a family Mexican restaurant is complete and colorful!
Although the size of fast- food restaurant, Hacienda Real is comfortable, and has a roomier feeling than one might expect. The colors are bright, the table service is fast and friendly. Although the shredded chicken in my enchilda was not as flavorful as the chicken served at Zquila (a popular full service restaurant in Ft. Collins) the sopapillas with honey and whipped creme were a welcome treat and highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Great Mexican food and they make a kickin' margarita. The bean dip is nice addition to the usual salsa and chips. Friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Real also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Real, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.