We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sinfully delicious cocktails with jazz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Gillett's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ace Gillett's
239 S. College Ave., Fort Collins, CO 80524
970-449-4797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 465 restaurants in Fort Collins
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Not fifty feet below the historic Armstrong Hotel, Ace Gillett's celebrates a bygone era of exquisite service, timeless style, classic cocktails, and expert cuisine. Sip a handcrafted martini from our signature drink menu, or partake in that perfect pairing of wine and unforgettable fare. Your evening of revelry, live music, and familiar comfort at Ace Gillett's is the continuation of yesteryear.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sinfully delicious cocktails with jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The attention from the server and other staff was just the perfect amount for a dimly lit jazz bar. The lighting is relaxing while the "not your granpa's parlor jazz" keeps the atmostphere moving. Sinfully delicious cocktails, small plates that make it really easy to enjoy multiples and share, and an atmosphere that transports you back to a pre-smart phones time when sipping a cocktail in a dark bar was not punctuated with the glow of your neighbors cell phone. Was there on a Wednesday and the atmosphere was very relaxed, heard that weekend nights the place is pretty busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    33
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A classic Cocktail Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

So classic! Dark and moody, wonderful cocktails, great small plate appetizers and sultry jazz. We couldn't of chosen a better place to sip drinks, listen to jazz, and just relax. A young man we were talking to said it was the classiest bar in Ft. Collins and I have to agree. A perfect evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Surprise on the lower level! A real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We met friends at this bar, planning to meet there and go somewhere else. Three hours later, we left, happy to have had a GREAT time in a wonderful space. Drinks were excellent. Bartenders were professional and warm. Tapas exceeded our expectations. This sounds strange but the potato tapas were absolutely sublime. We'll return just for them! This is a real find!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“OMG - A Great Find in Fort Collins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After being on the road for over a week in the middle of the country my wife and I were looking for something different and the owner of the B&B recommended this place when we said we were interested in tapas. We almost didn't find the place as it is in the basement of a hotel in the old city. The entrance is really hidden, but the man at the front desk (and his cat Oreo) showed us how to get there from the lobby. The menu has a very wide selection of Spanish tapas ranging from Empanadas with a firey chipotle sauce to soothing Gnocchi. We ordered several, one at a time and the wait between courses was reasonable. Our waitress was extremely helpful in offering suggestions. They also had a number of nice wines by the glass. Our only regret is that we missed the jazz bands that play most nights except Monday and Tuesday. Oh well, guess we will have to stop in for just a drink and music tonight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family reunion, great drinks and lovely small plates.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The drinks, food and live jazz were spectacular!! The service was uneven and our waitress became very confused, as more people joined the open table we were at. We will definitely return to this lounge when we visit the Armstrong Hotel again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ace Gillett's also viewed

Fort Collins, CO
Fort Collins, CO
 

Been to Ace Gillett's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Gillett's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.