We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Horseback Riding - the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Safari Ranch

American Safari Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairplay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Safari Ranch
Save
You added American Safari Ranch to your Saves list
1484 County Road 7, Fairplay, CO 80440   |  
Hotel amenities
Allen, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Horseback Riding - the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

My husband, son and I looked high and low for a place to ride horses during our Spring Break vacation near Breckenridge. The American Safari Ranch offers 2 hour rides for small or large groups with breathtaking views and freedom to ride your horses side by side rather than nose to tail. Riding on the snowy hills was great fun and one of the highlights of our trip! Our guide, Adam, was knowledgable, helpful, and personable. He selected horses that were perfect for us and provided a memorable vacation outing.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    11
See reviews for
8
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This ranch was terrific! highly recommended great views great ride. Located about 25 miles from Breckenridge easy to find. Gary our guide was helpful kind and knowledgable . Everyone at the ranch was patient and willing to help. Rides are groups of 4-6 at a time, over 40 different horses if you have large group...riding is side by side open range riding , no nose to tail trail riding. 2 hour ride at 11am was perfect time! They also have atv rides that looked awesome and if ever back in the area will definitely return to this ranch. Great day really recommend this ranch you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

My friend and I took a 2 hour morning ride on a beautiful day. our guide, Andy was awesome; very knowledgeable of the horses and the terrain, friendly, personable and was an excellent guide. this is not nose to tail trail riding! Once we left the confines of the ranch, we were free to roam the hills and forests around the property. When we had rode up high enough on the hill, we could see Pikes Peak in the distance! the horses were wonderful, too. they did a pretty good job of matching our abilities to the horses. (we had rode before) and its important to get to know the horse they give you. However, the older man who met us in the office was a little abrupt and on the edge of rude, and the other rider/guide who only rode out a little ways from the fence with us was not very friendly. overall, the place did look a little dirty and run down, but it was the end of the season so I don't know if it looks better at the beginning of the season. it does look like fun for kids, and we plan to go back next summer for the rodeo.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just called to get information about the ranch. Was planning to stay overnight and do a 2 hr ride. The older man with the heavy accent and an older women were both very rude & belligerent ! I was trying to get information! Needless to say, I dint make a reservation but looked at website and read ALL the negative reviews! Soo glad I didn't book! Somebody needs to check into this place! What a way to run a business!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Such an amazing horseback riding experience! The workers were so amiable and the horses were absolutely beautiful. The ride was truely unique in that they allowed us full control of the horse. No nose-to-tail trail ride here! We had the option to "blaze our own trail" through the trees and even gallop when the terrain permitted. Yummy free lunch at the end of our ride. Awesome experience, we definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Took my wife and 6 yr old daughter out for a ride this morning. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more!! Regina was our guide. She was very friendly and helpful, especially for my daughter. The owner and staff did a nice job matching us up with horses that met our ability. While the owner is certainly direct and some mght say a bit gruff, he was also very genuine and enjoyable to speak with. We will definiely come back on future trips to the area. Only suggestion from my wife and daughter for those not staying the night would be to make a stop at the SInclair gas station in Fairplay before heading out to the ranch. They have bathrooms vs. the authentic outhouse at the ranch.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We booked our family of 9- 4 adults and 5 kids- ages 8-12, the night before. They were able to get us all booked together for the morning ride. We had a fabulous guide, who was very patient and helpful with the kid riders. The horses were beautiful and very gentle. We had a beautiful ride! It was such a great experience, one the kids will never forget!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Safari Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Safari Ranch

Address: 1484 County Road 7, Fairplay, CO 80440
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fairplay
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Safari Ranch is located in Fairplay, Colorado. Near Breckenridge, and other world known ski resorts. Plan your next family outing, company retreat, or wedding in the beautiful mountains of South Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
American Safari Ranch Hotel Fairplay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Safari Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.