We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hand Hotel Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairplay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hand Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Hand Hotel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
531 Front Street, PO Box 1059, Fairplay, CO 80440-1059   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Fairplay B&B and Inns
Denver
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

It is a nice historic hotel in the middle of town. We stayed only one night but wished for more. The front desk clerks (Mike and Richard) were fun to talk with and were knowledgeable of the area. Breakfast was very good. The rooms are old, but the as modern s we wanted them to be. The bathrooms are fully up to date.

We will return later this year for several days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I needed an inexpensive place to stay while visiting my son in Park County Colorado. The Hand Hotel ended up being my home away from home for five days & four nights. Built in the 1800's, it has retained the original charm and welcomes a tired traveler (or family) Everyone there is concerned about you, your comfort and stay. They offer a lovely breakfast each morning (included in the room price) and always have fresh coffee, tea, ice water out. Light snacks and fruit are set out as well. I stayed in the "School Marm" room and enjoyed the view off the upstairs deck overlooking the Fairplay beach. For the $64.00 per room per night, I couldn't have found a nicer little treasure.

Room Tip: Each room has it's own theme. The rooms on the back of the building have the water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the "Hand Hotel", Bed and Breakfast, in Fairplay, CO. It is a very rustic and historically oriented establishment. It is intended to make you feel like you are living in that period of time. The rooms are named after people, places and occupations. Ours was " the Outlaws", which had wood panelling, plaid bed coverings and the walls were decorated with guns and cards. We had a full size bed and a set of bunk beds. There was a good size bathroom with a shower and a rain head sprayer.
The employees went out of their was to be helpful and friendly. They continually mentioned that we should ask if we needed anything.
The breakfast was included and was quite substantial. There was cold cereal, numerous types of bread products, a variety of juices, mixed fruit, cut grapefruit, yogart, as well as egg omelets, biscuits and gravy and two types of breakfast meats. There was a large selection of hot and cold drinks.
They set out a snack at 4:00. It consisted of popcorn, homemade cookies, animal crackers and fruit. There was always hot and cold drinks available.
We found the staff very friendly and quite talkative. We learned a lot about the town and its history, and plan to return to find out more.
They also have their own gift shop with many selections.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the mountains and a small pond was just below the windows. Beautiful view with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I was in the Trapper's room and enjoyed my stay. The bathroom is newly remodeled and modern, with the bedroom itself was rustic. I stayed in November, and in the evenings a large fire was in the lobby. As others have mentioned, there is no TV (in the rooms or otherwise) - but the quietness and views are nice. The people that work there are very nice and helpful. I was there for a writer's conference, and it was great. Plan on returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The Hand Hotel is not to be missed! It's loaded with authentic Western charm from the moment you walk in from the boardwalk sidewalk--immense native rock fireplace with elk's head, a front desk that looks like it might have been the bar in a frontier saloon, comfy leather couches... There's a sun-room at the back that offers stunning views. And the rooms are all unique, each named and individually decorated with taste and charm. All have modern bathrooms and ceiling fans (when you're at 10,000 feet, that's all you need, even at high summer--open the window, turn on the fan, and breathe that Rocky Mountain air!).
But all this is just the window dressing--it's the warm Western welcome of the staff, especially Michael, Richard, and Stella, that makes the Hand so wonderful. To say nothing of the substantial breakfasts.
So there's no tv. So the wifi can be skippy. So what? Get away from the hurly-burly and talk to people. Read. Fish. Hike. Bike. Ride a horse (or a burro). Visit the South Park Museum. Ask Richard where to eat (he won't steer you wrong). Sleep deep. That's what real life is all about.

Room Tip: All are charming; Miner is at the top of the stair and might be noisy in an old wooden building. Si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great outdoor view, nice cozy room
We were in the Grandma's room (#12). The bathroom was clean too.
But the rooms do not have any TV or microwave/refrigrator
Only negetive point i have is there is no one to respond take your calls after 8PM...there was no one to provide us with the wifi access pwds...so you might want to get everything you need as soon as you check in.

Grandma (the owner i guess) was a very sweet lady...they have a very hearty breakfast buffet, with lots of options & fresh fruits....the food was cooked well too.
But this place is far from Mount Evans (google gave us the wrong directions from Fairplay to Mt Evans summit).
So you might want to checkout other options if you are on way to Mount Evans.

But all said, Hand Hotel is awesome in itself

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

There are positives at this hotel but the negative of the poor customer service outweighs those. On the plus side, the hotel is quaint, very clean and the bathrooms were surprisingly modern. Our room was fairly small; I wouldn't have wanted to stay more than a night or two as there was nowhere to put suitcases and almost nowhere to hang clothing.

What was the big negative was the uncaring attitude of the manager. When we booked, we asked about the breakfast as we knew we would be leaving early for a big hike. The staff person told us that breakfast was at 7am but to inquire when we arrived if it would be possible to get it earlier. Even if that were not possible, the staff person said they could put some food in the refrigerator for us so we would have at least something. Relying upon this promise, we booked the room.

When we arrived we were told that there would be no way to get breakfast early nor would they put any food in the refrigerator for us. They said this was not their policy and had not been for 11 years. They did not understand why the staff person told us this. When we said that we understood that this might be their policy but we relied on the promise of the staff person. We asked that since we had been promised this, could they at least reduce our rate since we would not be eating any of the food. The manager said he would not do this and if we weren't happy, we could seek accommodations elsewhere.

What was most disturbing was that sort of attitude & not being willing to take responsibility for what their staff member had promised us. We were not asking them to change their policy just to suit us, but to accept that the staff member had given us information upon which we had relied when booking. The manager was not even willing to meet us halfway -- it was a "take it or leave it" attitude that demonstrates that customer service is not something they really care about if it means they have to make concessions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hand Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 531 Front Street, PO Box 1059, Fairplay, CO 80440-1059
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hand Hotel Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.