We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairplay Hotel

The Fairplay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairplay Hotel to your Saves list
The Fairplay Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   500 Main Street, Fairplay, CO 80440 (Formerly Fairplay-Valiton Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Fairplay B&B and Inns
Rocky Mountain High
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is no customer service , not even anyone around. When we arrived there was a tray of keys with notes attached. “Take yours.” Advertised as a Bed & Breakfast but there is no breakfast. A sign says 8:00 but no one is around. We understand “quaint” but what we got was run down. Electricity in the room – yeah one outlet worked. Could we complain – sure, but no one was there to listen. We wrote to the owner asking if there were mitigating factors. Never even received acknowledgment. Bad deal not even cheap.

Room Tip: Room in the front of the hotel provide a nice view of Fairplay, but be prepared for the traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This "haunted" hotel is a great affordable place to stay, and the staff is very accomodating. We had a nice clean room, great drinks at the bar, and a nice breakfast. Thanks Constance, and everyone there for a great stay!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed, so if you're allergic, make sure to ask for one that doesn't allow pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I booked a night at Fairplay Valiton based on reviews and limited availability of hotel sites. When I arrived, there was not anyone present at the desk but there was a sign pointing me to the bar. David was extremely helpful serving as the bartender, desk clerk, and all things necessary. They did not have my reservation but he found a room as the place was deserted. My room was EXTREMELY dated with the worst mattress and pillows I've ever had. The room was hot with no ventilation. After a sleepless night, I wandered out to find coffee...breakfast...someone to say hello to. NOTHING!!! Everything was dark and deserted. It seemed I was the only person in the place and that was almost 8:00 in the morning. And for that... I paid $141 for the night, though I did not receive a receipt. Never again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a great experience! Staff was great, rooms are charming and the whole experience was great! Will definitely be a repeat customer!!! We stayed for one night, had some drinks in the bar (great bartender) had breakfast in the morning (fantastic food).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just left the Valiton, we had a very nice stay, rooms were clean, beds were extremely comfortable. Bathroom was newly renovated. We eat breakfast in the hotel restaurant, very was very good and professional and tended to our needs. I will definitely stay at this hotel again when II'm in the area. Owner was there to great guests and was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meeker
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is a older hotel in Fairplay Colorado, Rooms are smaller but Okay, Bathrooms are newer however still small. When getting ready to check out I did a Quick look around and found a sock that was not ours!!!
They are pet friendly.
For the Price at 100.00 a night I will look to stay some where else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Located downtown historic Fairplay, Colorado is the Fairplay-Valiton Hotel offers somewhat rustic accommodations in an interesting area. Rooms are clean and comfortable. WiFi internet access is included at no additional cost.
When, one evening, I inquired regarding dinner, the owner suggested a nearby restaurant which was great.
Recommended.

Room Tip: My room faced the street, which was fine. Traffic was light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairplay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairplay Hotel

Address: 500 Main Street, Fairplay, CO 80440 (Formerly Fairplay-Valiton Hotel)
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fairplay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairplay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairplay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.