We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Riverside Inn

A Riverside Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Riverside Inn to your Saves list
A Riverside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Highway 285, Fairplay, CO 80440   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairplay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Very happy with the room. The breakfast was basic but did have bananas and fresh peaches. Would stay again as its a great location for hiking. It's on the highway but traffic noise wasn't bad.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    16
    4
    15
See reviews for
29
13
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

There may be another hotel in town but we came in at night and did not see one. I called to see if they had a room and the gentleman on the phone said that he did and was quoted a price of $119.00 AARP discount which i thought was a little steep but did not want to drive any further so we decided to take the room. Upon arrival a young lady had to be summoned by the bell at the desk. (about 10:30 pm). She said it would be $129.00 AARP rate, and i explained my conversation with the man on the phone about the other price i was quoted just 5 min. earlier. She gave me the quoted price.Although pleasant, She seemed a little confused but i think that is because English seemed to be her second language. Breakfast was not that great but did the job. Room was nice and clean. Spacious, but for no pool, the inconsistency on price, and the sub par breakfast, I thought it was a little overpriced.

Room Tip: If you want to save a few bucks and can make it drive on to Salida
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Checkin: Took awhile to checkin. The person at the desk appeared to be new and she had an accent that I had trouble understanding.

Room: Very roomy and clean. The phone message light kept blinking but there were no messages.

Bed: King size bed was comfortable with decent linens.

Bathroom: Clean. Nice nickel satin fixtures. The toilet is oddly located, taking away from accessing part of the bathroom counter.

Breakfast: Typical loaded carbohydrate breakfast with cereal, toast, danish, muffins, juice and weak coffee.

View: We requested upper room with view of mountains and were not disappointed.

Noise: I don't recall hearing anything so that's a plus!

Overall, if I were in the area again I would stay here again. It's nothing spectacular but adequate.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Our nephew originally checked in to a handicap room at another hotel. It turned out to be a joke ( not funny) and the Riverside staff accommodated him and other family members who were also traveling. We cant thank you enough for the nice stay.

Room Tip: Check this hotel first before looking at others that promise and don't deliver
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Kicked out due to argument over quoted $99 room and when I arrived it was actually $120. Verify cost before you get off the phone cause the person on the phone might not know what they are talking about.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

For a small town hotel in the mountains it was very nice!

Rooms seems to be updated, good beds and overall clean. Nice and comfortable stay.
Overall very good, would recommend.

Down the street they have the best breakfast at the bowling alley!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We are traveling cross country on our bicycles. This hotel was a nice location for us to take a rest day. You are within walking distance of several restaurants and town. The hotel is clean. The A/C works well although the one in our room(119) had an off and on rattle which was annoying at night when we were trying to sleep. The water pressure in the shower was good. The small wide screen tv worked well with a limited number of channels. The beds were comfortable. They have guest laundry that is on the high side at $2.25/load. The wifi wasn't the best. The continental breakfast was adequate but not what I would call "deluxe". They had cold cereal, mini bagels, etcetera. The coffee was extremely weak and not very hot. We like weak coffee but this coffee was exceptionally weak. No hot items. We would have gone to the local cafe for breakfast if they had been open. The hours for the local businesses are what I would call erratic. Don't count on businesses to adhere to their posted hours. Call them before you go. Overall this hotel is nice but a little overpriced at $99.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Riverside Inn

Address: 249 Highway 285, Fairplay, CO 80440
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Riverside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel located in Fairplay, Colorado. Only 1.5 hours from Denver, 20 miles from Breckenridge. Free deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and jacuzzi hot tub. Enjoy the beautiful mountains, and on site fishing. Groups of all sizes welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your A Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Riverside Hotel Fairplay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.