We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small town feeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Riverside Inn

A Riverside Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Riverside Inn to your Saves list
A Riverside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Highway 285, Fairplay, CO 80440   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairplay
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“small town feeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Riverside Inn has a great small town vibe. We're used to staying at much larger hotels located in cities, or downtown. It was a refreshing change to get a decent nights sleep in a peaceful town. This was a relatively newer hotel, and the service was nice.
The only downside was that the local restaurants that serve food, close quite early. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    15
    16
    4
    15
See reviews for
29
13
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We travel all over Colorado and have stayed many places. This is by far the worst experience we have had in a long time. The staff disappeared, the bathroom was in terrible condition, and breakfast was a joke. There are several better options in Fairplay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great location, I've stayed there before. Easy access to Breckenridge and Gold Medal fishing. Had a great weekend. As usual, rooms were spotless. Breakfast is great, lots of easy options. The staff was was very helpful in providing information about the area and when we had car trouble, they were great in finding us help that was affordable and fast so that we were able to get home when we needed to. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

During our short stay at the Riverside Inn, my son and I had a relaxing night. Having to wake up early around 4am, to go hunting the hotel was quiet, even though the rooms were sold out. Breakfast didn't start until 6am , however we remembered to pack a not so healthy breakfast in the refrigerators provided in the rooms. Compared to the other hotels in the area, we were pleased.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our Family had a positive experience at the Riverside Inn Hotel. We travel from Fort Collins, to climb the local 14ers. This trip was made easier to stay the night before, close to Mt. Sherman. Only about 15 minutes from town to the trail head.

Room Tip: Request the rooms upstairs facing the mountains for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here with my family for the weekend and was pleasantly surprised by the charming atmosphere. The lobby is very homey and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The kids loved the indoor pool and hot tub since it was cold and snowy outside. It was also great that there were restaurants (Chinese and Subway) and a grocery store within walking distance. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I two nights at the Riverside Inn. the rooms, lobby, and grounds are clean and well kept. The furnishings are acceptable, and middle of the road. I did not try to breakfast, because I left too early each day. The pool and hot tub work, but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Riverside Inn

Address: 249 Highway 285, Fairplay, CO 80440
Location: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A Riverside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel located in Fairplay, Colorado. Only 1.5 hours from Denver, 20 miles from Breckenridge. Free deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and jacuzzi hot tub. Enjoy the beautiful mountains, and on site fishing. Groups of all sizes welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your A Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Riverside Hotel Fairplay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.