We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Forest Inn and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Forest Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Brook Forest Inn and Spa
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8136 S Brook Forest Road, Evergreen, CO 80439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Evergreen B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a night here sometime ago while visiting town for a wedding. The website painted it as a quaint sort of b&b, but only upon checking in were we told that there would be a rock band playing and "they do not give refunds for noise complaints." Clearly a recurring problem.
Well... the band sounded like they were playing inside the room until after 2am. Drunk kids were roaming the halls and trying to get into rooms (actually kind of scary). Screaming and yelling until closer to 3am. It was a terrible night. In the morning we received no sympathy and then were offered a discount on our next stay.
Don't ever stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    0
    5
    12
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a night here while traveling across country & visiting relatives in Evergreen. What a pleasant place to stay. The staff was very friendly & helpful in offering a phone to make nationwide calls since cell phone use is limited. Having a bar & restaurant within the building was also a plus. The setup is more like a bed & breakfast - all rooms are different with a range of prices. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had our office Christmas party at the Brook Forest Inn. It was great. The rooms are beautiful and the food was phenomenal. Laurie went above and beyond to help me plan this party and really came up with some great ideas. She made it so easy. I will be going back for dinner and perhaps a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow. The pillows are quite pokey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed here because all other places were booked in Evergreen. It is on a long, windy road outside of town and takes about 15 minutes to get there. It is definitely historic, with period furniture and dark and heavy decor. There is a restaurant area, large, old-fashioned bar [think The Shining], and various seating areas inside and around the building near the creek. Each room is different in this three floor Inn, and priced according to size, amenities, etc.... All very clean. The staff was outgoing, friendly, and very helpful, giving us information about local hikes, restaurants, and the history of the Inn. They helped us get a taxi ride into town when we inquired about this service. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were good. Continental breakfast in average and the regular fare.
Overall, we were glad that we stayed here for the experience, as it is certainly unique, but would be unlikely to stay here again due to the location and lack of cell service. There was an odd and creepy feeling to the place in general, and our taxi driver and various locals later told us the Inn has a reputation [truth or legend] for being haunted.

Room Tip: get a room on the upper floor, as the floors are creaky. However, be aware that supposedly that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazenovia, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were booked to stay for 7 days and after traveling from the east for an exhausting 26 hours found the inn closed. We had starting phoning earlier in the day leaving messages on the answering machine to announce our arrival but received no response. Finally driving out the long, winding road thinking there must be a note on the door telling us who to contact or an emergency number....found nothing. Being strangers to the area it was difficult to know where to find alternative shelter for the night. Upon our arrival the next day there was barely acknowledgement of the miscommunication that had occurred, much less an offer to either upgrade our room or offer a complementary meal, etc. It wasn't a very welcoming or positive beginning to our stay at the Brook Forest. After that numerous smaller problems arose that made the stay quite uncomfortable. The staff seem to be sincerely interested in making the place work but do not have a clue about hotel management. We were told that WIFI would be available but there was
no coordination of office keys to make it available when we asked. Cell phone signal did not exist and the staff told us there would be cordless phones on the main desk. They were not as available as were lead to believe. It made the stay feel quite isolating as we were in the area for a family wedding and needed to be in touch with family staying in other areas. It's too bad because the place could be updated and, with good management, be a delightful place to stay. We kept feeling like we were on a sinking ship....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was very relaxing and the staff was excellent in accomadating our needs.

The Bar was very nice, had a great atmosphere. The food was very good. Their Brick Cooked Pizza had a great flavor. This Pizza was one of the best tasting pizzas I have ever had, however the crust was very doughy and not cooked very well. If the crust was cooked better this Pizza would have been the best ever.
The beds were very comfortable, the overall experience was very good here & I would definately stay here again.
Great place for a getaway for any locals as well. If we lived in Colorado I would definately want to come here for a weekend stay occasionally.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basalt, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We've stayed at the Brook Forest Inn several times after Red Rocks concerts, the most recent being July 2011. If you're looking for an out-of-the-way, rustic & unusual place to stay, this would be fine but it doesn't work well if you're checking in late after a concert. The road is pitch black at night & the Inn is hard to find. It's not set up well for guests arriving late - you need a flashlight to get from the small parking area to the front door. Most times, we've wandered around in the dark, unable to tell where the entrance is, then walked into a bar full of rowdy locals who stare at us like they can't figure out what we're doing there. Our last visit was an improvement as there was a sign marking the entry & a note left on the door with a key. The stairs are narrow & creak when you walk up, rooms are small & the walls are thin so it's not very private. The rooms have always been clean with nice decor, but it's an old property so bathrooms are small & often tucked away in corners with slanted ceilings, etc. During our first stay in 2010, there was quite a bit of literature & old pictures on the wall, describing the fascinating history of the Inn. That was all gone on our last visit & when I asked about it, the front desk clerk said it had all been fabricated. That was disappointing because the history was what made it interesting. There is a lovely deck on the backside that overlooks the creek, a nice, sunny place to eat breakfast (if the deck is open). It's been different every time we've stayed & the place usually feels very odd & empty. There is a beautiful large dining room with a great fireplace that sits empty & completely unfurnished. The deck, which is the best feature of the Inn, is sometimes open & decorated with lovely flowers & inviting chairs & tables, but other times closed off & vacant. The food has always been good & the presentation is nice. I seldom see other guests & usually leave feeling like its been a very odd experience. I don't think I'd stay there again as it seems overpriced for such an old & vacant facility. There are nicer Cabins & Inns closer to town at better prices for those looking for a place to stay after a Red Rocks concert. In reading some of the other reviews, I'm surprised because it doesn't sound like the same place, perhaps its been upgraded recently or an entirely different experience when booked by a group for a wedding or event.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brook Forest Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Forest Inn and Spa

Address: 8136 S Brook Forest Road, Evergreen, CO 80439
Location: United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Evergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brook Forest Inn and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Forest Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Forest Hotel Evergreen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Forest Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.