We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience in Evergreen, Colorado!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bauers Spruce Island Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Evergreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bauers Spruce Island Chalets
5937 S Brook Forest Rd, Evergreen, CO 80439   |  
Hotel amenities
Chunky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Wonderful Experience in Evergreen, Colorado!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in Evergreen recently for a wedding. We stayed at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, and could not have been more pleased with our experience! The staff was very accomodating, the chalet was everything and more that we could have wished for, and the beauty of the grounds and wildlife was truly amazing. We had a beautiful baby deer 4 feet from our chalet everyday eating greenery and did not seem to be afraid of us at all! My husband and myself highly reccomend Bauers and we hope to have the pleasure of returning agian one day soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aspen chalet and it fit our needs. One king size bed, a daybed, and a trundle bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate your sharing your experience with potential guests. We are so happy that you enjoyed not only your stay at Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets but the entire Evergreen experience. We love to share our Little Bit of Heaven.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with two other couples, so there were six adults total. The common spaces were great, and the kitchen was well equipped to handle cooking meals for the weekend. We spent time playing volleyball and washers in the large grassy area common to all the chalets. We cooked steaks on the charcoal grill one evening. Lots of deer came through the property, which is located next to a creek. The only thing lacking were a few basic kitchen essentials, such as salt/pepper and paper towels. There are some minor faucet issues, but nothing that prevented from an enjoyable weekend. We'll be back next year!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate your providing a review of Bauer's Spruce Island Chalets to give potential guests a feel for what to expect. Seeing groups such as yours enjoying all our facility has to offer is one of the rewards of continuing to provide lodging opportunities in Evergreen. Your comments have been recognized. I hadn't thought about it but it does seem a logical thing to provide salt and pepper, which are now provided.

We hope to see you for your annual get together next year.

Sue Retterer, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The laundry facility for all cabins (used by owner only) was attached to our cabin. Our one bathroom shared the wall with the laundry room - at 8:00 a.m. a family member took a shower and noticed a decrease of water pressure. The owner began washing laundry and couldn't help but hear our shower running on the other side of wall. Five other family members needed to take showers that morning; however, couldn't - the hot water had run out; same hot water heater was used for both cabin and laundry. Tacks from carpet popped out; dirty floors; stains on carpet; broken glass in windows; mold, leaves, dirt in windows; dirty drapery; hairs in bed linens; marks, holes on walls; broken futon. Open trash containers 20 ft from cabin. Will never go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have a reunion every two years. Our family was overwhelmed by the amount of wildlife that just walked through the property. We had plenty of room to spread out, and were very pleased with the accomodations, from cabins to studios, we had rented everything. This reunion was a year in the planning stage and no matter what the questions were given excellent advise and help.
Thank you for making our reunion one to remember. Rogers Clan

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were early for our check-in but they were just finishing cleaning our cabin. The manager had said that it would be about 10 minutes. He told us about a couple of places to grab a bite. Upon entering the room everything was very clean. After reading a previous review I wasn't expecting it to be that clean. My family really enjoyed the grounds. My 2 year old had a bunch of fun on the jungle gym. I would highly recommend Bauers to anyone looking for a nice clean quiet mountain getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

At first glance, everything looked clean... However, the side of the wash basin hadn't been cleaned, neither had the exterior of the refrigerator. The dirty ice cube trays and the condition of the sink meant that I wasn't going to eat from their dishes or use their tableware. I was compelled to go out to the car to get my own pillow and sleeping bag, plus flip flops to wear in the shower. All this for $150 per night.

Room Tip: I would suggest finding a good room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSICHALETSEVERGREEN, Owner at Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
I am sorry one of our guests found the accommodations less than expected. Unfortunately she chose to write a review on Trip Advisor rather than let us know. We would have happily found alternative accommations had she let us know of her concerns. She left without even talking with us. We were available on site during her entire stay. All guests are encouraged to let us know if there is anything we can do to make their stay with us more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here to get away from the southern heat and to enjoy the clean mountain air. We enjoyed being close to the wildlife that is all so close. We saw elk, rabbits and fox. The cabins are nice and clean, and the location was great, as it was a short drive to downtown Evergreen. Our unit had a fireplace, which was great for the cool evenings. Friendly owner who was very accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bauers Spruce Island Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauers Spruce Island Chalets

Address: 5937 S Brook Forest Rd, Evergreen, CO 80439
Location: United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty lodging in Evergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned resort offering accommodations for 2 to 10 people in our studio, one-bedroom, three-bedroom, and four-bedroom chalets and cottages. Fully furnished and equipped kitchens offer vacation rentals for groups of up to 40 in the Evergreen, Colorado area of the Rocky Mountains, 25 miles west of Denver.Our playground for the kids, large lawn for volleyball, badminton, etc., the picnic tables and grills, elk and deer visitors, and the pond and creek for fishing provide a fun vacation without leaving the property. But you'll also want to explore the wonderful Rocky Mountains surrounding Evergreen.Evergreen provides cultural activities such as art shows and musical presentations throughout the year. And we're only a short drive to Red Rocks Amphitheater and Bandimere Speedway as well as world class skiing, snowshoeing and rafting. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bauers Spruce Island Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bauers Spruce Island Chalets to your Saves list