We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodations for business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center to your Saves list
The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   6380 South Boston Street, Englewood, CO 80111 (Formerly Boston Commons Corporate Housing)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodations for business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Comfortable room and bed. Good breakfast included. Good value pricing. Good location near Denver Tech Center.

Room Tip: Buildings are 3-story and no elevator, so you need to ask for a 1st floor if you don't want to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    11
    5
    13
See reviews for
17
16
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has excellent customer service and LOVE the rooms service they provide at this hotel. I would stay with my family again here. Would recommend to anyone that wants to stay in a comfortable hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We had a late check in the night we stayed with no issues. It was a little tricky finding the building we were in at night. Bed was comfortable, room basic. Quiet and great location. Great breakfast! Staff was helpful during the stay. After we checked out my son realized he had left his stuffed animal. I have called multiple times trying to find it with no results, only an answer of a call back after checking with housekeeping. That would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of stairs so if that is an issue make sure to request a bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, IL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I REALLY want to be able to recommend Boston Commons, and I can – with reservation. My wife and I have been traveling to Denver several times a year since our daughter moved there 6 years ago. We’ve stayed in Boston Commons at least 6 times – almost always in Building 2, third floor. So our experience is limited to that area and, of course, the ‘common’ areas. So here’s the good, bad and the ugly;

GOOD: Price. If you get the ‘corporate rate’, you can get a 1 BR apartment (not a suite, but an apartment, with full size kitchen and living area) for $20-$30 less per night than any extended stay or suite hotel we’ve seen in the Denver area. This is what attracted us and kept us coming back. One time we stayed in a “standard” room. This is essentially the second bedroom of the apartment with a bath. So, if you’ve got several people, you can rent a 2 BR apartment and share the kitchen and living room.
Location: The Englewood area is near the Denver Tech Center, shopping, restaurants, etc, with easy access to I25 and C470 West.
Good bed. Just the right firmness for us, and relatively little movement transfer. Queen size only.
Washer and Dryer in the apartment!! No extra charge for use.
Nice Kitchen: full size stove/oven and fridge. Decently outfitted with cooking and eating utensils.
Other stuff: Gas fireplace adds a really nice touch on a cold night. These apartments were built in the late 70s or early 80s and the bath and kitchen look like it. No updates to the cabinets or fixtures, but they worked fine. Reasonably well-cleaned (but see below) by the maid staff. The workout center consists of one bike, one treadmill, one weight machine. Breakfast is OK – usual fare, with something hot each morning (sausage/eggs or bacon) and cut-up fruit. Nice dining area on the second floor.

BAD: No maid service on weekends. If you’re planning a weekend retreat here, don’t.
No breakfast on Sundays. This is OK by us, since we feel Sunday is a day of rest and worship, but just info for you, the reader. Be prepared to fix your own.
The Commons are beginning to show their age, but while we were there, painters were painting and caulking the outside, so I’m sure that will help. Still, the carpets are stained in spots and chips and wear spots are evident in the Formica counter tops.
Noise. About twice a week, the trash collectors provide you a free wakeup call – at about 5:30 or 6 in the morning. Not bad if you’re working, but if this is a vacation, you’re likely gonna be as peeved as we were. The separation between a one-BR apt and the ‘standard’ room next door is just that – a door. So there’s considerable noise transfer from your neighbors. If they’re particularly amorous (as ours were one visit), the (ahem) sounds of love and the headboard banging against the wall will likely keep you awake.
Since we always stayed on the highest floor, I can't comment on floor-conducted noise.
This complex was evidently built before ADA compliance was required – there are no elevators, but you can definitely get your exercise walking up the steps. (A little difficult the first few days as you get used to the elevation, if you’re a flatlander.)

UGLY: The “business center”. The ONLY computer is (no kidding) at least 10 years old. Remember floppy disks? This computer has a floppy drive. USB port is broken. It is PAINFULLY slow. Printer was out of toner when we were there and the desk clerk told us “just shake it, maybe you can get a page or 2 out of it”. Thanks for the help! :-{ No wireless connection to the printer, so if you want a print something from your room, forget it. The wireless internet provided for the rooms/apartments is decent – but intermittent.
Odor: Previous and current patrons are from the India/Pakistan area, and, with all due respect to our eastern Asian friends, they love spicy, aromatic food with lots of curry. It is almost impossible to get that odor out of the drapes and furnishings, and while it certainly wasn’t overpowering, I awoke to a sinus issue every morning.
Furnace ducts need to be cleaned. See photos. The cold air intake was covered with dust. A dusty odor was present when we walked into the apartment.


So the bottom line is that Boston Commons (aka The Commons) provides a very good value if you’re looking for enough space and can deal with the inconveniences listed above. I hope this review was helpful in your selection of a place to stay near DTC.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs, choose a 3rd floor unit. We were once told by the desk clerk that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great location near a major highway, convenient to most tourist destinations in the Denver area, located in a residential area so it felt very safe, also close to restaurants/shops, only drawback was there was no elevator and we had a 3rd floor room, it was nice not to have to enter through a hotel lobby you could just go straight to your room (apartment style), very convenient to have a mini-fridge and microwave in room also

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Love this place! We ended up with a massive 2 bedroom 2 bath "apartment" for about $85/night. Full kitchen (microwave, stove, full sized fridge, dishwasher) & washer/dryer. Front desk staff is very friendly & helpful. Free breakfast, free happy hour in the evenings, very close to i25. Fitness center isn't really adequate but there are great sidewalks for running right outside.

Not terribly close to downtown, but getting around Denver wasn't difficult. Would rather drive a bit to get to things and have this huge room in a nice, safe, easy to get to location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Commons in Englewood, we had the one bedroom apartment, clean and ok rooms, great with the pool and good breakfast and the service from the staff was really good. Great value for the money.

Fam. Winqvist

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center

Address: 6380 South Boston Street, Englewood, CO 80111 (Formerly Boston Commons Corporate Housing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Englewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Englewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE COMMONS HOTEL & SUITES – DENVER TECH CENTER is a unique short term and extended stay hotel. Located in the heart of the Denver Tech Center and Greenwood Village Colorado. We Offer a range of room types and services to customize your stay with us. For extended stays, we offer a One-Bedroom and Two-Bedroom Suites with fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces, balconies, in-room stackable washer and dryers, and a separate bedroom for the main living space. Our Standard King Guestrooms recently renovated in 2013, are equipped with a mini refrigerators and microwaves. All of our rooms onsite offer complimentary daily hot breakfast, WIFI, and free local and long distance phone calls, business center, and local transportation. We are a wonderful place for nightly stays, corporate and business travel, relocations, holidays, weekend getaways, sports venues, and reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Commons Corporate Housing Hotel Englewood
Boston Commons Corporate Housing Englewood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Commons Hotel & Suites - Denver Tech Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.