We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky tasting and dinning room in an old monastary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beer Brewery de Koningshoeven

Beer Brewery de Koningshoeven
Eindhovenseweg 3, 5056 RP Berkel-Enschot, The Netherlands
+31 (0)13 535 81 47
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Funky tasting and dinning room in an old monastary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

La Trappe makes for a great lunch/afternoon a short bike ride into the country from downtown Tilburg. You can only go through a relatively small portion of the monastery even if you go on the tour, but what you go through is quite pretty and the location outside of the city and surrounded by farms is charming. First, the tour of the brewery. This is a good time, although the English tour is fairly minimal (you get a summary in English after the Dutch version of the tour). That said, the guide is a nice and funny, and you get to wander around the brewery a bit, so it is probably worth the time.

Now on to the beer and food. I really like the building that the restaurant is in, they built a new tasting room recently, and the style is modern, but with a thatched roof. It works well and makes for a cozy but open venue, in the winter with the fire burning I really enjoy lunch here. In the summer there is lots of outdoor seating in the gardens. You can get La Trappe beers in the tasting room that are generally not available in the stores (the double and triple ales are the most widely available). On top of this the food is quite good, surprisingly good for a Dutch restaurant. The story is that most of the food is organic and local, including the cows. Even the burgers are worth ordering. All-in-all, this is one of the places I take out of town visitors, a recommended spot in Tilburg, maybe even worth stopping in Tilburg for.

Visited May 2013
Thank laetulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beer in Beautiful Glasses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It must have been some time ago when I last visited this great place, but living close to the abbey it will certainly not be long before I go back again. The atmosphere is very nice and quiet around the abbey, so going by bike from Tilburg is definitely recommended for tourists who'd like to stay in Brabant for a few days. The tour was very informative and afterwards I took part in a beer tasting with some friends. Nothing excessive, just a couple of small glasses to get a feel for the different flavors. The beers are strong and tasty enough to let you go home in a content manner.

Visited September 2012
Thank Frans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Taste the only beer made in Holland that can call itself Trappist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Next to the monastery there is plenty of space outside in the garden in the sun or in the shadow of trees to enjoy the only beer made in Holland that is allowed to call itself Trappist. Plenty of different styles you can try, although to much too try in one afternoon :)
Next to this you can get also a tour through the factory where the beer is made.
Great place to have a final stop when you have been biking through the beautiful forest and country sides that are on the east side of Tilburg.

Visited August 2012
Thank BeroX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I've lost count”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been to the Koningshoeven at least 4 times -for tours with friends/family/foreign guests- and I always enjoyed myself. The tour was different every time and it's just a nice activity.

Question though: Would it be smart to have a designated guide who can do tours in English? I brought foreign people a few times.. Once our guide tried to translate -and made it worse, so I translated for him instead- and another time my friend just got a piece of paper with the text of the tour in English -which was not the same story that the guide told us in Dutch- :)

Visited August 2012
Thank SusyQGlencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unique tour of a trappist brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Many of the trappist breweries do not allow visitors, but this brewery does offer a nice tour. It starts with a video and then they offer a full glass of beer of your choice. After your beer, you're taken on a nice tour of the working brewery. Our tour guide (believe her name is Anita) was very nice and answers all of our questions. This is a unique brewery tour that you should consider if you have a car and traveling around the southern part of Netherlands.

Visited April 2013
Thank CL_011610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Brewery de Koningshoeven also viewed

Tilburg, North Brabant Province
Overloon, North Brabant Province
Eindhoven, North Brabant Province
Den Bosch, North Brabant Province

Been to Beer Brewery de Koningshoeven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing