We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to be a fantastic coffee stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Coffee

Columbus Coffee
345 Dominion Road, Mount Eden, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Mount Eden
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mount Eden, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Continues to be a fantastic coffee stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I live nearby in Mt Eden and pop in often for a quick coffee on the go or bring family & friends for a great brunch.

When in a hurry while shopping in busy Dominion Road I usually ask for a specially tailor-made "Fat White" : that is a "Flat White" coffee made with full strength (red-top) cream instead of milk!

[This is because at the "Low Carbz" conference in Auckland this summer I was educated about the Low Carb High Fat (LCHF) Ketogenic diet and have lost 6 kg!]

They don't charge me extra for the extra effort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great coffee and scrummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have visited this coffee shop a few times now. Coffee is always great, and the food, mains and cakes are really good. Service with a smile too, bonus. Go there if you're out around Mt Eden, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No Ordinary Coffee Shop in Mt Eden ,Auckland NZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Doing business in Mt Eden i felt it was time for a Coffee.In 345 Dominion Road Mt Eden Columbus Coffee shop looked like a place to try . I walked in and was greeted by a loverly smile and greeting, I said do you make coffees here .After a very pleasant chat I was offered a new Coffee just put on the menu that day, Whilst I have forgotten the name of the coffee it was unreal .....Like a whole bar of chocalate had been melted into a cup which a spoon could nearly stand up in I would HIGHLY RECOMENDED anyone wanting a different Coffee Experence to go To Columbus Coffee @ 345 Dominion Road , Mt Eden .Try the food thats Great as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Welcome back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

What an improvement from the previous operators, good food and coffee with great service means this place is back in my places to frequent list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place To Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have come here several times... Each time NO nasty suprises.

I had the worst orange juice in my life, though. It was bitter/sour, with bad after taste. I thought it was just mine so swapped with my partner, and yuck! We ended up putting 3 sugars in it, and it was still bad, We had to leave them.....

Coffee brilliant, warm, good atmosphere, great seating, great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbus Coffee also viewed

Mount Eden, Auckland Region
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
 
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
 

Been to Columbus Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.