We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location but bad service and dated hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge & Spa at Cordillera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge & Spa at Cordillera to your Saves list
Lodge & Spa at Cordillera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2205 Cordillera Way, Edwards, CO 81632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Edwards
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Spectacular location but bad service and dated hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I am picking an "average" rating because of how beautiful the surroundings are at The Lodge and Spa and Cordillera, but our experience there was not good. We had called well in advance to request a 2PM check-in (just in case it was not ready by then) so we could check in our room in time for my husband to make his tee time at their golf course. The woman was nice enough on the phone and I realize it is not guaranteed but when we arrived at 2, we were told it would not be ready till 4. We brought our 5 month old baby with us, so checking in on my own while my husband was golfing was out of the question. When we told Sally at the front desk, she looked quite annoyed, overwhelmed and it took a half hour (no exaggeration) to switch us to a new room. We finally got to our room, which was a suite, and realized it was two elevators from the lobby. You go up to the 3rd floor, walk all the way to the end, and then down to the first floor and all the way to the end. Not a problem usually and the view was spectacular, but we had a carriage and the elevators were small (only carriage and one person could fit in there) and it did not make sense with a baby. So I called back Sally to ask if we could change rooms. I was told that the block we were in were the only suites, so I said we would pay more $ and get a different room (although the suite is the top end so not sure what that would be). We were then told that all the available rooms were dirty and would not be cleaned that day because they only clean rooms that have been booked. Really? A guest at your hotel is offering to pay more and asking to move rooms and you tell them that the dirty hotel rooms can't be cleaned? That's a ridiculous thing to tell people- I think they have a problem with their cleaning crew and the front desk people, otherwise the whole place falls apart in the off season. She told us the hotel was full that night and that was why we couldn't check in until 4, but then the place was completely empty the whole time we were there and it clearly wasn't full if all those dirty rooms were sitting. Bad service all around
Other than that, the hotel really needs a facelift- it's definitely clean but the elevators, hallways, common areas, and tvs are old and need repair/upkeep. The pool area is beautiful and if you just want to sit by the pool all day with stunning views, this is your place.
Be aware that it is a good 15 minute drive off I-70 and up a very winding road. The golf courses are amazing but also quite a distance from the hotel and they do not have a shuttle. My husband said they are well worth it. The Summit course is a 20 minute drive from the lodge and on top of a mountain.
There is not much in the way of food/drink once you get to the lodge. Grouse on the Green is their English type pub across the street and it also has beautiful views. Typical pub fare but very expensive because once they have you up there I guess they realize there are not many other choices. We had a couple of drinks at the hotel bar at night... there isn't really much of one. You can get a drink and go sit on the couches though.
Overall, I cannot recommend. For that price you can get a nice place in Beaver Creek or Vail

Room Tip: 1st floor allows you to walk out onto the grass and to the pool. Upper floors have slightly better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Although we are happy to hear you found the surroundings here at The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera beautiful, especially our pool area, we are very disappointed to read your review this morning and learn that our hotel did not meet all of your expectations. We wish nothing more than for all of our guests to leave our resort with a wonderful memorable experience. We would like to apologize for any confusion you may have experienced during your check- in process. Normal check- in time is 4:00 p.m. and although we cannot guarantee any room or location, we make every effort to grant special requests. Due to the fact that you were in a strict timeline for your husband’s golf game, we believe that our front desk staff was only trying to get you settled into a room that was readily available at the time. Our Grouse on the Green is our unique and quaint Irish Pub specializing in some remarkable Irish dishes as well as American flavors surrounded by amazing views. We are delighted to hear that your husband found all of our golf courses amazing and well worth the trip. Thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures. We do hope that one day you will return to us and offer us the opportunity to serve you once again so that we may exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    71
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
85
178
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We used a groupon for a Suite. I was told during the reservatioon we would be in a 4th floor suite. When we checked in at 3:30 our room wasnt ready....and we were put on the 1st floor. The staff were very nice...that is a plus. We got to the room and it was huge...but, the carpet had spots everywhere--pretty old and in need of replacement. Our 12 year old daughter laughed that the TVs were from "the olden days" and they were. The shower/tub/bathroom has old fixtures. Walls are thin but not sure what you can do about that. The location of this place is truly amazing and one of the reasons we went there....but please update the property to make it the once great place it used to be....from check in to check out it just felt like we were in some old hotel and had sort of a spooky feel to it. Sad to report this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Our staff here at The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera loves to go above and beyond to make our guests feel welcome and at home during their stay, thank you for acknowledging them. While all reviews, whether positive or otherwise are appreciated as it helps us to better focus on items a guest may feel needs to be addressed, we are disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet all of your expectations. Your comments will be addressed with the ownership. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Driving up to this Lodge we felt that it was too good to be true. We were attending an event in Vail and got an offer from Travelzoo for this place at $97/night + $25 resort fee. The Lodge is beautiful, set on the edge of a ridge about 2 miles into a gorgeous valley.

The facilities are wonderful, nice reception area, great sitting room for reading or talking, two pools, firepit, spa. Staff were friendly and at least gave us the impression that they wanted to be helpful.

The first little thing I noticed was that the hall carpets were worn and stained. The next item that was out of character was the TV in the room - small and old tech. Not a major issue but still, flat screens have been out for how long?

We also had a couple of service issues. Rooms are supplied with Keurig coffee machines. Nice touch and our room had two servings of regular and one of decaf, We used the regulars on our first morning and when we returned in the evening we noticed that they had been replaced with decaf. We attempted to call housekeeping & got a message that we should call reception. Instead, on our way to dinner we took two of the decaf servings to reception and requested regular coffee replacements. We we assured that it would be done immediately. Nope. Nothing done. We had to go to the restaurant for coffee the next morning.
We had breakfast in the restaurant one morning. Good but very pricey. We did not see many people using the restaurant during our stay. The Lodge also operates a very nice Irish Pub in another building about a 5 minute walk away.

The last issue we had was strange and a little scary. Returning to our room late one afternoon we noticed the door to our room was unlocked, propped open using the security bar like some folks do when going down the hall for ice. We entered and left the door like that for a while to see if someone was coming back to check something. Nobody ever did. I walked the hall and noted a number of other room doors in the same condition. We mentioned this to reception and noted it on an online comment card emailed to us. No response.

On the plus side, the wildlife viewing in this valley is outstanding. One night a large fox dashed in front of our car, followed immediately by a very large mule deer doe. The next night the road was lined with deer in several places, dining on the grasses and totally uncaring about us. Drive slowly in the area at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate your review and are very happy to hear you were so pleased with our facilities, location and friendly staff. The wildlife scenes are fantastic here at times and we’re glad you were able to appreciate them during your stay. We do wish to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit in reference to your morning coffee. While we do not understand or know why you may have found your room as you stated, we will address your comments further with our ownership. Thank you for staying with us, we do hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Lodge at Cordillera. It is a beautiful property outside of Edwards (about a 10 minute drive) and has gorgeous views of the snow capped mountains. We had a "deal" and there were a few issues using our vouchers, but the staff was extremely helpful in resolving the issues. The restaurant on property had good food but the servers were being trained and were not very efficient. I had a manicure and pedicure at the spa and Allison did a wonderful job. Our room was large and opened to a great patio and lawn where our daughter enjoyed dancing and singing. The pools were nice and heated. They were not always clean (the pool guy seemed to come in the late afternoon) but it did not really bother us. We were a little shocked that there was no regular bell hop and no valet for such a nice property. And our room was not cleaned the one day we were there. Overall we had a nice trip but the hotel can make some minor adjustments to make every guests' experience wonderful.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our "Spa" room that opened up to a great little lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Nothing pleases us more than to hear a guest say they really enjoyed their stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera. We’re happy that you were delighted with the gorgeous views, the good food and your visit to our spa. We apologize for any confusion you may have experienced at check-in due to any deal vouchers you had and it pleases us to hear our staff helped in any way they could. Your comments will be reviewed with our ownership as our utmost priority is having all of our guests experience a wonderful time here. We do hope you will be back for another enjoyable stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is beautiful. It's not the easiest place or closest place to get to but that's what we wanted, to get away. Now with two kids one being 2 1/2 and the other almost 6 months old get the bigger room (suite). It worked out way better than the regular room. Much bigger and we were able to still put the kids down and still have some quietness. They do have pack and plays available upon request. The heated pools one indoor and one outdoors was perfect for everyone. We couldn't get our oldest out of the hot tub. He also loved the fact they had all the fixings for s'mores by the outside fire pit. The surrounding were breath taking and made for some great trail running when we got away from the hotel. That didn't happen that often since everything we needed was right there. The food at the Cordillera was top quality and tasty and we ended up eating most of our meals there. We did however try the Grouse a short walk down the hill. Not much to tell. Very plain and service was very poor. I would definitely go back to the Cordillera maybe next time we get a sitter.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time away from it all and found everything you needed for your getaway right here with us at The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera. With our location overlooking the Vail Valley and Sawatch Range guests are offered magnificent views and a true feeling of serenity during their stay. Picturing your little one enjoying the hot tub and S’mores put a smile on our faces this morning. We look forward to your return visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

When you need to stop the world because you want to get off... this Lodge will be just the right place for you! We loved everything about it ~ the quiet, the remoteness, the food was AMAZING and we are hard to please !! This lodge reads as "authentic" not " slick and shiny" which is good ~ one of our favorites was the downstairs fireplace reading area, it felt like you could live there and we were comfortable coming down in "slippers" so to speak, casual - they set up breakfast for us right in that fireplace area ~ loved it! Oh, and the little town of Edwards is really nice with good restaurants - no need to always be at the Lux Resorts ~ but nice that Beaver Creek is so convenient

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, Public Relations Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We love your review. What a wonderful description of our resort. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay with us from your meals to our living room atmosphere. We hope that the next time you are in need of some time away to just breathe you will be back for another for another stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Everything at this lodge is wonderful. Great service all around, including the restaurant and lounge. Rooms are very spacious with wonderful wood burning fireplaces. Want a fire in your room's fireplace? No problem! Just call the front desk and within minutes staff members are in your room with the firewood which they then stack in the fireplace and light for you. Also, wonderful views of the mountains and up the Vail Valley. At night, you can stand on the balcony of your room and watch the snowcats grooming the Game Creek Bowl at Vail Mountain Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordillera V, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera. Our staff loves to go above and beyond to give our guests the best experience possible while staying with us; we appreciate your acknowledgement of them. We are so happy to hear you really enjoyed having a fire in the fireplace of your room; it just makes any night a much cozier and relaxing experience we think. We hope you’ll be back for another stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge & Spa at Cordillera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge & Spa at Cordillera

Address: 2205 Cordillera Way, Edwards, CO 81632
Location: United States > Colorado > Edwards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Edwards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge & Spa at Cordillera 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera is one of the most luxurious retreats in the world. Perched on a mountaintop overlooking the magnificent Valley and Sawatch Mountain Range, the lodge offers views like no other hotel in the Vail Valley. With 56 beautiful guest rooms from 450 to 700 square feet and 5,000 square feet of indoor & outdoor function space, the lodge offers an exceptional experience. With a world class spa, guests can enjoy first class treatments in 10 remodeled treatment rooms, a full fitness facility, personal training, a nail salon, and indoor and outdoor pools and saunas opened year round for all to enjoy. The lodge has two outstanding restaurants, a casual yet fine dining experience at Restaurant Mirador, and the only Irish Pub in all of the Vail Valley, The Grouse on the Green. In the winter months, guests can enjoy the Rocky Mountains best skiing at neighboring Beaver Creek or Vail Mountains. Guests of the lodge have exclusive access to our Mountain Club at Beaver Creek located on the Strawberry Park Ski lift, with heated boot storage, private lockers, food, refreshments, and a ski concierge to assist with your requests. In the summer, guests come from around the world to play Cordillera’s four signature golf courses. Visitors can also enjoy the outdoors by hiking and biking Cordillera trails, mountain biking, fly-fishing in Cordillera’s private waters, horseback riding, swimming, tennis, and bird watching. Whitewater rafting, Jeep and Hummer tours, ATV tours, and hot-air ballooning are available nearby. Although Cordillera has enough to keep you busy from sunrise to sunset, the lodge is just minutes away from the mountain towns of Edwards, Beaver Creek and Vail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge & Spa at Cordillera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge And Spa At Cordillera Hotel Edwards
Hotel At Cordillera
At Cordillera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.