We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are here for snow activities....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge & Spa at Cordillera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lodge & Spa at Cordillera to your Saves list
Lodge & Spa at Cordillera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2205 Cordillera Way, Edwards, CO 81632   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Edwards
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you are here for snow activities....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

You should know, that:
1) This hotel is located 20 min from Vail and about 10 min from Beaver Creek. It does have shuttle to both resorts.
2) There are Cordillera lodges right by the lifts both in Vail and Beaver Creek, so if you need to warm you need to warm up and take a break from skiing- those lounges are very convenient. Beaver Creek one is free of charge, and Vail costs 40$ for 2 ppl.
3) Pools are clean and the view of mountains from the pool is great.
4)Friday-Saturday night kids can enjoy smores by the firepit.
5) Hotel staff is young dynamic and friendly,

Good to know before you go:

- the hotel has remote location on the top of the mountain and although they do charge resort fee, no entertainment for guests is provided, so if you are an active person you might want to think in advance how to keep yourself busy.
-book your shuttle in advance.
-restaurant didn't impress me. but it's not overpriced as I would think since it's the only dining option.
-no sauna (so good to have one when you come back from the slopes!)
- walls are reaaly thin and you can hear people wispering.

Overall - it's a nice hotel and staff is trying hard to make you feel like home. Than area is very expensive and for the rate i got it was a really good deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your response. You make some good points about our location and that we are not a typical ski in-ski out property. We do however provide complimentary shuttle transportation to and from our ski clubs in Vail and Beaver Creek. I am sorry that you missed the saunas that are located in both the men's and women's locker rooms in our spa. I do agree, a nice steam or sauna is a treat after a long day of skiing. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    71
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
85
178
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the lodge 3 weeks ago and it was amazing. All the rooms has the nicest view and they have a fireplace in each room. Also we found handy the humidifier. Its a very cofortable room/suite. From our window we could see the elks in the morning while drinking a nice cup of coffee from their room expresso machine. The room also comes with wine glasses and real coffee cups wich are changed daily. Staff is very gentle, valet parking is included. They will park your car when you come from ski tired and will bring it to you in the morning with heat on. Pete the concierge was very nice and friendly. Very comfortable bed and pillow menu. Restaurant was OK. Wine list pretty good. The sorroundings are picture perfect. The only thing you have to be aware that this place is secludded on the top of a mountain which means its perfect for couple like us, but you have to drive 15 min to get to Vail and 10min to beaver creek.

Room Tip: All rooms has view,just make sure they put you on the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your response. We too enjoy the peaceful and secluded setting. It is nice to have a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle but still enjoy the convenience of our complimentary shuttle to and from Vail and Beaver Creek, especially if you are enjoying a couples weekend. We hope you come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massapequa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel and spa is one of a kind. The atmosphere is one I have never experianced at a hotel before. I loved how I felt like I was at home instead of a hotel. It is so cozy. I stayed in a loft suite that was very spacious and took the most relaxing bubble bath of my life. The balcony from my room overlooked the mountains which I was able to wake up to every morning. Then every night at 9pm they provide you with complimentary homemade cookies to eat next to the fireplace! They also had a firepit outside next to the pool overlooking the breathtaking view of the mountains. On certain days you can roast marshmallows and make smores! The workers are very polite and friendly. They went above and beyond my expectations. Not only is the view amazing but the oppurtunites to experiance new things is endless. While I was here I booked a sleigh ride dinner at Bearcat Stables. I was horse drawn through the snow in the middle of the mountains while drinking hot apple cider. After the ride you are served a delicious dinner in an original log cabin. It was amazing! If you are thinking about staying here I HIGHLY recomend it!

P.S. Best hot chocolate I ever drank in my ENTIRE life! Make sure you order one!

Room Tip: Request your room with a wood burning fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are so glad you had such a wonderful stay! And yes, we do pride ourselves on having exceptional hot chocolate and complimentary warm cookies at night, a "must-have" on our wintry Colorado nights. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy our horse drawn sleigh ride dinner. It truly is a special and uniquely Colorado experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanbroek
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

nice large rooms with huge beds and beautiful views of the mountains and the heated pool with spa. Also very nice is the clean indoor sauna, and the locker rooms are really great.
Breakfast is also fantastic, lots of fruits and various egg dishes plenty of everything and a very good service.
Furthermore, all the staff and waiters were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad you had so much fun during your stay with us! We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to ski in January - but had one non skiier in the party so chose this place because hey - it says "SPA" right in the name. I had pictured a clean, well-equipped fitness center and lovely treatment rooms with a menu of choice, swimming pools, etc.

Eh - the pool was okay - the indoor hot tub was kind of dirty and closed one of the days we were there - the locker rooms, treatment rooms and whole basement-y spa area seemed a little run down. The staff (or I should say the one young girl at the desk sometimes) was okay - not real helpful but pleasant enough. Too bad, because the massage therapist was GREAT.

This is kind of the theme of the place - staff could not be nicer, but the facility was kind of chain-hotel-ordinary. Others have complained about the TV sets and the rooms, didn't bother us particularly. We did not get a room with a fireplace originally, but were moved to one when we complained about the noise next door - the walls seem to be pretty paper thin. Our neighbors were not noisy, but we did not really want to be part of their conversation!

The hotel is in a gated community so limited options for dining or other activities. The hotel restaurant was fine - decent food, nothing really out of the ordinary.

The good news - they have a shuttle service to and from Beaver Creek and Vail ski areas - but it fills up, so you need to book in advance or lose your place. They had a great ski clubroom at Beaver Creek with the nicest manager ever - he could not have been more welcoming or helpful, and being able to warm up, watch TV, have a snack, and meet in the club room is a wonderful treat. But we missed the whole Lodge and Spa thing - it is basically just an ordinary hotel with a nice staff.
One final note - I gave breakfast a "poor" rating because there seemed to be no choice - it was the $17.00 buffet or free coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lodge. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hospitality of Jim, our Mountain Club at Beaver Creek Concierge, and the cozy ski in/ ski out facility. In addition, we have a ski club in Vail, the Vail Gondola Club, which is equally as nice and welcoming. I apologize you did not view the rest of the Lodge with the same excitement. I appreciate your comments about the spa and fitness area. We consider these amenities to be well maintained and consistent with the rustic feel of the Lodge and Spa at Cordillera. Hopefully, you enjoyed the mountain views from your room, which I am confident you will not find at just any “ordinary hotel”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel makes the low budget hotels at Disney World look like the Ritz. The fireplace on the room has only one setting, on and off. The tv is soo old that it must be send to a museum, it does not even has hdmi connections,so by by Netflix for my six years old daugther. In addition the tv stand is soo ackward that it looks like you your tv is at the end of a cave.You can only wacth tv when sitting in front of it,the furniture blocks any way or watching tv in an angle.HBO ? yeap right ,all you get is a broken down picture similar to the one that you used to get 10 years ago on a rainy day when suscribed to Direct tv .Dont even think about paying for a fruit baket, it will contain one apple,one orange,one old banana and five strawberries, all this will cost you $25.00. When was time to sleep, a big stain in our blanket.!. If you do not believed me, look at attached pictures. I can not belive that this hotel get soo many great reviews.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Lodge. We accept all feedback, good or bad, and view it as an opportunity to improve our service and amenities. I apologize your experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with the appropriate managers and we have taken the steps necessary to avoid any further issues similar to the ones you experienced on your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at Cordillera for a quick ski trip. We had a nice, large room overlooking the valley with spectacular views. Check in was friendly and easy. We were there for skiing, so we took advantage of the lodge's shuttle to/from the Cordillera Club at Beaver Creek and at Vail. If you are not staying at a ski-in/ski-out place, this makes life pretty easy. The shuttle brings you right to the clubs and, from there, it is about 30 yards to the Strawberry Park lift at Beaver Creek and about 100 yards to the One Gondola at Vail. You can store boots and skis at the club, and you can get breakfast and snacks as well, so it is avoids much of the hassle -- no driving or parking, no lugging skis and boots. The Happy Hour and food at the lodge were good as well. We did not use the spa but did make it to the hot tub after skiing, which was great. Finally, it is always exciting to see the elk and mule deer on the ride up to the lodge. This was a great getaway location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron C, General Manager at Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We are so happy you had such a great stay with us! We appreciate your wonderful review and hope you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge & Spa at Cordillera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge & Spa at Cordillera

Address: 2205 Cordillera Way, Edwards, CO 81632
Location: United States > Colorado > Edwards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Edwards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge & Spa at Cordillera 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge & Spa at Cordillera is one of the most luxurious retreats in the world. Perched on a mountaintop overlooking the magnificent Valley and Sawatch Mountain Range, the lodge offers views like no other hotel in the Vail Valley. With 56 beautiful guest rooms from 450 to 700 square feet and 5,000 square feet of indoor & outdoor function space, the lodge offers an exceptional experience. With a world class spa, guests can enjoy first class treatments in 10 remodeled treatment rooms, a full fitness facility, personal training, a nail salon, and indoor and outdoor pools and saunas opened year round for all to enjoy. The lodge has two outstanding restaurants, a casual yet fine dining experience at Restaurant Mirador, and the only Irish Pub in all of the Vail Valley, The Grouse on the Green. In the winter months, guests can enjoy the Rocky Mountains best skiing at neighboring Beaver Creek or Vail Mountains. Guests of the lodge have exclusive access to our Mountain Club at Beaver Creek located on the Strawberry Park Ski lift, with heated boot storage, private lockers, food, refreshments, and a ski concierge to assist with your requests. In the summer, guests come from around the world to play Cordillera’s four signature golf courses. Visitors can also enjoy the outdoors by hiking and biking Cordillera trails, mountain biking, fly-fishing in Cordillera’s private waters, horseback riding, swimming, tennis, and bird watching. Whitewater rafting, Jeep and Hummer tours, ATV tours, and hot-air ballooning are available nearby. Although Cordillera has enough to keep you busy from sunrise to sunset, the lodge is just minutes away from the mountain towns of Edwards, Beaver Creek and Vail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge & Spa at Cordillera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge And Spa At Cordillera Hotel Edwards
Hotel At Cordillera
At Cordillera Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge & Spa at Cordillera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.