We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading advertising but nice space” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Purgatory Village Condo Hotel to your Saves list
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Skier Place, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Misleading advertising but nice space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We booked three nights at the Durango Mountain Resort in the Village Center building. It was a one bedroom corner condo 305. It actually is a two bedroom with the second bedroom locked so we couldn't use it. The resort is about 20 miles our of Durango so we were pleased to see they had a restaurant, pizza, bar and small deli since we would be arriving around dinner time. When we arrived, the place looked empty and it is a very large complex of condos. Durango is a hopping place and there were plenty of people there but not up here at the resort.

When we checked in the front desk manager told us the pool was closed for repair. The restaurant, according to him, was staying open until 9pm (it was about 5:30pm) and would then be closing for the season. Really? Before Labor Day? We walked to the restaurant and they were closed. Ended up having pizza at the bar. The pizza was excellent, but we were told the bar would only be open on weekends and we arrived on Sunday. Again, shutting down for the season.

The condo itself was very spacious and tastefully decorated. Nights were cool so we could open the windows and it was comfortable. One huge complaint we had as others have also mentioned was the very poor lighting. We both had business things to do and there was no place in the condo with good lighting. Several lights had burned out bulbs and others were just such a low wattage that they were useless.

Overall the condo suited our needs, but I think they could do so much better.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
18
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Not enough activities for teens, purgatory condo was okay but many lamps not working, not enough toilet paper and towels replenished, the chairs on the balcony were too low or railing too high as we could not enjoy view sitting outside, we waited 45 minutes for room to finally be ready and this was after checkin time of 4:00 p.m.!!!! The rates were very high at $286 a night. We did kayaking and zip lining around Durango and drove back and forth to Silverton for 4-wheeling and vacation with friends. So glad we did because there was nothing for my teenage boys to do at this resort in the summer. Don't stay here if you have kids older than 12 years old. We stayed 3 nights here and then 4 nights in Silverton. Very glad we moved on to Silverton. Sorry DMR, you are going to have to step it up with summer activities. We will not be back here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited with our 2-year old daughter for a long weekend. The one bedroom condo was very spacious and comfortable. The condo we were assigned had nice decor and beautiful views. We could see people zip lining from our window which was lots of fun for our little one. Only complaint is regarding the outside decks. The railings seen wider than usual and our daughter could have easily slipped through. We did not use this space because it did not feel safe. But the condo was spacious enough it wasn't a big deal to us. The resort may want to add mesh or something to make the outdoor space safer for little ones. It would have been fun to sit outside and watch the activities in the village. Otherwise, the resort had a great pool area with a pool bar and a great location, close to Durango, and not far from Silverton. This area is a beautiful place to explore and there are lots of family activities around. The Dinosaur Train (Durango Railroad) was a huge hit with our daughter. Will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great stay at the condo hotel. The entry lobby area was nice and entirely what we expected. The decor was a somewhat dated but still very neat and clean, just needed a little updating. My husband found this condo among many owned by private parties and leased when not needed by the owner. This is my first review of a privately owned condo. These condos vary so widely that you never really know what you're going to get without looking. Many have photos and this is definitely a priority to see what you will get. This was a one bedroom and the bed was perfect. I really look at the baths to get a good idea of the care and attention the owner has for the property. If the bath is in poor repair, with loose tiles, unappealing grout, slow draining tubs and lack of attention to updates, I'm usually out within minutes. This is an easy quick check and I know instantly - otherwise I know I will not enjoy the stay. This place was an A+ on every category. The only glitch is you have to drive into Durango to dine, if cooking is not your idea of a vacation. So, do a little shopping for those breakfast needs early in the morning and snacks at night and you won't be disappointed.

Here, we were delighted with the amenities of this condo. The condo was updated with granite, very nice furnishings in the living and bedroom. We had a king bed taking the majority of the space in the bedroom. However, when staying in Durango there is so much to see and do, the size of the bedroom is not a concern. The kitchen, dining and living rooms were a great size with doors to the deck from the bedroom and living room. The room had a flat screen TV but we never watched it. As with most condos, there is an owner's closet for those items the owner doesn't share. However, this was so well-appointed with great detail, the owner's closet most assuredly had the skies, and everything needed for the owner to enjoy the winter wonderland offered here!

Also, I couldn't believe the activities for kids. I feel I had a disadvantaged upbringing! This entire area was magical for kids. Even with kids nearby, it was quiet at night because the little darlings are fast asleep after all their activities during the day. These condos don't offer room service and the gift shops found in hotels.

This trip was part of a great adventure from Santa Fe to Durango to see Mesa Verde and the Anasazi ruins, Monument Valley in Arizona and back through Taos and the Enchanted Circle. My only disappointment was that we didn't stay in Durango longer, especially in this condo. With temperatures in the 80s, Durango is fabulous in the summer. Monument Valley may reach temperatures to 105 and higher in the summer months. Planning is a must, but well worth it. I'm already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I firmly believe that if you chart a line that represents the price to stay a hotel and a second line that represents the quality of those lodgings, there will be a point where the lines cross and quality decreases as price increases. This lodge is just past that point.

The room wasn't dirty, per se, just had shabby touches you wouldn't expect for this price. The pillows smelled like they hadn't been laundered in a long time. The hide-a-bed my daughter tried to sleep on was a rock (even for a hide-a-bed). Cheap, thin mattress. She ended up sleeping in the recliner chair. The spare blanket (yes, just one) she was expected to use on that uncomfortable bed was stained. The other chair in the room was stained to the point of questioning whether I wanted to sit on it (achy muscles from a day on the slopes won out over "Jeez! I wonder what those stains are?"). The view out the window (of the adjacent building) was the capping feature.

Oh, another thing that brought this down, was the fact that, regardless of how early you book, the condo you get is dependant on how early you arrive that day (this according to the guy at the reservation desk).

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having the convenience of skiing practically to the elevator door that takes you to your room without ever having to actually leave the resort CAN'T BE BEAT! Rooms are clean and fairly updated on the traditional "Colorado Style". (Half Sky/Half Cowboyish)

Very convenient to people that need more or less layers or an extra pair of gloves, or lost their goggles in a fall. You can literally ski/snowboard until your legs can't take it anymore. Take your skis off and jump on the elevator to your room. No driving needed.

Prices are competitive if you take in consideration the elimination of having to drive the 25-35 minutes from Durango. Shops are right below you and there's even a half/convenience store at the plaza for the last minute things that you forgot to bring.

Room Tip: There's really no bad room, if you can get a good view that is just a plus. The importance is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Since this property is located 25 or so miles from downtown Durango, we had an expectation of finding a selection of restaurants at the resort and this wasn't the case. Essentially one books through Durango Mountain Resorts for either King Hotel Rooms or Condos of various sizes. We booked a King Hotel and it looked to us like it was one of the bedrooms of a condo unit? The room itself was nicely furnished with a very comfortable king bed and very clean. We would have liked to see a mini refrig and a better view but they weren't deal killers.

Room Tip: While the King Hotel rooms have an attractive price, if we were to return we would step up a grade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purgatory Village Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Address: 5 Skier Place, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purgatory Village Condo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Purgatory Village Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purgatory Colorado
Purgatory Village Condo Durango
Purgatory Village Condominium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purgatory Village Condo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.