We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Rating Probably isn't Fair” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Purgatory Village Condo Hotel to your Saves list
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Skier Place, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Average Rating Probably isn't Fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Since this property is located 25 or so miles from downtown Durango, we had an expectation of finding a selection of restaurants at the resort and this wasn't the case. Essentially one books through Durango Mountain Resorts for either King Hotel Rooms or Condos of various sizes. We booked a King Hotel and it looked to us like it was one of the bedrooms of a condo unit? The room itself was nicely furnished with a very comfortable king bed and very clean. We would have liked to see a mini refrig and a better view but they weren't deal killers.

Room Tip: While the King Hotel rooms have an attractive price, if we were to return we would step up a grade t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    10
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place has a lot going on for a ski resort in mid June. About 20 minutes North of Durango ( a very present and scenic 20 minutes I should add, Hey, it's Colorado! ), Google Maps had me turning too early. Look for the stone pillars (to the West) to enter the facility. Read each sign carefully to avoid an unintentional tour of the property. Bad start, wife had requested a ground floor room but we got something else and it was a bit of a hassle to move. The room itself was just OK. No view at all. No doubt the views are better on the upper floors. Very small TV, no air conditioner which I guess is fairly common, just open your windows immediately upon arrival.We had some issue with the bed clothes... it seems the mattress pad was not sized right and kept coming loose. We were so tired when we hit the sack each night, I never investigated this further. Please be aware, these are CONDO's built with two entry points so the owner can rent one room out if they choose. No daily room service... I don't know if that was part of the deal or not. ALERT: You are staying in, and only have access to, the resources associated with just your facility. There are three separate facilities in this complex. The "main" building, the place you will go to to checked in, has a BIG pool, hot tub, exercise room... free breakfast... and more, but that's for the condo owners or time share folks in that building. Not you! We were fortunate to have a Family member staying there with timeshare privileges, so we were able to use those resources and they were quite satisfactory. The Restaurants are for everyone... Other than that, there is lots to do around the area. We enjoyed the trip very much and I should say that even though there were issues, the staff were most willing to assist.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor, Confirm you should get daily room service. NOTE: If you need an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about Purgatory Village Hotel/Condo is the friendly staff.

The negatives are endless.

The worst would be the room. It was very small and had a weird layout. It took us a long time to find the bed, which ended up folding out of the wall under the kitchen table! We then had no place to put the kitchen chairs, except for on top of the dresser.

The place also had no air conditioning, and temps were in the 90's. I was hoping to relax on our vacation in a nice and cool room, not a hot cramped room with terribly uncomfortable bed! The only way to cool our room was by opening the broken screen door on the balcony, which we shared with people who smoked.

The decor and color scheme looked like you were in a cheap house from the early 1990's. A hodge-podge of mauve, gold, maroon, hunter green, and other bizarre colors. The outside of the facility looks very nice, but looks can be deceiving!

Stay someplace else!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom condo with kids and a nanny. Kids on the pull-out couch. The space was perfect for a ski-vacation 5 days long. It was a little unfortunate there was no room service, but every restaurant in the ski village did take-out, so you just had to run down and get it yourself. The prices were great, lift-lines non-existent and ski school perfect for our 2 and 6 yr olds. I particularly LOVE the bar connected to the entertainment room. You can order a drink and take it back to watch your kids play air hockey/wii/monopoly or watch TV, etc. The bar also overlooks the pool and hot tub, which runs year round. You can do all of this in slippers, since it's all connected to your room!
We agree, it is out of town. We went into town one night for an adult dinner, and paid for a car service, since we didn't have a rental. Town was quaint, but had plenty of bars/pubs/restaurants to fill our evening.
We will keep Durango on our rotating list of family ski vacations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed two nights for wedding party. The two roomed apartment was nice enough even though a little dated. The price of accomodation is pricey once you add on the various and numerous additional charges. The restaurant prices for the quality were way over the top. The views are outstanding and it is a beautiful part of the world. The electronic keycards have a mind of their own and only seemed to work when they felt like. This ended up with you being unable to access the front doors to the condos or when inside the elevators so you ended up in limbo in freezing temperatures. All in all they need to either adjust their prices down or adjust the standards of accomodation/food up to justify the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Purgatory Village Condo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for being our guest at Purgatory Village and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We will share your comments with the appropriate department which will help us in training staff and achieving our quality standards.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and your feedback is very important to helping us deliver the best possible vacation experience. We sincerely hope you will come back to visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After 2 weeks of travelling around and eating out every night we had decided make use of the kitchen facilities on our first night at Purgatory Village. On checking in we asked how far the local supermarket was. We were advised that it was a 32 mile round trip. Having had a long day driving we decided against that and asked about restaurants on site. We were advised that nothing was open but there was a good restaurant a short drive away. I am sure that a mid week visit in September is very different to a visit in the height of the sking season but the complex was like a ghost town. During our 2 nights there we saw more workmen tha fellow guests.
I understand that most of the condos are privately owned. It would seem to follow that there will be some significant variations between one condo and another. The 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroom condo that we had was excellent. It was certainly large enough for the 4 adults in my party. Everything was very clean and the quality of the furnishings were first class. Clearly some of the recent reviewers were not so lucky.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotopaxi, Colorado
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We got a King Hotel room through Expedia. Being the off season, it was only $82 plus tax (I notice they are going for 68 now). The place was fairly empty except for a wedding party. So four dots for value. The staff was very friendly, so four dots for service.

So, what didn't we like? First, the rooms were small, there was a bed, TV stand, night stands and not much else. We had to sit on the bed. Secondly, the bed was very hard, my wife and I both ended up with a sore back. Finally, the King Hotel is half of a suite and we could hear the people next to us talking through the shared door. They probably heard the TV in return.

Another issue was that the pictures on the various websites were misleading, the reservation said we would have cook ware which led us to assume that there would be a microwave. But we didn't get either. On the other hand the room was cleaned but reading the views, it seems to be hit or miss.

So, we will try somewhere else next time. And would suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Get a one bedroom hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Purgatory Village Condo Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for being our guest at Purgatory Village and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We will share your comments with the appropriate department which will help us in training staff and achieving our quality standards. This mountainside property has units varying in size from traditional King Hotel Room which this guest reserved up to luxury 4 bedroom Penthouses.

We strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and your feedback is very important to helping us deliver the best possible vacation experience. We sincerely hope you will come back to visit us again soon and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Purgatory Village Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Address: 5 Skier Place, Durango Mountain Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purgatory Village Condo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Purgatory Village Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purgatory Colorado
Purgatory Village Condo Durango
Purgatory Village Condominium Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purgatory Village Condo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.