We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Durango
new mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I were on business with Ft. Lewis College. Pet friendly which is always a great asset for any hotel and non-smoking which was even better. Many thanks to the Assistant GM for bein able to provide us with an early check-in and even tried to give us a call when the room was ready.
Amanda was great She has the personality that each FD Agent should have. Thanks for a great stay, and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
It is with great pleasure that we receive your wonderful review. Thank you for your compliments to our caring staff and we are pleased to hear that your stay was made even better by our pet friendly, no smoking accommodations.
We are glad you will return to visit us again and look forward to your next stay!
Sincerely,
P. Reavis
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    178
    82
    20
    13
See reviews for
170
176
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband, toddler and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Comfort Inn in Durango.

Location - We were just outside of the busy part of the city, across from a nice grocery store and about a 2 minute drive to a wonderful riverside park that had a playground. We were a short 5-7 minute drive from the downtown area.
Room - When we arrived the check-in process was quick and easy. Even though our room was very close to the lobby it was quiet. The beds were comfortable and we appreciated the fridge in the room since we didn't want to eat out for every meal. The bathroom was not clean, however. The obvious things were done (sink wiped down, towels folded neatly, mirror cleaned) but the bottom of the tub was gray and scummy and there were long hairs from some previous guest stuck to the walls and floor of the tub. It had obviously been a loooong time since the tub was cleaned.
Hotel - The breakfast was your standard continental with hot selections (eggs, biscuits, waffles, bacon, that sort of thing). There was a good selection of breakfast pastries, yogurt and juices. Not very much fruit, which was a bummer.
The hotel boasted a "heated" indoor pool but unfortunately this was not the case. I think a more accurate description would have been "not frigid." My husband and toddler weren't able to spend more than about 10 minutes in the pool before they started getting cold. We were pretty disappointed that the pool wasn't actually heated because it was one of the reasons we chose this particular hotel.

Overall, I'd say it was okay. Given the price we paid I would have appreciated a clean bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your valuable feedback and appreciate your opinions and comments as it helps our staff to work harder to ensure every guests satisfaction. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location to all area shopping and attractions. It is rewarding to know that you found your room to be quiet and were pleased with our comfortable beds, popular amenities and good selection of breakfast items.
Please accept our most sincere apologies on the condition of your bathtub. We have addressed this issue with our Housekeeping Staff to ensure that this kind of thing does not happen again in the future.
Again, thank you for your willingness to share your experience. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so we can provide you with an exceptional stay.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The location is about a mile from Old Town Durango on Main Avenue. We found our room to be very clean and satisfactory. Flat screen TV, fridge, microwave and a safe. There is an indoor swimming pool and a fitness center. We found the staff at the front desk to be courteous and efficient. We would stay here again. The price is right!

Room Tip: Request a room on the side away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our clean hotel with all the right amenities! Our friendly and efficient staff are always pleased to provide great service to all our guests.
We hope you will visit us again in the very near future.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Allegany, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Entered room to dirty floor with cat litter, rubber band and lint. Every surface had dried on "stuff" that could be scraped off with a fingernail.The door jam into the bedroom was filthy with fingerprints and something slopped that had ran down the wood. Our suite was located beside the ice machine which cycled all night long even when ice was not being removed. The pool was limited to 15 people (extra small) which was mostly occupied by screaming kids, splashing, doing cannon balls and throwing things.....I suggest you find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't get the room by the ice machine and check the room for cleanliness before you settle in. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. I apologize for anything other than a clean, fresh and comfortable room. Our Housekeeping Department work very hard to provide everyone with a great stay and so it is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied. I certainly hope that if your room was in such poor condition, that you notified our staff immediately. We have 24 hour staff that would have been happy to rectify any situation that caused you distress. It is our goal to provide each and every guest with outstanding service and accommodations. We hope that you will live us another chance to live up to those standards.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were happy with our three day stay in this hotel. The standard 2 queen room was comfortable and included all that you would expect, with a small microwave and fridge and a safe in the closet. Our room was on the third floor on the back side of the building and was quiet. The staff was friendly and tended to any issues efficiently. The breakfast area was tight, but seemed to accommodate all of the morning activity. The breakfast staff kept things well stocked and tables clean so people could continue to roll though the space on their way to some adventure.

The hotel is away from downtown so is not within walking distance to any tourist activities. So, if you are not looking for that kind of scene this place might work for you as it did for us. There are several conveniences right across the road to include a grocery, liquor store and dining, as well as a park just a block or two up the road (plan to drive though). At the park you will find a long walking trail along the Animas River, with access to the water, as well as room to romp with the kids or dogs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very nice review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a nice 3 day stay with us and enjoyed out quiet, comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff and our convenient location to downtown Historic Durango and all area attractions.
We certainly hope you will consider us again for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We checked in late at night. We were given our room key with our room number written on the outside of the key envelope. We went to the room that was indicated on the envelope but, to no avail, the key would not work. I went back to the front desk and explained that the key was not working, Kate, the girl at the desk checked, rekeyed the card, and sent me on my way. Again, the key would not work. Round three, back to the front desk. Again, the key was rekeyed back again to the room and again no success. Round four back to the front desk. Kate, gives me a big sigh, doesn't say a word, and goes up to the room herself (which she should have done much earlier.) She begins trying the key in a different room other than what was written on the card. She says, "it says in the system that this is your room!" Of course, at this point the key worked! I said, "That's fine but the room you are trying is not the room number that was written on our envelope how were we supposed to know that the room number in your system is a different room number other than what you gave us?" In short, we were trying to get in a room at 1:30 in the morning that was occupied by someone else! No apologies from her at all. A simple apology would have been all that was necessary. Everyone makes mistakes! She leaves in a huff like the entire situation was our fault!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced upon check-in.
It is our top priority to provide our customers with outstanding service and accommodations and I apologize for your disappointment. The problems you encountered are unacceptable and anything other than a friendly and helpful staff is intolerable. I assure you that this situation has been remedied and if you will allow us to serve you in the future, you will be pleased with all our new, hospitable and cordial staff.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The property is beautiful and well maintained. However, we approached the desk at 4:10 pm, just over an hour after check in time. The young woman at the desk took our information about our reservation, said she would have to check if the room was ready, and went through a door. About 10 minutes later, I went around a corner and realized she had walked out of the office, down the hall. When she returned, she said there were no rooms yet ready in our category. No "I am so sorry. . ." We had had a long day and asked to speak with the manager. He took our information and disappeared. When he came back, he said he had had to check the rooms. What???? They don't have a system in place so that the desk knows which rooms are ready? By this point, it was close to 4:30. He returned, no rooms were ready. I asked him what he was going to do for us. He said he would give us a better room. Then he had to check on that room! There was never an apology We did receive a queen sized bed instead of two doubles, but my goodness--what happened to "I am so sorry. . ." It was like he was doing us a tremendous favor. . . . .
The room was clean, except for the nasty, sticky door handle I had to clean myself. For Durango, the room rate was reasonable, but I was very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the delay and inconveniences you experienced at check in. We do try hard to have all of our rooms ready and available as early as possible, however there are times when we are very busy and our Housekeeping Team are delayed by late checkouts and other unforeseen circumstances.
I am sorry this caused you distress and apologize if our staff was anything but courteous and helpful with the process.
Your suggestions will help us train and correct these issues for future guests. We hope you will consider staying with us again to provide you with an exceptional experience.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.