We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Durango Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went north for a few days to get out of the Phoenix heat. Made reservations here. Hotel is a little east of the main downtown area but is close to other shopping and restaurants. Room was comfy and bed was firm. Room and surroundings were quiet for much needed R & R. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was typical hotel breakfast, in my opinion was not very good, have had much better. Coffee definitely took a vacation it was terrible... It needs major improvement. Overall I would book this again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to receive your comments and suggestions. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location to area attractions, our comfy rooms & beds, and our pleasant staff. It is always good to hear that our guests had a quiet, restful stay and that you will book with us again. I apologize that we did not meet your needs with our complimentary hot breakfast and will use your comments to improve in areas needed.
Thank you again, and we hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    203
    91
    27
    14
See reviews for
195
208
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

You would think for paying more than $160 a night that you could expect to get a mattress without a severe sag (hole) in the middle and we stayed 2 nights. On the second day we came back at 4:30 in the afternoon hot and tired and wanted to clean up and found housekeeping hadn't even been in to clean it yet. Sitting in the lobby now @ almost 5pm and they have told us it is ready now. My husband just went up to get into the room and found that it in fact not ready yet. Ugh!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Please accept my most sincere apologies regarding the issues you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. We have replaced many of our mattresses with new Serta Sleepers and are working on finishing all of our rooms. I am very sorry you experienced anything other than a restful and comfortable night sleep. I also apologize for the lateness of our housekeeping service on your second day. Our staff do have quite a few rooms to clean on the busy summer months and try to get to them as quickly as possible. I am very sorry that you had to wait for your room to be serviced and caused you inconvenience. We will use your comments to ensure we handle these situations differently in the future. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will give us a chance to provide you with a superior stay in the future.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very room, Very convenient to all areas, ie, downtown, interstates and other roads leading everywhere you need to go. Breakfast was hot and very good...clean and well kept. rooms were spacious and comfortable. The price was very reasonable as well. A bargain for sure.

Room Tip: Book early as because of its location is a popular stopping place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleasantly surprised with our clean, spacious rooms, hot and good tasting breakfast, convenient location to all Durango has to offer and reasonable price. Our staff appreciate your kind compliments and thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you will visit us again in the near future!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concho,AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room was decent, it was convenient off the major road, and cordial staff. Price reflects area, scenery all around warrants it. We were only there 1 night, only housekeeping issue was a small, but obvious piece of paper trash in the same place on the carpet near or in the elevator for the 20 hours we were there. Breakfast was standard hotel fare, disappointed, though, with the 2 basics lacking - coffee from a new box machine on par with the in room coffee makers(?) and eggs a little too homogenized. They just taste different. Wish we could opt out of breakfast for a reduced rate. American hotel breakfast fare (not just this chain's) is having us reconsider a la carte hotels or b&b's. I really want a good cup of coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments and appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear you were happy with our rooms and location. We apologize that you did not like our American breakfast. Our hot complimentary breakfast does include real scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, 2 types of pastries, two types of bread, 3 kinds of cold cereal, 3 flavors of hot cereal, 3 kinds of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, two types of milk, two juices, coffee and tea. I am not sure what you are used to from your country, but this is a very extensive selection for a complimentary breakfast and most of our guests really enjoy it. I am sorry it was not to your liking.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will visit us again in the future to allow us to provide you wit great accommodations and service.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The young lady that was working on the night of 10 July 14 was outstanding and very hard with phones and customers. The hotel halls and room was clean but I did have a pet smell in my room but not unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent review and are pleased to hear that our friendly staff and clean rooms made your stay so satisfactory. We apologize if you encountered any negative odors as we have an outstanding housekeeping team who work very hard to make sure every room and common area in our hotel is clean and fresh.
We hope that you will visit us again and allow us to provide you with an exceptional experience.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I would agree with what some others have said about room cleaning stretching late into the evening. One day we did not get the room cleaned because we had returned to the hotel after a long day and the room was not done. They did knock on the door later and ask if we wanted it done but we turned them away because we did not want to leave our room. Other than this small inconvenience I was very pleased with my stay. The room was clean and updated, the breakfast was good, and all the staff was very friendly. The location was convenient to town. I would absolutely stay there again on another trip to Durango

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please allow me to apologize for the late housekeeping problem you experienced and hope that it did not inconvenience you too much. We are working on continued training and hiring more personnel to be able to provide a faster and more efficient service to our guests. I do thank you for your kind compliments regarding or cleanliness, satisfying breakfast, friendly staff and convenient location. I am very glad that the small incident you experienced will not keep you from returning to stay with us again and we look forward to providing you with an excellent experience the next time.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spent three nights at the Comfort Inn Durango first week of July.

The good:

1) Eight mile beautiful running trail next to the river, across the highway from the Comfort Inn. Virtually no one else using the trail over the three days, and saw many deer on long runs.
2) You know what you are going to get with the Comfort Inn, up to standards.
3) Five minute drive to town
4) Liked the extra elevator at the end of the hall, that was not used by many. Park on side of hotel and use this elevator for quickest access to rooms

To Improve:

1) Hotel crowded, breakfast space not adequate (though the breakfast was good).
2) Hotel is a bit isolated, must drive to get anywhere, even a mini-mart for milk or emergency supplies.
3) Walls seem very sound proof, but not the floors. If you are sensitive to ceiling noise, stay on the third floor. We had children, so did receive a complaint about floor noise (justified complaint). Also, we could hear noise above our second floor room - walking and jumping kids.
4) Young Gal working the front desk in the evening when we arrived, was helpful, but not friendly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request third floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for letting us know about your recent stay and allowing us to use your comments to make our services even better.
We have a hardworking team that do their best to offer friendly and helpful service to all of our guests, so I want to apologize if you experienced anything less from of Guest Service Agent at check-in. This is not the norm for us and we usually receive very good reviews on our staff's attitude.
We are glad that you enjoyed our close proximity to one of the local hiking trails and our convenient location to the downtown historic area of Durango. We provide a location just a short drive (5 minutes) from the lights and activity of Durango, but close enough to access all of your needs.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.