We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for some” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for some”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The young lady that was working on the night of 10 July 14 was outstanding and very hard with phones and customers. The hotel halls and room was clean but I did have a pet smell in my room but not unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent review and are pleased to hear that our friendly staff and clean rooms made your stay so satisfactory. We apologize if you encountered any negative odors as we have an outstanding housekeeping team who work very hard to make sure every room and common area in our hotel is clean and fresh.
We hope that you will visit us again and allow us to provide you with an exceptional experience.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    197
    90
    26
    14
See reviews for
191
203
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I would agree with what some others have said about room cleaning stretching late into the evening. One day we did not get the room cleaned because we had returned to the hotel after a long day and the room was not done. They did knock on the door later and ask if we wanted it done but we turned them away because we did not want to leave our room. Other than this small inconvenience I was very pleased with my stay. The room was clean and updated, the breakfast was good, and all the staff was very friendly. The location was convenient to town. I would absolutely stay there again on another trip to Durango

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please allow me to apologize for the late housekeeping problem you experienced and hope that it did not inconvenience you too much. We are working on continued training and hiring more personnel to be able to provide a faster and more efficient service to our guests. I do thank you for your kind compliments regarding or cleanliness, satisfying breakfast, friendly staff and convenient location. I am very glad that the small incident you experienced will not keep you from returning to stay with us again and we look forward to providing you with an excellent experience the next time.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spent three nights at the Comfort Inn Durango first week of July.

The good:

1) Eight mile beautiful running trail next to the river, across the highway from the Comfort Inn. Virtually no one else using the trail over the three days, and saw many deer on long runs.
2) You know what you are going to get with the Comfort Inn, up to standards.
3) Five minute drive to town
4) Liked the extra elevator at the end of the hall, that was not used by many. Park on side of hotel and use this elevator for quickest access to rooms

To Improve:

1) Hotel crowded, breakfast space not adequate (though the breakfast was good).
2) Hotel is a bit isolated, must drive to get anywhere, even a mini-mart for milk or emergency supplies.
3) Walls seem very sound proof, but not the floors. If you are sensitive to ceiling noise, stay on the third floor. We had children, so did receive a complaint about floor noise (justified complaint). Also, we could hear noise above our second floor room - walking and jumping kids.
4) Young Gal working the front desk in the evening when we arrived, was helpful, but not friendly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request third floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for letting us know about your recent stay and allowing us to use your comments to make our services even better.
We have a hardworking team that do their best to offer friendly and helpful service to all of our guests, so I want to apologize if you experienced anything less from of Guest Service Agent at check-in. This is not the norm for us and we usually receive very good reviews on our staff's attitude.
We are glad that you enjoyed our close proximity to one of the local hiking trails and our convenient location to the downtown historic area of Durango. We provide a location just a short drive (5 minutes) from the lights and activity of Durango, but close enough to access all of your needs.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
230 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Really nice choice for less. This motel feels new, has a nice entry and the rooms were clean and a good size. In addition to VERY thin walls there is a refrigerator and microwave. The front staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast had everything from waffles, to scrambled eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, boiled eggs, all types of muffins, cereals and toast, juices, etc. Very adequate to begin the day. The location is outside of downtown so a car is needed. We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel to others. Good reviews like yours are the best form of a compliment we can receive and we appreciate your kind praise.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

No real complaints other than it was expensive. I've stayed in hotels just as nice for half the price. The only negative about this place was the elevator seemed like it was going to break and they did not air condition the hallway for some reason so it was like a sauna every time we left the room. Also the a\c in the room was extremely loud so we couldn't watch TV without turning it up really loud. Breakfast was good although the dining area was packed cause it was too small. Other than that, everything was good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and use them to make our hotel service and accommodations even better. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel the price you paid matches the service you received. We hope that you brought your concerns regarding your room A/C to the attention of our staff during your stay so that we could address and correct any issues for you promptly.
We will share your concerns with our maintenance staff to ensure that these issues are handled properly. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay.
We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior stay the next time you are visiting our town.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice rooms, nice price. Walls are a bit thin but overall a great experience. Stayed there because it's close to SKA brewing. Great service. They were helpful at the front desk on giving 4th of July directions. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will share your compliments with our entire staff. It is always nice to receive such a kind review and the staff who work so hard to provide you with the great experience you had are appreciative of the praise.
We are happy to hear that you will stay with us again the next time you visit beautiful Durango Colorado.
We look forward to serving you.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAYDEN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here based on rate alone, for the area the rate was very good. Staff was helpful but lobby and entry very small for how busy hotel was. Room was nice but it seemed to us that it is past time to replace the mattresses. Rest of room was good, clean, and was well stocked. Breakfast was above the basic hotel stuff but was very busy. Hotel is close to main downtown district and train station for the narrow gauge. Also this seems to be a new trend for hotels is that they run a hold of funds on your card when you arrive which is fine but then many times when you check out they charge your card to pay for stay and you have double the charge on your card. One drops off after a few days but this trip it took 14 days for the card we used to readjust from this happening at this hotel. Not sure of would stay here again but all the hotels in area seemed very much the the same when booking, nothing really stood out. I put 4 stars but this was more of a 3 plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent review and want you to know we appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear you were pleased with our rate, location and clean, well stocked rooms. Our friendly and helpful staff appreciate the thoughtful commendation as they do work very hard to provide our guests with a pleasing and memorable stay. I do apologize if you were inconvenienced by the hold time of funds on your credit card, You are correct, that most hotels now are required to place a hold for funds on your charge card at check-in as this is a guarantee of payment for all charges and incidentals incurred during your stay. The "drop-off" time for the funds being held varies and is determined by each individuals issuing bank. It typically is 7-10 business days, however it could be longer depending on special circumstances (holidays, etc.) I am very sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way by this.
Again, we appreciate your opinions and value them as they help us to ensure an exceptional stay for all our guests. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.