We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Comfort Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Better than average Comfort Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Really nice choice for less. This motel feels new, has a nice entry and the rooms were clean and a good size. In addition to VERY thin walls there is a refrigerator and microwave. The front staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast had everything from waffles, to scrambled eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, boiled eggs, all types of muffins, cereals and toast, juices, etc. Very adequate to begin the day. The location is outside of downtown so a car is needed. We would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and recommend our hotel to others. Good reviews like yours are the best form of a compliment we can receive and we appreciate your kind praise.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    179
    83
    23
    13
See reviews for
177
183
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

No real complaints other than it was expensive. I've stayed in hotels just as nice for half the price. The only negative about this place was the elevator seemed like it was going to break and they did not air condition the hallway for some reason so it was like a sauna every time we left the room. Also the a\c in the room was extremely loud so we couldn't watch TV without turning it up really loud. Breakfast was good although the dining area was packed cause it was too small. Other than that, everything was good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your comments and use them to make our hotel service and accommodations even better. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel the price you paid matches the service you received. We hope that you brought your concerns regarding your room A/C to the attention of our staff during your stay so that we could address and correct any issues for you promptly.
We will share your concerns with our maintenance staff to ensure that these issues are handled properly. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay.
We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior stay the next time you are visiting our town.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Nice rooms, nice price. Walls are a bit thin but overall a great experience. Stayed there because it's close to SKA brewing. Great service. They were helpful at the front desk on giving 4th of July directions. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will share your compliments with our entire staff. It is always nice to receive such a kind review and the staff who work so hard to provide you with the great experience you had are appreciative of the praise.
We are happy to hear that you will stay with us again the next time you visit beautiful Durango Colorado.
We look forward to serving you.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAYDEN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here based on rate alone, for the area the rate was very good. Staff was helpful but lobby and entry very small for how busy hotel was. Room was nice but it seemed to us that it is past time to replace the mattresses. Rest of room was good, clean, and was well stocked. Breakfast was above the basic hotel stuff but was very busy. Hotel is close to main downtown district and train station for the narrow gauge. Also this seems to be a new trend for hotels is that they run a hold of funds on your card when you arrive which is fine but then many times when you check out they charge your card to pay for stay and you have double the charge on your card. One drops off after a few days but this trip it took 14 days for the card we used to readjust from this happening at this hotel. Not sure of would stay here again but all the hotels in area seemed very much the the same when booking, nothing really stood out. I put 4 stars but this was more of a 3 plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent review and want you to know we appreciate your valuable feedback. We are glad to hear you were pleased with our rate, location and clean, well stocked rooms. Our friendly and helpful staff appreciate the thoughtful commendation as they do work very hard to provide our guests with a pleasing and memorable stay. I do apologize if you were inconvenienced by the hold time of funds on your credit card, You are correct, that most hotels now are required to place a hold for funds on your charge card at check-in as this is a guarantee of payment for all charges and incidentals incurred during your stay. The "drop-off" time for the funds being held varies and is determined by each individuals issuing bank. It typically is 7-10 business days, however it could be longer depending on special circumstances (holidays, etc.) I am very sorry if you were inconvenienced in any way by this.
Again, we appreciate your opinions and value them as they help us to ensure an exceptional stay for all our guests. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel needs to train or retrain their Housekeeping staff. Nobody ever smiled or said hello. We stayed 3 nights. First day out, room was never cleaned and we were gone 9AM- 4:30PM. Housekeeping girl was just outside our room, we assumed she was finished, even though so late in the day. I said we were there to rest and shower and we would leave at 6:15 PM for the evening. She got so mad with the angriest look on her face. She mumbled something nasty. We couldn't believe her attitude. We were almost afraid to leave feeling she may take revenge on us by stealing. Room did get cleaned while we were gone. Next day, same exact issue with another gal. We left ALL day returned 4:30, housekeeping was near our room and said she would clean it. I told her we would be leaving for dinner at 6:30 . She gave us a dirty look...and our room was not ever cleaned that night !!! I called that night after dinner for the manager. He wasn't in and front desk said he'd call me in the AM BEFORE WE CHECKED OUT. NO CALL EVER CAME. We were just glad to leave that hotel. Terrible, Terrible hospitality. We'd rather check into a local motel than any other Comfort Inn in our life.!!!!! Everyone needs training from Manager to front desk to housekeeping. Terrible stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our entire staff for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay. I want you to know that we take our guest feedback very serious and will use your comments to better train our staff and increase our customer service.
I am so sorry you encountered anything other than a helpful and friendly staff. Our staff is trained to respond to our guests cordially and quickly. The attitude you described is unacceptable and I assure you will be addressed and corrected.
While we do not promise housekeeping service at a designated time each day (it depends on how many rooms need to be cleaned), we do service each room requested each day, so I apologize that you did not receive the service we normally provide in the manner we expect of our staff.
Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I will be sharing your comments with our Manager to ensure this kind of thing does not happen again. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future so that we can show you the great service and accommodations we normally provide.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband was going through Durango late at night, and decided it was time to stop. I called all over for him, and this was the place with the Tripadvisor room that was the least expensive, and the most helpful and still a very good rating. They reserved a cash room for him, the second to the last, and made sure he got the proper discounts. He just needed to be there within a half hour. I called back to make sure the directions were good, and they were so friendly. He got their in time and enjoyed a wonderful night sleep. He said the room was clean and cozy. The only downside was that the breakfast was PACKED the next day. He wanted to get on the road, so skipped breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and kind praise of our hotel.
We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your brief visit and were happy with our clean, cozy rooms, and helpful and friendly staff. It is always our top priority to provide our guests with the best service possible and rewarding to hear that we succeeded.
We hope you will visit us again very soon!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean & comfortably but nothing fancy. The breakfast was standard hotel breakfast fare, but the staff was very good at keeping things stocked and ready for the diners. A good place to stay when traveling through beautiful Durango.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and kind words of praise for our helpful and friendly staff. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful town. We hope you will visit Durango again soon and allow us to provide you with another great stay!
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.