We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay, great value, would stay again in a heartbeat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Durango
Glendale, AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice stay, great value, would stay again in a heartbeat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Fort Lewis College, and I would absolutely stay here again. The rooms were good sized, breakfast very good compared to most "free hot breakfast" places, pillows were terrific (they have both soft and firm), and the room had a surprising amount of storage and electrical outlets (great for charging all of our electronics & phones). They even had hot soup at night when we arrived! The ONLY issue I had, which was tiny and not even a problem, was that housekeeping did not replace the conditioner with the shampoo--instead they gave us two lotions. This is laughable to me, knowing how picky I am, that this was the only thing I could find that didn't work like clockwork. All the staff were terrific, and even the breakfast area was a good size, didn't get too crowded. Highly recommended if you don't need to stay right in town and want an excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel. We are so pleased that everything from our clean, spacious rooms to the complimentary hot breakfast met your needs. I do apologize for the mix up when housekeeping replenished your amenities. The bottles for conditioner and lotion are very similar and I am sure it was quite accidental. I am glad it did not inconvenience you too much and happy to hear that you highly recommend us and feel we offer a great value for your money!
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to beautiful Durango Colorado!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    157
    71
    16
    9
See reviews for
141
150
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We drew up just as a number of coaches disgorged dozens of American teenagers on a school (or college) trip. No problems though. A little over excitement in the corridor but not really late. Breakfast was crowded but behaviour was fine. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast also decent. A good stopover and well worth the money. A short drive into town for food, though

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We do host many school groups throughout the year for various sporting and club events, however we have wonderful, well behaved students we work with and have very few problems. I am very glad to hear that you experienced courteous behavior and were able to enjoy your stay.
I am glad you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable and enjoyed our hot complimentary breakfast. Each member of our staff takes pride in their work and it is always rewarding to hear that they succeeded in making your trip successful. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Durango and allow us to provide you with the same terrific service.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel the weekend of February 14th through the 17th while in town to ride the Durango & Silverton RR. The rooms were very clean and maintained. The only fly in the ointment was the orange juice in the dining room during breakfast. It tasted very watered down and was orange in name only. I had to pour my glass out and replace it with milk. I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk when checking out and she promised she would look into it ASAP. The hotel is located on a service road alongside the main drag into town and was easily accessible. I highly recommend this location if you're looking for a place to stay in Durango.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our clean, well maintained property and hot complimentary breakfast. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with our orange juice and appreciate you alerting our staff so that it could be rectified immediately.
We strive to provide the best service possible at all times, and your valuable feedback allows us to address any areas that need improvement. We are very glad to hear you will recommend us to others and look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

More like a Courtyard by Marriott, this CI was great. Nice comfy and clean rooms, great rates. Front desk personnel are friendly and helpful Free breakfast was hot, not continental. Eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, fruit, make your own waffles, etc. Pleasant stay at a GREAT rate. Convenient to the railroad and downtown too, about a mile away from all the touristy things.

Room Tip: Choose room facing east - scenic hillsides across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our entire team, I want to thank you for your wonderful review. It is with great satisfaction we learn that our friendly, helpful staff and clean, comfy rooms contributed to your GREAT stay!
We are pleased you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and all the many choices we offer. Our great rates and convenient location allows all our guests to enjoy everything Durango has to offer.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future and look forward to serving you.
Thank you,
Durango Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The rooms are small but clean and the beds are comfortable. The pillows are awesome! If you're not expecting the doubletree then you won't be disappointed the inn is a good value and you will get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review.
It is very rewarding to hear that you had a comfortable and restful stay with us.
Our clean rooms and friendly staff make the Durango Comfort Inn the best value in town!
We hope you will stay with us again very soon. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service on every visit!
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I go through Durango I stay at this Comfort Inn. The hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, and it is a great value for the price. The rooms are bright and pleasant. The pool and new sauna are excellent and the breakfast is fine.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your satisfaction with our hotel.
We are so pleased that you stay with us each time you travel to our beautiful town.
We will continue to strive to make each and every visit as great as the last.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had such an awesome stay. The staff was great, they totally accomodated my room because I was on crutches. My room was on the first floor, and next to service desk in case I needed anything. They even called my room to make sure that everything was fine.

Thank you,
Wendy Hollenback

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased to hear that our staff was accommodating and helpful to your needs. It is with great pleasure that we serve all our guests to the best of our ability and we thank you for taking the time to let us know we did a good job.
We look forward to your next stay, hopefully under better circumstances.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.